Maximum Risk - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Maximum Risk Reviews

Page 1 of 12
Super Reviewer
½ September 14, 2009
A cop (Van Damme) just found out about something new. He's had a twin brother all these years and didn't know it, but the bad part is that he just found out by finding his twin's dead body. Little does this cop know that his twin brother was a Russian agent. Since he looks just like the person that just died, everybody around town thinks he's someone he's not. When it comes to the mafia and FBI agents, this just might spell trouble.
Like he did in "Double Impact", Jean-Claude Van Damme once again plays the role of twins, although not as much this time around. "Maximum Risk" might be a bit shallow on plot depth, but who cares? Van Damme movies are known for their great stunts, action, and especially the fighting sequences, and let me tell you, there is A LOT of each in this movie.

The stunts, special effects, etc. come together as one to make "Maximum Risk" a fast paced, suspense filled adventure that all Van Damme fans should watch.

It might not be one of his top five movies, but if you're a fan of other Van Damme movies, then checking out "Maximum Risk" isn't that big of a risk to take. NOTE: That was my Amazon review from the year 2002.
Super Reviewer
July 25, 2008
Typical Van Damme plot line envolving murder and revenge but in the hands of Lam its is just about ok. There are some really nice action sequences here that really look good and slick involving cars and leaping about in front of trains hehe the stunts make the film really as the cast are kinda lame in their acting.
Better than the usual stuff Van Damme produces these days and probably one of his last good films.
Super Reviewer
July 10, 2009
Alain Moreau is a cop in France who cannot believe his eyes when a murder victim is the spitting image of him. He confronts his mother and learns that she had had twins but had to give one of them up. Wanting to solve the murder of his estranged twin, Alain follows a trail that leads him to a New York that is cold and full of snow and finds himself sucked into his brother's world where he finds himself with his brother's beautiful girlfriend all over him. However Alain also inherits his brother's problems some of which include Russian gangsters who want to kill him.

This film wastes no time in getting the plot established and flying Alain into his first fight as quickly as possible and I can understand why this was the case. The plot is thin to say the least and it is best not to apply too much logic to any of it because the whole thing is an excuse for Van Damme to just do the things in this film that he does in all his films. This includes speaking in a strange accent, being naked with a beautiful female co-star and kicking people in lots of exciting ways. All these boxes are ticked here and as such it does what you would expect from a Van Damme film and it will depend on the individual viewer whether or not that gets you interested or sees you running the opposite direction. For me it is somewhere in the middle because I accept the bad and in return veg out in front of a dumb action movie. The plot gets no better and every time it needs to add story to create more action you can almost see it straining with the effort.

The action is mostly pretty good although it was a bit disappointing to see how Ringo Lam had toned down the style for his first American film; only here and there did the film get close to the mayhem in the action that he is known for. Van Damme is quite good though, for course he is a clunky actor and here he seems to have had his charisma filtered out but in the action sequences he is a marvel ? very athletic and impressive and his physical presence helps a lot. Henstridge takes care of the "co-star who will get her tits out" requirement of the film but other than that she could have been anyone. The Wire's Ben Victor is so-so and yet I found it ironic that he had his last big scene in a cooler full of dead pigs because he had spent so much of the rest of the film surrounded by big hams too ? Grenier in particular comes to mind.

