Tulitikkutehtaan tyttö (The Match Factory Girl) Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Super Reviewer
December 8, 2009
Absolutely heartbreaking, The Match Factory Girl is an absolute masterpiece and a fine final instalment in Aki Kaurismäki's outstanding 'Underdog' trilogy. Kati Outinen's performance is wonderful, my only criticism is that it was far too short!
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
May 12, 2010
In "The Match Factory Girl," Iris(Kari Outinen) works all day in a factory and comes home at night to tend to her parents(Elina Salo & Esko Nikkari) in a cramped apartment. So, she figures she deserves a little fun in return but nobody takes notice of her at a dance. Her parents react in shock when she has the nerve to buy a new dress with her own money and demand she return it. She does not. In fact, Iris wears it to a bar where she winds up meeting the wealthy Aarne(Vesa Vierikko) and they spend the night together.

"The Match Factory Girl" is proof that Aki Kaurismaki does not make the same movie over and over again, as this is more dead serious than deadpan. There is very little humor and minimal dialogue which makes it perfect for watching on a bus. Even the television news is pessimistic, full of death and destruction(pretty much everything except for the Bay Area Earthquake) with a little resistance thrown in. Even Iris' job at a factory that makes matchsticks which are primarily used in smoking cigarettes has ominous overtones. Iris is too good of a person for such a cruel world, serving others and expecting the best from the world in return, and eventually suffers for it, before the movie takes a huge risk in removing any sympathy from her.
jimbotender
Super Reviewer
August 27, 2008
Kaurismaki's perfection of the 90's.Outinen is a goddess,convincing me that acting is silence,a soundproof collision merged into shattering pieces.Those pieces glued in the trembling-vengeful heart of Iris.Aye,and hard laboring.
May 17, 2013
???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
October 23, 2014
The ultimate testament to the adage "actions speak louder than words", even if the actions evoke feelings most would rather not feel.
November 24, 2014
The actors deserve tremendous credit for pulling off a feature film where dialogue was on the verge of extinction!
½ February 13, 2014
Aki Kaurismaki's film is as quiet as it is disquieting. Told through minimal dialogue, the film relies on Kati Outinen very descriptive performance to enlighten viewers about the title-character's plight, along with cinematic cues that are most effective in how simple they are (rarely do you find fade-outs as ominous as the one in this movie). A powerful film about misogyny and negligence.
November 2, 2013
This is the second Ari Kaurismäki film I've seen, the first being the delightful Le Havre. I don't think it's possible to make two movies that are more different! The Match Factory Girl is a dreary little film (at only 68 minutes, it is barely a feature). But inside Iiris's painful story, there are also unexpected bits of color and even some sly humor. Certainly by the end of the film, we not only no longer feel sorry for Iiris, we may even find ourselves cheering for her.

When I first watched it, I had a hard time defining my feelings about it, but I know I re-watched the last couple of minutes several times, at least in part because I was sorry to see it end.
September 16, 2013
A deeply disturbing and well crafted portrait of a deeply disturbed and unfortunate girl. Powerful storytelling, but the performances are mediocre. With stronger acting, or perhaps better direction, this could have been a great deal more.
June 17, 2012
A rare occasion when Finnish Director Aki Kaurismäki shows a rather darker side of his film making ... This film slams the male dominated society ... Kati Outinen , yet again conveys more through her silence rather than words and towards the climax thru her actions ....
May 10, 2012
Marvellous and very believable drama, a young woman carries out some much-deserved revenge on her parents and terrible man-friend. If there's anything to learn from this, it is to never get on the wrong side of any woman, ever.
½ May 18, 2010
In meinem gesamten Filmleben ist mir bis dato noch kein schönes, fröhliches finnisches Filmchen untergekommen, zumindest kann ich mich spontan an keines erinnern. Die Filme aus dem Norden Europas sind zumeist wahrlich kein leichtes Kino für zwischendurch. Das Mädchen aus der Streichholzfabrik ist ein eindrucksvoller Film von Aki Kaurismäki, das vor allem von seiner tollen Hauptdarstellerin, der guten Atmosphäre und den coolen Songs getragen wird. Außerdem hat mir gefallen, dass der Film mit knapp über 60 Minuten eine sehr kurze Laufzeit hat. Kaurismäki zeigt damit, dass man ohne weiteres eine gute Geschichte in einer Stunde erzählen kann ohne dabei unendlich viel rumzudröhnen. Ich kann diesen Film ohne weiteres empfehlen, sehr sehenswert!
3,5/5
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
May 12, 2010
In "The Match Factory Girl," Iris(Kari Outinen) works all day in a factory and comes home at night to tend to her parents(Elina Salo & Esko Nikkari) in a cramped apartment. So, she figures she deserves a little fun in return but nobody takes notice of her at a dance. Her parents react in shock when she has the nerve to buy a new dress with her own money and demand she return it. She does not. In fact, Iris wears it to a bar where she winds up meeting the wealthy Aarne(Vesa Vierikko) and they spend the night together.

"The Match Factory Girl" is proof that Aki Kaurismaki does not make the same movie over and over again, as this is more dead serious than deadpan. There is very little humor and minimal dialogue which makes it perfect for watching on a bus. Even the television news is pessimistic, full of death and destruction(pretty much everything except for the Bay Area Earthquake) with a little resistance thrown in. Even Iris' job at a factory that makes matchsticks which are primarily used in smoking cigarettes has ominous overtones. Iris is too good of a person for such a cruel world, serving others and expecting the best from the world in return, and eventually suffers for it, before the movie takes a huge risk in removing any sympathy from her.
Page 1 of 5