The Love Guru Reviews

Page 1 of 9
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
November 6, 2008
...might just be the most puerile mainstream movie ever made...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
October 18, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Prairie Miller
NewsBlaze
September 12, 2008
Like a kid let loose in a toy store, this bad boy horny guru could have used more direction, but he does impress with his driving skills atop a pachyderm, during elephant sex.
Peter Bradshaw
Guardian
August 1, 2008
Myers' shtick isn't for everyone, but I laughed. Looking around, however, I saw that my fellow critics were enjoying themselves as much as Gordon Brown on the beach at Southwold.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Stina Chyn
Film Threat
June 24, 2008
It will curb your craving for laughs and won't leave you consuming more than is necessary.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Fred Topel
Can Magazine
June 21, 2008
They are not putting any of the funny stuff from The Love Guru in the trailer. This is a rapid assault of comedy.
Larry Ratliff
San Antonio Express-News
June 20, 2008
The Love Guru pegs the silly meter in the opening scene when Myers, as Guru Pitka, breaks out in a Bollywood-style 9 to 5 hoedown while picking at a sitar.
| Original Score: 3/4
Adam Fendelman
HollywoodChicago.com
June 20, 2008
While for some The Love Guru may feel as though its gags were forced and unworthy as a script of pure hilarity, those same opponents will find themselves either secretly snickering or outright chortling in a seat-bouncing fashion.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
June 20, 2008
Myers' Pitka is the stealthiest of holy rollers: he makes you roar just when you think he's going to hell in a hand basket.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
June 20, 2008
The movie just barely works because it's so sure of the buoyant appeal of its title character.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
June 20, 2008
It's vintage Myers, with an outrageous, broadly played character borrowed from Peter Sellers, silly makeup, bad puns, innuendo, the occasional pause for song and dance and Myers' ongoing obsession with little people.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jim Slotek
Jam! Movies
June 20, 2008
When the comedy is short of sublime, it is more often sophomorically silly (and I'll confess right here to a weakness for horrible puns, though your mileage may vary).
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
June 20, 2008
You might look at this movie and see a lot of talent in service to low humor. But chances are, you'll be laughing too hard to notice.
Full Review | Original Score: 85/100
Top Critic
Chris Vognar
Dallas Morning News
June 20, 2008
Juvenile. Strained. This baggy tale of a loopy Deepak Chopra wannabe is all that and then some. The thing is it's also pretty funny as long as you know what you're in for.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Peter Rainer
Christian Science Monitor
June 20, 2008
What links all these characters is Myers's gift for antic, elfin burlesque. He's like a second-best Peter Sellers.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Brandon Fibbs
Colorado Springs Gazette
June 20, 2008
Against my better judgment, against my hardened presumptions going in, against all that is right and holy and decent in the universe, I have to admit that I%u2026ahem%u2026actually liked The Love Guru.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Scott A. Mantz
Scott Mantz' Movie Reviews
June 20, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Cole Haddon
Film.com
June 20, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
June 19, 2008
Believe me, I'm as surprised as you are that I wound up sort of enjoying it.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Kevin McCarthy
BDK Reviews
June 19, 2008
I might have lost my entire college education watching this and it might be the dumbest film I have ever seen but I can't hide the fact that I was laughing hysterically.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Brent Simon
Shared Darkness
May 15, 2012

Irish Times
October 18, 2008
Page 1 of 9