Opening

67% The Equalizer Sep 26
70% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
84% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Top Box Office

63% The Maze Runner $32.5M
65% A Walk Among the Tombstones $13.1M
43% This Is Where I Leave You $11.9M
11% No Good Deed $10.2M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $9.0M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $5.2M
20% Let's Be Cops $2.7M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $2.6M
88% The Drop $2.0M
37% If I Stay $1.8M

Coming Soon

56% Men, Women & Children Oct 01
—— Gone Girl Oct 03
—— Annabelle Oct 03
67% The Good Lie Oct 03
—— 7500 Oct 03

Premieres Tonight

—— The Big Bang Theory: Season 8
—— The Blacklist: Season 2
50% Forever: Season 1
85% Gotham: Season 1
23% Scorpion: Season 1
—— Sleepy Hollow: Season 2

New Episodes Tonight

71% Dallas: Season 3
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— American Dad!: Season 11
87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
53% The Lottery: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Meet the Spartans Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Ben Rawson-Jones
Digital Spy

Meet The Spartans? For those unlucky enough to be lured into the cinema, there's every chance you'll be wanting to meet your maker instead.

Full Review Source: Digital Spy | Original Score: 1/5

July 14, 2011
Dave White
Movies.com

Because this movie was written for 10-year-olds, it assumes that those 10-year-olds are the stupidest 10-year-olds alive.

Full Review Source: Movies.com | Original Score: 0/5

April 4, 2011
Kevin A. Ranson
MovieCrypt.com

What does it say about a film with an hour running time that has twenty minutes of outtakes after the credits to reach theatrical length? Very little that's positive.

Full Review Source: MovieCrypt.com | Original Score: 1.0/4.0

February 10, 2009
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight

While still not a grand work of art, Meet the Spartans improves upon the formula established in the earlier parodies of Friedberg and Seltzer.

Full Review Source: Cinema Sight | Original Score: 2/4

September 3, 2008
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine

It's not very good at all, but I did manage to laugh at some moments of sudden pratfalls and comic violence, but the talkshow reference mentality has to go!

Full Review | Original Score: 2/4

July 22, 2008
Prairie Miller
NewsBlaze

A bizarre, leering orgy of celebrity crotches, lowbrow horny gay buffoons in leather, moronic gladiator mayhem, and too-much-information cascading bodily fluids galore.

Full Review Source: NewsBlaze

May 29, 2008
Kevin McCarthy
WJFK-FM (CBS Radio)

Besides the few chuckles I had, the movie was just dreadfully bad.

Full Review Source: WJFK-FM (CBS Radio) | Original Score: 1/5

May 24, 2008

everybody should be ashamed

| Original Score: 0/5

April 9, 2008
Simon Braund
Empire Magazine

Obviously, it's rubbish.

Full Review Source: Empire Magazine | Original Score: 1/5

March 20, 2008
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)

This is supposed to be a spoof of '300.' But 'Meet the Spartans' isn't a satire of anything. It's just a bunch of body-function-based skits that randomly feature scenes from movies and television shows -- and not a single one of them is laugh-inducing

Full Review | Original Score: .5/4

February 24, 2008
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review

...couldn't get a laugh from a hyena.

Full Review Source: Sacramento News & Review | Original Score: 1/5

February 5, 2008
Bill Gibron
Filmcritic.com

Meet the Spartans can't even get its fart jokes right. How incredibly sad is that?

Full Review Source: Filmcritic.com | Original Score: 1/5

February 4, 2008
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons

One of the most painfully bad comedies I've ever had to endure, and I've seen the collected works of Martin Lawrence, Tim Allen, Ice Cube AND Cedric the Entertainer

Full Review Source: Dark Horizons

February 4, 2008
Kimberley Jones
Austin Chronicle

To devote an entire feature film to making fun of another film's universally acknowledged gay subtext seems to me good cause for said filmmakers to have a sit-down with their muse, because somebody's been sleeping on the job.

Full Review Source: Austin Chronicle | Original Score: 0/5

February 1, 2008
Clark Collis
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The result in Meet the Spartans is less classic Mel Brooks than middling Best Week Ever.

Full Review Source: Entertainment Weekly | Original Score: C+

January 30, 2008
Josh Levin
Slate
Top Critic IconTop Critic

This was the worst movie I've ever seen, so bad that I hesitate to label it a 'movie' and thus reflect shame upon the entire medium of film.

Full Review Source: Slate

January 30, 2008
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Film Threat

It's rare that a movie makes me ill these days, and it's rare that I can see a movie and hate the people behind it with such abhorrence, but "Meet the Spartans" rises to the challenge...

Full Review Source: Film Threat | Original Score: 0/5

January 30, 2008
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com

When the comedy revolution comes, Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer will be the first ones shot.

Full Review Source: EricDSnider.com | Original Score: F

January 30, 2008
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)

Messrs. Friedberg and Seltzer make their annual locust-like descent on theaters leaving a trail of ruthlessly murdered brain cells in their wake.

Full Review Source: Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC) | Original Score: .5/5

January 30, 2008
Aaron Hillis
Village Voice
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I'm moving to Europe.

Full Review Source: Village Voice

January 29, 2008
Page 1 of 3
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile