The Love Guru Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Mike Edwards
What Culture
April 8, 2011
Do you remember Mike Myers? Well I suggest that you hold on to that memory and lock it tight inside you, because The Love Guru wants to destroy it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net
March 29, 2011
It's a rare film that makes a reviewer consider giving up the movies altogether. My own Waterloo came forty-five minutes into The Love Guru when I briefly considered stabbing out my own eyes so that I wouldn't have to watch it any more.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix
October 21, 2014
Sub-Norbit.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
June 20, 2008
The movie not only violates the Law of Funny Names (which are usually not funny), but rips it from the Little Movie Glossary and tramples it into the ice.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
June 20, 2008
The frustrating thing about the movie is that it contains moment of comedy that verge on inspired, but they are too infrequent to justify the running length.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
June 20, 2008
When Pitka ends his bite-size lessons with 'TM,' we should understand it's not meditation but branding he's after.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Pete Hammond
Hollywood.com
October 1, 2008
It appears Myers did not have someone behind the camera reigning him in. Too bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
June 19, 2008
Mike Myers likes ice hockey. He also likes Deepak Chopra, a little bit too much. So he pulled together a bit of hockey and a whole lot of Chopra and called it a plot.
Nell Minow
Beliefnet
June 19, 2008
Non-stop naughty-body-part references with a level of humor more appropriate on a 4th grade bathroom wall than a Hollywood screenplay.
Full Review | Original Score: F
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: F
June 17, 2008
...a failed stew made up of mugging, penis jokes, horrible puns, and feel-good mantras.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
June 19, 2008
We're talking 15 or 20 minutes of decent material. The movie runs a little longer than that.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
June 20, 2008
The road taken by The Love Guru could hardly be lower, and leads nowhere.
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs
October 18, 2008
I guess the real audience is 40 year-old men with the mind of an 8 year-old.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
June 19, 2008
Took a lot of cheap shots at Indian culture. Myers went way too far and the sad thing was he wasn't even funny about it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Donald Munro
Fresno Bee
June 20, 2008
Myers -- who used to be funny -- sticks his head in a toilet and then tries to give the audience a big, sloppy kiss.
Full Review | Original Score: F
Sonny Bunch
Washington Times
August 30, 2009
The Love Guru contains a few clever touches but has trouble hanging together as a coherent comedy, let alone a coherent film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 26, 2009
Authentically repellent
James Rocchi
Cinematical
June 19, 2008
If Mike Myers is obsessed with poop, pee and penises, that's his problem; if audiences make him rich for playing that out on-screen, then it becomes ours.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
James Rocchi
Common Sense Media
December 19, 2010
Naughty Mike Myers comedy has little to love.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Brent Simon
Shared Darkness
May 15, 2012

Irish Times
October 18, 2008
Page 1 of 9