Me and You and Everyone We Know - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Me and You and Everyone We Know Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Luke Goodsell
Empire Magazine Australasia
November 7, 2012
July's suspiciously contrived awkwardness notwithstanding, the picture is at its best when it cleaves to her experimental video aesthetic; framing the mundane with the wonder of a child-like perspective.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Josh Larsen
LarsenOnFilm
August 18, 2011
Much of this is far too precious - it's mostly for adults who impulsively put socks on their ears, as a character does here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
April 15, 2009
This wobbly low fidelity romantic comedy is filled with distinctly unlikable characters and an unsubstantiated use of child sexuality that further clouds the film's morally rudderless course.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Anton Bitel
Eye for Film
August 2, 2007
breaks through its own whimsical stylisation to touch you in unexpected and mysterious ways.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Bruce Feld
Film Journal International
March 1, 2007
A clever screenwriter and inspired director, July takes us places no other filmmaker has ever visited.
Jeffrey Chen
Window to the Movies
December 1, 2005
Precious with a capital 'P.'
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
October 27, 2005
Micro budget, no-name cast, but a movie with boundless imagination.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
October 21, 2005
Me and You and Everyone We Know is as unexpected as life itself.
Forrest Hartman
Reno Gazette-Journal
October 7, 2005
With a film like Me and You and Everyone We Know there is much to talk about afterward, and half the fun is in its dissection.
| Original Score: 3/4
James Sanford
Kalamazoo Gazette
September 7, 2005
In a time in which the big screen is cluttered with retreads of old TV shows... July's film is an oasis of offbeat observations and provocative humor.
Bryant Frazer
Bryant Frazer's Deep Focus
August 31, 2005
A journey from sexual innocence to youthful curiosity, middle-aged disconnection and finally death in the magical simultaneity of screen time.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Joe Utichi
FilmFocus
August 25, 2005
Life-affirming; a wonderfully serene treat of a film that you'd be sorry to miss.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
August 20, 2005
The uneven romantic drama veers from raunchy comedy situations to making keen observations about desperate folks.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Matthew Turner
ViewLondon
August 20, 2005
An extremely enjoyable film that is by turns funny, moving and genuinely romantic.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Liz Beardsworth
Empire Magazine
August 19, 2005
July's tender, original movie is a wonderfully uplifting experience.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Nev Pierce
BBC.com
August 16, 2005
Click with it and there are elements to enjoy, but the title suggests a universal significance the film can't supply.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
August 15, 2005
A terrarium of a movie, characterized by many charmed moments...
| Original Score: '3/4'
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
August 14, 2005
a symptom of a gently transgressive spirit, a souvenir of an encounter with a playful spook.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Gregory Weinkauf
▄berCinÚ
August 12, 2005
The writer-director-star is so aggressively 'alternative' that she'll have the Gyllenhaals diving for cover, however her peculiar handle on humanity proves quite engaging.
Top Critic
Stanley Kauffmann
The New Republic
August 10, 2005
It seems quite possible that Me and You marks the arrival of an artist who may affect -- disturbingly yet helpfully -- films and audiences to come.
Page 1 of 7