Lost in Space Reviews

Page 2 of 5
Forrest Green III
Orlando Weekly
September 17, 2014
Where are June Lockhart and Billy Mumy when we need them?

Total Film
September 17, 2014
It may be a toy advert first and a film second, but it's still a fairly entertaining and fun night out.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5

Film4
September 17, 2014
You have to wonder how much longer Oldman can get away with his OTT villain act.
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
August 11, 2014
Takes the whimsy and surrealism of the show and transforms it in to this muddy, grimy, and droning space opera that completely over thinks the premise.
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
January 19, 2014
I was never a big fan of the original TV show, so this movie didn't slay any sacred cows for me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
September 7, 2011
Is any of this, you know, fun? Just barely. But I'm sure I would have loved it at 6.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Paul Trandahl
Common Sense Media
January 2, 2011
Strictly for fans of the TV show or sci-fi buffs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
September 6, 2010
...the motion picture tries hard to recapture that former tone, and, yes, even retains the same lines.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
Dennis Harvey
Variety
March 27, 2009
It was smart, in theory, to cast some very good actors not usually seen in this sort of fare. Ultimately, though, their casting can't do much to salvage script's dim human dimensions.
Jon Popick
rec.arts.movies.reviews
January 7, 2009
Big kudos to production designer Norman Garwood for making one of the coolest spaceships ever.
Rob Gonsalves
eFilmCritic.com
August 13, 2007
The casting splits you down the middle -- you don't know whether to be grateful that you at least have good actors to watch, or to regret that they're given nothing to do.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
May 26, 2006
Usually Hollywood can't make movies that are as good as the best TV, so why not adapt bad TV shows into good movies? That's what they've done here with the new Lost in Space movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Wally Hammond
Time Out
February 9, 2006
Most effort has gone into the impressive Star Wars-style opening dogfight and the edge-of-your-seat closing sequences, leaving a drawn out mid-section on the ship, with only a standard mutant insect invasion to pass the time.
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
April 9, 2005
Lost In Space is mildy amusing entertainment that fails to catch the camp of the series, using F/X in place of plot.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Judith Egerton
Courier-Journal (Louisville, KY)
June 25, 2004
It's a special-effects bonanza with space battles, spider aliens and virtual reality sequences, but this remake of the popular 1960s TV series seriously lacks humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
John R. McEwen
Film Quips Online
February 8, 2003
The acting is generally average, but Stephen Hopkins's directing is virtually non-present.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Tom Meek
Film Threat
December 8, 2002
About the only thing that is lucid, in the malestrom of wham-bam effects, is the set-up for a sequel.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Margaret A. McGurk
Cincinnati Enquirer
October 15, 2002
Don't ask me how Lost in Space compares to the old television show; I never watched one episode. But ask me how it stacks up against the ever-growing library of effects-laden sci-fi fantasies, and I can tell you: Not too bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Wade Major
Boxoffice Magazine
June 5, 2002
The dumbest and least imaginative adaptation of a television series yet translated to the screen, Lost in Space is less a movie than a veritable cornucopia of merchandising paraphernalia.
Chris Fujiwara
Boston Phoenix
March 24, 2002
About the only thing that's presented with any purposeful consequence is the pandering set-up for a sequel.
Page 2 of 5