Manhattan Reviews

Page 2 of 3
David Parkinson
Empire Magazine
November 30, 2006
One of Woody's most aesthetically gorgeous films as well as his classic love-hate letter to the city of his soul.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
Dave Calhoun
Time Out
June 24, 2006
Woody Allen's gem of comic kvetching.
Carol Cling
Las Vegas Review-Journal
November 11, 2005
Classic Woody Allen: brilliant and bittersweet.
| Original Score: 5/5
John Wirt
Advocate (Baton Rouge, LA)
July 29, 2005
The best of Woody Allen.
| Original Score: 4/5
Tony Medley
Tolucan Times
September 18, 2004
A black and white movie of black and white quality
| Original Score: 2/5
Greg Muskewitz
eFilmCritic.com
February 21, 2004
This is Allen's most mellifluous, fervent dialogue with each line pierced and tinged with biting hilarity.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
February 18, 2004
The genius of Allen's approach is to present the real Manhattan in such a way that you realize the Hollywood Manhattan is actually there.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Frederic and Mary Ann Brussat
Spirituality and Practice
January 27, 2004
Manhattan depicts urban trippers whose appetite for variety propels them from one person or job or dream to another.
Rob Thomas
Capital Times (Madison, WI)
December 4, 2003
One of Allen's three or four best films, it's a tender, wistful romantic comedy that uses NYC to breathtaking effect.
| Original Score: 5/5

TV Guide's Movie Guide
July 30, 2003
Allen had forsworn the glib one-liner and spent more time developing well-rounded characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Top Critic
Vincent Canby
New York Times
May 20, 2003
Mr. Allen's progress as one of our major filmmakers is proceeding so rapidly that we who watch him have to pause occasionally to catch our breath.
Kevin N. Laforest
Montreal Film Journal
September 10, 2002
It might be the most charming portrait of New York ever immortalized on film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
David Poland
Hot Button
August 14, 2002
Amongst Allen's Very Best
| Original Score: 5/5
Larry Carroll
Countingdown.com
August 8, 2002
One of Woody's best, this is a good place to start if you're unfamiliar with his body of work. It's funny, it's dramatic, and it's certainly the best looking film he's ever made. The opening sequence is tremendous.
| Original Score: 4/5
Jeremy Heilman
MovieMartyr.com
August 7, 2002
My favorite movie of all time!
| Original Score: 5/5
Ben Stephens
culturevulture.net
May 2, 2002
The layers of self-awareness and self-referentiality at the heart of this film are dizzying.
Michael W. Phillips, Jr.
Goatdog's Movies
March 17, 2002
Woody Allen's best movie? It has my vote.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
March 14, 2002
If Manhattan was only a romantic comedy, it would be a very good one, but the fact that the movie has so much more ambition than the 'average' entry into the genre makes it an extraordinary example of the fusion of entertainment and art.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Matt Ford
BBC.com
April 17, 2001
The film perfectly captured the insecurity of late 1970s America.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
April 11, 2001
Seeing it again I realize it's more subtle, more complex, and not about love, but loss.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 2 of 3