Meet the Spartans - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Meet the Spartans Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Ben Rawson-Jones
Digital Spy
July 14, 2011
Meet The Spartans? For those unlucky enough to be lured into the cinema, there's every chance you'll be wanting to meet your maker instead.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Dave White
Movies.com
April 4, 2011
Because this movie was written for 10-year-olds, it assumes that those 10-year-olds are the stupidest 10-year-olds alive.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
Kevin A. Ranson
MovieCrypt.com
February 10, 2009
What does it say about a film with an hour running time that has twenty minutes of outtakes after the credits to reach theatrical length? Very little that's positive.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.0/4.0
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
September 3, 2008
While still not a grand work of art, Meet the Spartans improves upon the formula established in the earlier parodies of Friedberg and Seltzer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine
July 22, 2008
It's not very good at all, but I did manage to laugh at some moments of sudden pratfalls and comic violence, but the talkshow reference mentality has to go!
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
Prairie Miller
NewsBlaze
May 29, 2008
A bizarre, leering orgy of celebrity crotches, lowbrow horny gay buffoons in leather, moronic gladiator mayhem, and too-much-information cascading bodily fluids galore.
Kevin McCarthy
WJFK-FM (CBS Radio)
May 24, 2008
Besides the few chuckles I had, the movie was just dreadfully bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
April 9, 2008
everybody should be ashamed
| Original Score: 0/5
Simon Braund
Empire Magazine
March 20, 2008
Obviously, it's rubbish.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
February 24, 2008
This is supposed to be a spoof of '300.' But 'Meet the Spartans' isn't a satire of anything. It's just a bunch of body-function-based skits that randomly feature scenes from movies and television shows -- and not a single one of them is laugh-inducing
Full Review| Original Score: .5/4
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
February 5, 2008
...couldn't get a laugh from a hyena.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Bill Gibron
Filmcritic.com
February 4, 2008
Meet the Spartans can't even get its fart jokes right. How incredibly sad is that?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons
February 4, 2008
One of the most painfully bad comedies I've ever had to endure, and I've seen the collected works of Martin Lawrence, Tim Allen, Ice Cube AND Cedric the Entertainer
Kimberley Jones
Austin Chronicle
February 1, 2008
To devote an entire feature film to making fun of another film's universally acknowledged gay subtext seems to me good cause for said filmmakers to have a sit-down with their muse, because somebody's been sleeping on the job.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
Top Critic
Clark Collis
Entertainment Weekly
January 30, 2008
The result in Meet the Spartans is less classic Mel Brooks than middling Best Week Ever.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Josh Levin
Slate
January 30, 2008
This was the worst movie I've ever seen, so bad that I hesitate to label it a 'movie' and thus reflect shame upon the entire medium of film.
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Film Threat
January 30, 2008
It's rare that a movie makes me ill these days, and it's rare that I can see a movie and hate the people behind it with such abhorrence, but "Meet the Spartans" rises to the challenge...
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
January 30, 2008
When the comedy revolution comes, Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer will be the first ones shot.
Full Review | Original Score: F
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
January 30, 2008
Messrs. Friedberg and Seltzer make their annual locust-like descent on theaters leaving a trail of ruthlessly murdered brain cells in their wake.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/5
Top Critic
Aaron Hillis
Village Voice
January 29, 2008
I'm moving to Europe.
Page 1 of 3