Opening

—— As Above/So Below Aug 29
35% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
81% The Congress Aug 29
64% Life Of Crime Aug 29

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.2M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $16.7M
39% If I Stay $15.7M
20% Let's Be Cops $10.8M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $8.4M
34% The Expendables 3 $6.5M
32% The Giver $6.4M
45% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For $6.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $5.3M
20% Into The Storm $3.8M

Coming Soon

—— Innocence Sep 05
—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% The House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05

New Episodes Tonight

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
57% Legends: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Covert Affairs: Season 5
88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— Pretty Little Liars: Season 5
—— Rizzoli & Isles: Season 5
—— Royal Pains: Season 5
—— Sullivan & Son: Season 3
60% Tyrant: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

The Mechanic Reviews

Page 1 of 211
YodaMasterJedi
YodaMasterJedi

Super Reviewer

August 20, 2014
three stars
Red L

Super Reviewer

September 30, 2013
The Mechanic is very similar to The Transporter. Same loner doing jobs without asking questions. In this case, instead of transporting, he is killing. The problem is when the questions won't go away.
Al S

Super Reviewer

October 5, 2010
A stylish, heart-pounding and super-charged action-packed thriller. A smart, gripping, intense and exhilarating thrill-ride loaded with break-neck suspense and explosive action from start to finish. It will keep you guessing right to the end with every explosive twist and turn It has plenty of gun-fights, eye-popping stunts and intense fights. This movie packs a wallop. A strong and compelling story with great character development. It's sharp, well-crafted, exceptionally performed and right-on target. A full-throttle, wickedly entertaining and cool as hell action flick. Jason Statham and Ben Foster are electrifying, these two are kicking ass and delivering strong performances together. It's their most compelling roles yet. A stunning and ultra-charged adrenaline-rush that delivers insanely. It's a film that packs just as much star power as it does fire-power. This is one hell of an exhilarating action flick that you don't want to miss. It's fierce, thrilling and intensely unpredictable. I loved it.
Dr114
Dr114

Super Reviewer

May 26, 2012
A decent action film that just so happens to be starring Jason Statham. You really cant pick The Mechanic out from a crowd of other cliche action thrillers but it is still an entertaining movie. Though the pacing and editing were a bit poor, the movie still works.
Crash E

Super Reviewer

May 20, 2011
Well... I liked the movie, I think it's was entertaining and good in its own way, and decent comparing to the other garbage jason has been in lately.
Lady D

Super Reviewer

January 10, 2011
The Mechanic is an Action Thriller with just the right mix of slick, more realistic Action and the more Hollywood explosive Action. The story line is less one-dimensional that a lot of Action movies and the not knowing who is on who's side kept the film exciting throughout.

Jason Statham and Ben Foster make an impressive duo and this is certainly my favourite Statham Action flick to date.
Dean !

Super Reviewer

January 22, 2011
A pretty decent action film revolving around a top assassin who gets double crossed. Nothing spectacular, but it has a decent cast and enough action to entertain you until the end.
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

October 13, 2011
I'm not sure why anyone would want to remake a Michael Winner film but I haven't seen the original, so I will reserve judgement. I actually quite liked The Mechanic, I didn't expect as much from Simon West but this won me over somewhat. The best thing about it though is arguably the unpredictable Steve McKenna played by the brilliant Ben Foster. It's The Transporter without the humour and car chases basically, I thought it was quite good.
Matt G

Super Reviewer

February 13, 2011
We've seen it before; men blowing shit up to be on the top of the wolfpack. Pretty boring, has some great moments though.
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

September 14, 2010
The first legitimate action film I ever seen. The remake of Michael Winner's 1972 slow-burner, about a hitman who grows a conscience after being contracted to kill a friend. This seems a logical step for Jason Statham, whose perma-frown is a natural successor to Charles Bronson's inscrutable screen persona. The action is a long-time-coming, and even then it's pretty tame fare after the adrenaline rush of Crank. But with Ben Foster in the role of protégé, a classy supporting turn from a wheelchair-bound Donald Sutherland, and some inspired plot twists, it's a cut above the Eurotrashy Transportersequels. Britain's best action export may have snagged himself a promising new franchises.
Director Simon West engineers The Mechanic with the precision of stainless steel instruments... It's a boys' movie with a big bang finish.
cosmo313
cosmo313

Super Reviewer

January 26, 2011
This movie is filled with sound and fury, but signifies, really, little to nothing. It wouldn't be so bad (just another average, mindless action movie) except for the fact that this is a remake of a great movie. Not only that, but the original was art, and actually tried to be something. This has little to no substance, and no real character development that means anything or that anyone cares about.

I like chases, gun fights, and explosions, so I was entertained by this movie. However, this film didn't wow me, and, as I said, being a remake, it was hard to focus on this one over the original. I will admit that this is a slick movie that looks decent, but I just couldn't care.

I like Statham, Foster, and Sutherland. And I have this odd love for Simon West's Con Air. However (and I can't help but repeat myself), this movie is a pointless, souless remake. It does away with subtlety and trades it in for being 'of the times'. There are a number of elements from the original that are retained, but I just didn't like how they were handled.