Overall then this is a solid Van Damme film with all the plusses and minuses that one would expect. The plot is poor and the acting leaves a lot to desire but the action is fun even if I was hoping for more from Lam.
Super Reviewer
½ November 12, 2006
Great action-packed sexy thrill ride!
Super Reviewer
January 18, 2012
Just a weeee bit on the stupid side. I prefer if when Van Damme pokes fun at himself.
Super Reviewer
June 6, 2008
This Jean-Claude Van Damme action vehicle gets good marks for sound, low profanity, some very good action scenes and some interesting characters, but this is also another of these action films that has too much action. It would be better with some more lulls. It almost gets ridiculous in spots.
Super Reviewer
½ May 14, 2010
This is one of Van Damme's best movies, I loved the plot and the acting (especially the fight scenes) were great. A police inspector takes his murdered twin brother's place and inherits his problems and his beautiful girlfriend. He is forced to interact with the FBI and the Russian mafia while he attends a kickboxing tournament, he does this in order to solve the crime that happened to his brother. Van Damme was awesome in this movie and I remember renting this movie many times. You won't regret watching this movie, for sure.
Super Reviewer
½ July 13, 2010
Lam and Van Damme together again in this passable time waster.  I actually quite liked their other films, especially In Hell, which I think is a STV masterpiece, and MR measures somewhere around Wake of Death.
September 30, 2013
It's a visceral delight that refuses to be deterred by niceties of plot or character consistency and prefers sweat to emotion.
February 9, 2013
Maximum Risk of course does not offer too much of an original story or premise, but thats not usually why you go to see Van Damme movies. The movie does offer some solid action, and a sexy girl in Natasha Henstridge. The movie is interesting enough, but you will find better action films and better Van Damme films.
September 11, 2011
Van Damme playing twins again, which seems to be a recurring theme for him for whatever reason. With a brother he never knew that he had killed, a French cop is forced to dig deeper into his life, in a trail that leads him to the super hot Natasha Henstridge, his dead brother's girlfriend. This is a very pleasant turn of events, I can assure you.

It's a watchable action flick, Henstridge is gorgeous, Van Damme is in top form here, give it a rental.
February 9, 2011
This is an above average Van Damme film with a decent budget. Natasha stole the show with steamy sex scene, but the action sequenses were very well choriographed. Van Damme's nemesis (a huge Russian douche) was hot on his trail all throughout. Entertaining
September 24, 2006
this id say is the best of all van damme movies.. natasha wteve .. was sexy and totally sexy and awesome .. this movie.. jus awesome.. love this not cos of van damme.. but natasha.. damn..shes hot.. :P
August 19, 2006
Director Ringo Lam would be a bigger name if all the credit for Hong Kong action cinema wasn't heaped on John Woo. In Maximum Risk he uses his talents to elevate this film to be much better than it would have been, and arguably better than John Woo's attempt at a Van Damme movie.
June 18, 2006
One of my favorite action flicks.Could it be because of Natasha Henstridge?Very possible...but I dig it alot.And her too.
½ June 8, 2006
Ah...back when Natasha Henstridge was going to be the next big actress, then she did a movie with Jean Claude. It's the best way to kill a career.
½ December 9, 2014
JCVC is killed in the opening scene of this film, but then his twin brother investigates his death and gets caught up with the Russian mob and with ex-KGB. For whatever reason Jean-Claude Van Damme was the go-to guy for Hong Kong action film directors for making their American directorial debuts. John Woo with "Hard Target," Tsui Hark with "Double Team" and Ringo Lam here with "Maximum Risk." Maybe JCVD was famous enough to be a major production for their debuts, but he wasn't so big that studios were risking wrecking an Arnold or Stallone flick. These three of JCVD's films are what I believe to be his best three films (excluding the very meta "JCVD") . I'm partial to saying Tsui Hark's film is my favorite, though it's admittedly a ridiculous story, with a ridiculous co-star (Dennis Rodman), with ridiculous product placements (saved from the Colleseum exploding by a Coke machine), but the action sequences are just phenomenal (and it has a hilariously beefed up Mickey Rourke). This film, directed by Ringo Lam, has easily the best action script Jean-Claude ever had and next to "Timecop," which is probably his most Hollywood of action film. There's a decent supporting cast, which includes Natasha Henstridge, who I've long felt should have gotten better parts, but never seemed to escape appearing in mostly genre films. Overall, this is essential viewing for JCVD fans and for non-JCVD fans it's simply a decent action flick with good action sequences and a better than average script.
½ March 3, 2014
Van Damme plays it straight, perhaps too straight, in this dull action flick. Devoid of any real thrills or any camp value. Just lots of bad Russian accents, a few broken wrists, and one homoerotic fight in a bath house.
January 15, 2014
I enjoy the Van Damme and Ringo Lam team ups... they have brought some of the better VD movies alongside his early wok and those of Tsui Hark. Maximum Risk is dark, smart and action packed with a great performance from JCVD and makes for grat viewing!
October 25, 2013
Normally Jean is in second rate B movies that are just awful however, this one is very watchable. Reasonable script and action that is believable makes this one a rare treat. Even the acting qualities as well as the fights give this story a realistic feel ensuring a smooth flow. Nibbles: Hot Chocolate, pain aux raisins.
Page 1 of 12