Lucky You - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lucky You Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Heather Boerner
Common Sense Media
December 18, 2010
Don't bet on Barrymore's lackluster poker rom-com.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Nick Rogers
Suite101.com
September 19, 2010
Curtis Hanson's film concerns itself with wage-makers' addictive pathological itch, desperate hustles and poker's cult of very strange personalities. Its most striking "Tin Cup" kinship: Vindication and victory don't always arrive together.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Tony Macklin
Fayetteville Free Weekly
February 2, 2009
I don't think I believed the movie Lucky You, but I sort of enjoyed it. A caveat: I enjoy watching poker on ESPN. If you don't, this movie will bore you.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
April 10, 2008
Hanson and Roth shuffle the two sides of the movie, the poker tournament and the love affair, with a Howard Hawksian feel for casual professionalism.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
March 3, 2008
Since Lucky You overdid the poker cliches to death, let me end with one of my favorites: 'You got to know when to hold'em, know when to fold'em.' It seems this film never learned that lesson.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
January 4, 2008
Better to fold 'em than to spend time watching Eric Bana and Drew Barrymore go literally nowhere.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
September 28, 2007
Personally, I think this is one of those misunderstood films that never got a fair shake. DVD often corrects such oversights, and my hope is that Lucky You will finally find the appreciative audience it deserves.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Adam Fendelman
HollywoodChicago.com
September 21, 2007
Lucky You undoes what Rounders did right.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
September 16, 2007
...a well-intentioned romantic-gambling film that misses the mark by providing little we haven't seen before and better.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
September 14, 2007
As soon as it has to face the real world, and deal with "emotions," it goes completely slack.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Michael Sragow
Baltimore Sun
July 10, 2007
...everything about the movie is a little out-of-it, and not just because it's been lying on the studio shelf for a couple of years.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Ethan Alter
NYC Film Critic
June 30, 2007
It's a shame that Barrymore's scenes are such a washout because the rest of the film is perfectly fine.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Pete Vonder Haar
Film Threat
June 30, 2007
The end result is a movie that would have been better off eschewing its comedic aspirations in order to tell a serious story, which Hanson and Duvall have more than proven they're capable of.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Jonathan W. Hickman
Entertainment Insiders
June 30, 2007
It is amazing how safe Hanson and company play it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Steven Snyder
Zertinet Movies
June 30, 2007
Gambling and love rarely mix.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
June 30, 2007
Can't decide whether it's a cautionary tale about gambling, a weepy father-son drama or a breezy rom-com.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Stax
IGN Movies
June 22, 2007
Lucky You is a decent and often engaging character study that deserved more respect from critics and the studio than it received.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matthew Turner
ViewLondon
June 22, 2007
Below average, overlong drama that fails to deliver an emotional punch, largely because it's unsure of whether it wants to be a father-son drama or a romcom.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Mark Adams
Sunday Mirror (UK)
June 22, 2007
Gambling drama never seems to draw the right cards. Best to fold...
Derek Malcolm
This is London
June 22, 2007
But Lucky You would be distinctly better if it were shorter in length and clearer about the rules of the game. Its idea that gamblers carry on much the same in life as they do at the tables is hardly original enough to sustain the whole film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 8