Memoirs of My Nervous Illness Reviews

Page 1 of 1
David Noh
Film Journal International
December 19, 2006
Under the welter of all this heavy aestheticism, some of the performers are somewhat stymied, but thankfully not Mays.
Anne Gilbert
Filmcritic.com
December 17, 2006
indulgent and erudite in a way that only an art film can be
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
John Anderson
Newsday
December 15, 2006
Director-writer Hobbs, making his feature debut, walks the lip of the campy abyss in this deliberately theatrical rendering of the disturbed mind.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Ken Fox
TV Guide's Movie Guide
December 15, 2006
Hayes' remarkable portrayal calls forth the madman from the text and, eventually, the human being from the madman.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Jeannette Catsoulis
New York Times
December 14, 2006
The American actor Jefferson Mays is back in rouge and petticoats for Memoirs of My Nervous Illness, a punctilious account of madness and womb envy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Jason Anderson
eye WEEKLY
December 12, 2006
A brave and bewildering screen adaptation of a German judge's infamous, proto-Freudian account of his mental breakdown.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Ronnie Scheib
Variety
December 12, 2006
Hobbs' inspired feature sticks close to real-life texts, retaining Schreber's disconcerting mix of Teutonic clarity and schizophrenic imaginings.
Top Critic
Frank Scheck
Hollywood Reporter
December 15, 2006
Memoirs of My Nervous Illness is an accomplished and stylistically audacious effort that all too accurately conveys the confusion and mental disarray of its subject's illness, ultimately to its detriment.
Top Critic
V.A. Musetto
New York Post
December 15, 2006
The psychobabble makes for dry filmmaking until [subject Daniel Paul] Schreber starts going fem. From that point on, it's every man for himself.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
December 15, 2006
[Jefferson] Mays throws himself into the role of a man who attempts to transform into a woman, but his efforts feel like futile flailings: The actor -- and his character -- are so much bigger than any story we're allowed to see.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Ed Gonzalez
Village Voice
December 12, 2006
Julian P. Hobbs's Memories of My Nervous Illness seems to resonate from inside a tin can.
Page 1 of 1