I liked this a tad more than it seems like I did, but because of my attachment to the original, I can't help but really come down on this one.
Roy G

Super Reviewer

January 16, 2011
In the end, The Mechanic proves that while revenge is a dish best served cold, revenge movies are best served with fire in the belly.
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

June 30, 2011
I've very picky about remakes. Usually they fail to deliver something entertaining and thrilling. But in the case of the Charles Bronson classic, I thought this was an entertaining film that delivered some awesome action. Although nothing can't beat the original and no one can touch Charles Bronson, Jason Statham does a good job at filling big shoes. This film is by far one of the most exciting action films of 2011, and despite its few flaws, it offers a non stop roller coaster ride. This is one of Stathams best roles as I find him fairly hit and miss. Though this is a good enough remake, I like everyone else prefer the original. This remake is a good action film for what it is, but like every other remake, it copies the original and there are many scenes that echo the original film. The Mechanic remake is an exhilarating action film that is among the better remakes around, not a perfect film, but good enough to enjoy a solid hour and a half of good entertainment. The Mechanic is explosive entertainment, it's a roller coaster ride of action and thrills. The film overall is a good upgrade to the Charles Bronson classic, but of course nothing beats the original.
DreamExtractor
DreamExtractor

Super Reviewer

February 25, 2011
The Mechanic is your average stealth action flick, and I liked it. I loved the stealth scenes, they were well thought and originally done. The plot was good too, it had my attention but there were very cliche moments. Having Jason Staham is just setting yourself up for disaster at the box office, he can be good or bad, but either way he has a box office curse. In the end the casting was dumb, the plot is good but cliche, the stealth scenes are great, and you will leave the theatre pondering the ending (in a bad way).
DerekA101
DerekA101

Super Reviewer

January 20, 2011
The Mechanic (also known as Transporter 4) is "cool" but still is a rehashed character/story under a new alias. Been there done that... but still slightly entertaining.
skactopus
skactopus

Super Reviewer

June 6, 2011
The Mechanic, from director Simon West, is everything as expected, and that isn't much.For a film about hit-men, the 90 minute plot does have potential, but in the end it never delivers to that level. Some of the backdrops and locations are pretty good; however everything else comes across as bland and lifeless. The characters aren't interesting and even the predictable story twists don't do a whole lot for this picture.The action is violent, bloody, and there is a decent enough dosage of it. Unfortunately, that's all that it has going for it. The sequences themselves aren't entertaining enough to warrant a recommendation.Jason Statham does have the persona to play a character of this nature, but he only does so much with it. The other elements of the film need to rise up and help him out. They don't here and that's a problem. Ben Foster, while delivering a more lively performance, suffers from an unlikable character. The rest of the cast are completely forgettable.In the end, The Mechanic doesn't do the fixing. It needs the fixing.
Fernando Rafael Q

Super Reviewer

January 26, 2011
The Mechanic, Simon West's 2011 remake of the 1972 film starring Charles Bronson, has style and grit and violence to spare. Starting off with a bang, this hit man flick is surprisingly emotional and stunningly well-photographed. With decent writing, fantastically over-the-top fight sequences and more interior design porn than a Nancy Meyers movie, The Mechanic places itself just a notch above the actioners we're accustomed to. Jason Statham plays 'Bishop' as a cross between concerned parent and cold-blooded killer, while Ben Foster, as usual, steals the movie. But, despite the wildly exaggerated violence and frenetic pace, the last act of this film is very weak. Here, the film takes an inexplicable leap, where a rookie (Foster) becomes an expert cleaner in the blink of an eye. The choppy, clumsy editing doesn't help, either. From there, it's all downhill for The Mechanic, culminating in a thoroughly unsatisfying (and stupid) fashion.
FiLmCrAzY
FiLmCrAzY

Super Reviewer

January 16, 2011
Well i don't normally complain about Jason Statham movies bcause i always like his movies, you will always know hs type of movies normally action packed, amusing and often he gets his shirt off and the storylines are bearable.
However this movie extremely disappoints, the storyline is absolutely ludicris that its just absolutely ridiculas.
There is enough action but because the storyline is truly that bad it just ruins the rest of the movie.
I strongly wouldn't recommend this movie even if you just wanted to see Statham take his shirt off you'd be strongly disappointed.!
Conner R

Super Reviewer

May 31, 2011
In my opinion, this a lot better than the Charles Bronson original. It takes the same basic scenario and improves upon the characters, action sequences and plot. Jason Statham practically IS the Charles Bronson of his time, so it's no surprise that he works so well as Arthur Bishop: the man without compromise. Ben Foster delivers his gold standard here; an effectively unhinged character that seems like he'll snap at any moment from shear rage. Simon West has made an extremely good looking action movie that almost feels like it belongs in the 70s due to it's classy cinematography and set design. People will either enjoy The Mechanic for what it is or just write it off as another throwaway action movie. I thought it was extremely well mapped out and just ridiculously cool. Jason Statham lays down his trademark killing techniques served with a snide quip and karate kick to the face. Anyone who's seen the original will know that they improved just about everything here and should be pleasantly surprised.
Cynthia S

Super Reviewer

February 2, 2011
Extra points for casting Jason Statham....I don't remember much about the first movie. From what I am told, though, the script is very much the same, and this was just as good. I liked this. A good action film with your typical well placed, and well done, fights, car crashes, and explosions. I was also told that the ending was changed from the first movie, and I am SO SO glad! :)
Page 1 of 211
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile