• PG, 1 hr. 40 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Robert Townsend
    In Theaters:
    Aug 6, 1993 Wide
    On DVD:
    Feb 18, 2003
  • MGM Home Entertainment

Opening

66% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
84% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
92% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Top Box Office

63% The Maze Runner $32.5M
66% A Walk Among the Tombstones $12.8M
43% This Is Where I Leave You $11.6M
11% No Good Deed $9.8M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $8.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $5.2M
20% Let's Be Cops $2.7M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $2.7M
88% The Drop $2.1M
37% If I Stay $1.8M

Coming Soon

56% Men, Women & Children Oct 01
85% Gone Girl Oct 03
—— Annabelle Oct 03
67% The Good Lie Oct 03
—— Left Behind Oct 03

Premieres Tonight

—— Chicago Fire: Season 3
—— Faking It: Season 2
—— Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 2
—— NCIS: Season 12
69% NCIS: New Orleans: Season 1
—— Person Of Interest: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

—— Awkward: Season 4
—— Brickleberry: Season 3
51% Forever: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
75% The Mindy Project: Season 3
100% New Girl: Season 4
85% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— The Big Bang Theory: Season 8
—— The Blacklist: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
51% Forever: Season 1
95% Gotham: Season 1
35% Scorpion: Season 1
—— Sleepy Hollow: Season 2
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

The Meteor Man Reviews

Page 1 of 12
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

June 15, 2014
The Meteor Man is a decent action comedy that is quite entertaining, but leaves plenty to be desired in the long run. The film has a good idea going for it, but it also falls short of what it could have been. For what it is, it's an entertaining affair, but it's a film that isn't worth multiple viewings. Although it's a film that has moments of exciting entertainment value, The Meteor Man is one of those movies that really had the potential being much better as well. Those expecting something great will be disappointed, as The Meteor Man satisfies only to a certain degree. For a low budget film, it works, and the result is decent, but it really should have been more. The blend of action and comedy makes this worth seeing if you have nothing else better to do, but as a superhero film, it just doesn't hold up, and it is a forgettable affair in the long run. This film should have been reworked, but is it an awful movie, it's not, but there are times where it feels a little too empty at the same in terms of good storytelling, and that's why the film simply doesn't stand out, and it doesn't warrant multiple viewings. For B movie fans, however who love these types of movies, there is enough to enjoy, but to others, there just isn't enough substance on-screen to really make a stunning, highly engaging and ultimately memorable film experience worth experiencing again and again. If you come across it, and you have nothing else better to watch, The Meteor Man is one of those films that you watch. At times there some entertaining moments, but others there seems to be a lacking structure, which brings the film down, and you realize that it just isn't as good as it could have been. This is a decent film that leaves a lot to be desired.
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

July 19, 2013
If only Robert Townsend had gone full on Blackspliotational with Meteor Man instead of playing it relatively safe this could have been something awesome. That said, it is still something special. It's badly acted, badly directed and badly written but a film about a Black Superman, starring James Earl Jones, Bill Cosby and Luther Vandross, featuring Cypress Hill and Naughty By Nature and an army of peroxyded midgets (or are they kids), it can't be bad can it!? If a film has charm, the rest don't matter.
Lucas M

Super Reviewer

May 17, 2011
Robert Townsend make in The Meteor Man, maybe a entertaining motion picture, but his script, direction and acting made Meteor a rotten film.
James A

Super Reviewer

May 18, 2006
How nice a movie with a message. Much like the Parenthood.
Sean G

Super Reviewer

July 27, 2011
The worst!
civilzen
civilzen

Super Reviewer

November 1, 2010
This bit of black empowerment made matrix history before there was a Matrix.
James Earl Jones Macin' in a high and flat, FTW!
starlimitz2
March 18, 2010
This movie is dumb, and it is very poorly edited, with A-List actors doing B-List jobs, but it has heart. I was surprised to see Don Cheadle, James Earl Jones, Sinbad and Eddie Griffin in this, along with Bill Cosby. Sometimes it made me laugh, but not very often, and sometimes the jokes just came off as stupid. However, there was an energy that one really can't ignore, and you could tell they tried pretty hard to make this as good a movie as they could. It was a decent effort, but they could have gotten a better writer than the main character and producer.
pariahjf
July 22, 2007
Kinda hokey now, but still an interesting family movie! Love all the cameos by all the rappers of that time...
January 11, 2007
Townsend & Griffin are awesome in this film.I remember seeing it as a kid and I still like watching it today. It's kinda geeky but funny and fun to watch!
ouisch27
November 10, 2006
I haven't seen this in some time and while I remember it as having many stupid moments ( the different costumes, Cosby ) I definitely think it had it's heart in the right place with the battle at the end.
September 11, 2006
Oh my god was this movie bad. Bill Cosby plays an old silent man and that's the only good part, because lately when he opens his mouth i wanna punch him in the face for smashing black people.
FilmGrinder S.
September 9, 2014
77%

A ghetto tale for the kiddies, only not.
February 20, 2014
Good family film. Pays homage to old school super hero aesthetic.
filmlover1994
June 17, 2013
I Like Comedy Films, My Favorite Comedy Film Is 1933's Duck Soup With The Marx Brothers.
April 15, 2013
loved this film as a kid and still do
October 26, 2012
So bad it's really really good
September 23, 2012
Oh, how I love Robert Towsend. Oh, how I hate this movie.
August 5, 2012
Although it's very cheesy, it's a movie that is fun for all the family. A great movie to watch, just dont expect an emmy performance.
Lucas M

Super Reviewer

May 17, 2011
Robert Townsend make in The Meteor Man, maybe a entertaining motion picture, but his script, direction and acting made Meteor a rotten film.
November 1, 2010
Good Jesus. The worst thing is that they take it all so seriously, like it's Do the Right Thing with superheroes.
Page 1 of 12
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile