Making Contact - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Making Contact Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Super Reviewer
March 28, 2011
The doll was really creepy and devlish. All around the Movie was not bad, watchable. I think the Movie is not for kids under let say 12.
September 6, 2014
A possessed ventriloquist dummy torments a child who recently lost his father to death. At first the kid thinks his father is possessing the dummy, but soon he realizes its a demon. He has some super powers which are triggered by the onset of puberty so he battles some monsters and bullies. The kid was way too spoiled and had too many cool toys! Pretty uneven; a too-complicated story, mostly poor special effects and unsympathetic characters make for this to be unmemorable.
February 26, 2013
After not seeing for a good 20 years (geez I'm getting old), I found this at a thrift store and bought it. Then I remembered that i didn't really care for it as a kid. So how much did I remember? I recall being affected by a kid who's father died and his has powers to make his toys come to life and talks to his dead father on a phone. Where things get cooler and potentially more creepy is when a dummy is found and seems to be the antithesis of Joey's powers. Making Contact or Joey, whatever you want to call it could have been a lot better. It is pretty much 80's cheese but I appreciate how the kid's room looks. He even has a total R2D2 ripoff robot. That robot has to be made for this movie because I do not recall them ever being on the market and they would have been in every kid's possession if there was something that you could buy that walked/slide around like this thing did. While watching this I got whiffs of a heavy Spielberg influence and was going to comment on that but see that others did too. Directed by the stroke who did Independence Day and a bunch of other huge budgeted crap. The dummy isn't nearly as effective as it should have been but not every movie pulls off anything effectively
½ December 28, 2012
A cheesy old 80's film I remembered from my childhood. Not very good, but the dummy was creepy at times.
October 2, 2007
All I remeber from this movie is that fucking doll that scared the shit out of me as a kid and till this day i still dont like that fucking doll I honestly dont remeber much about the movie except that the dolls bad and he trys to kill the kid or some shit
½ November 1, 2014
liked it as a child, now its terrible, I do not know what happened, possibly 30 years
September 7, 2013
I grew up with this movie. Thank you Roland :)
October 18, 2012
I dont remember the movie all too much but as a kid that evil doll scared the shit out of me. I remember it being a psuedo-dark movie with a lot of odd creepyness. The 80's produced some odd flicks..
½ August 26, 2012
I liked this movie as a kid and after re-watching it I still found it to be entertaining.
Page 1 of 2