Mamma Mia! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mamma Mia! Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Ali Gray
TheShiznit.co.uk
October 14, 2012
Like a big gay Terminator, Mamma Mia! will track down your cynicism and blast it into smithereens: it absolutely will not stop, ever, until you're having fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
July 24, 2012
It would be easy to underrate the deceptively effortless master acting class that Meryl Streep puts on here.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net
April 8, 2011
Yeah, it's all a little bit on the camp side. It's a musical based on the songs of ABBA. A little bit camp is probably the height of restraint.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
Dragan Antulov
Index.hr
July 15, 2009
Mnoge od scena su nadrealno %u0161a%u0161ave
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
February 10, 2009
...certain sequences are inherently far more affecting and engaging than others.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Rory L. Aronsky
Film Threat
January 6, 2009
More fluff like "Mamma Mia!" than "Made of Honor" would make mid-year moviegoing a happier experience.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Stephen Himes
Film Snobs
November 20, 2008
As for Meryl Streep, you sense that she's thinking what you're thinking: That she can't actually be in this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
James Verniere
Boston Herald
October 18, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
October 18, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: B

National Post
October 18, 2008
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Jean Lowerison
San Diego Metropolitan
October 18, 2008
Brosnan, Firth and Skarsgard have a great time playing the bimbos who may be Sophie's dad.
Pete Hammond
Hollywood.com
October 1, 2008
An absolutely hilarious, rousing and joyous celebration that ought to have you dancing in the aisles.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
August 27, 2008
This is entertainment, not a movie. And as entertainment goes, Mamma Mia! belts it out of the park.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Beth Accomando
KPBS.org
August 13, 2008
Mamma Mia! has an exclamation in its title for a reason: it just wants to shout out its sense of fun. The film is buoyantly unpretentious and proclaims at the top of its voice, "Take me as I am."
Jolene Mendez
Entertainment Spectrum
August 13, 2008
The film was so exciting and entertaining that I felt swept away. As if I was a wedding attendee, cheering on Sophie to discover herself and for her mother to find happiness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Michael A. Smith
Nolan's Pop Culture Review
August 8, 2008
The music is as great now as it was 30 years ago, a true testament to ABBA's continued popularity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
July 30, 2008
I tapped my foot, I smiled, and I found myself undeniably amused. If that's the kind of experience you're looking for, and if you dig ABBA, this crazy, sloppy, mixed-up movie might just be for you.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
July 25, 2008
...can't help being fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
John Wirt
Advocate (Baton Rouge, LA)
July 25, 2008
The big-screen Mamma Mia! rises above its flaws through an A-list leading lady and, like its stage-musical predecessor, skillful exploitation of the both fun and pathos in Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus' undeniable music.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4

Digital Spy
July 14, 2011
Betsy Sherman
Boston Phoenix
April 23, 2009
Page 1 of 9