Opening

64% The Maze Runner Sep 19
53% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
—— A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
92% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

13% No Good Deed $24.3M
73% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
33% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
70% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

New Episodes Tonight

71% Dallas: Season 3
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— American Dad!: Season 11
87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
53% The Lottery: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 2
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
90% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

Micmacs (Micmacs tire-larigot) Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Mark Stafford
Electric Sheep

Micmacs is Jeunet's whimsy unrestrained; this is hardcore twee, uncut cute. Every character on screen is quirky and eccentric to various degrees of irritation, and the constant visual whizbang stuff never lets the actors interact.

Full Review Source: Electric Sheep

February 26, 2010
Kate Muir
Times [UK]

Jeunet(TM)s fondness for the whimsical and slapstick has gone over the top, leaving plot and character floundering.

Full Review Source: Times [UK] | Original Score: 3/5

February 26, 2010
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

In an age when special effects can show us almost anything, there can come a tipping point when a movie is essentially only showing off. I'm not flatly against that, but in general, I like to delude myself that the story is in the foreground.

Full Review Source: Chicago Sun-Times | Original Score: 2.5/4

June 3, 2010
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Jeunet's film, co-written by the director and Guillaume Laurant, is one of high polish and prodigious creativity. I found it exhausting.

Full Review Source: Chicago Tribune

June 3, 2010
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press

There is something whimsical about Micmacs but also something laborious, and that is not a good combo.

Full Review Source: St. Paul Pioneer Press | Original Score: 2/4

June 11, 2010
Robbie Collin
News of the World

The film is visually impressive and I'd be lying if I said I didn't laugh a few times. But too often, the gags aren't so much quirky as just plain jarring.

Full Review Source: News of the World | Original Score: 2/5

February 26, 2010
Michael Smith
Tulsa World

So much time is devoted to chases and ricocheting bullets that whimsy for whimsy's sake takes over.

Full Review Source: Tulsa World | Original Score: 2/4

August 13, 2010
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine

Micmacs is the logical next step in Jean-Pierre Jeunet's career, more or less completely doing away with narrative as a vital component and exalting mouse trap-style set pieces as a be-all end-all.

Full Review Source: Slant Magazine | Original Score: 1.5/4

May 24, 2010
Austin Kennedy
Film Geek Central

It's superbly directed but the story just isn't involving and the characters are empty shells. Knowing how awesome this director can be, MICMACS was a major letdown.

Full Review Source: Film Geek Central | Original Score: 2/4

June 2, 2013
Julie Rigg
MovieTime, ABC Radio National

It throws just about every piece of shtick in Jeunet's book at us, and the result is that we spend very little time getting to know the characters. They are undeveloped.

Full Review Source: MovieTime, ABC Radio National

April 8, 2010
Tricia Olszewski
Washington City Paper

Whimsy overload.

Full Review Source: Washington City Paper

June 10, 2010
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com

Jean-Pierre Jeunet has turned to caricaturing his own fixation on Rube Goldberg mechanics to create a truly boring cinematic exercise in futility.

Full Review Source: ColeSmithey.com | Original Score: C-

April 28, 2010
Joshua Tyler
CinemaBlend.com

It's like every American's worst nightmare of what France must be like.

Full Review Source: CinemaBlend.com

April 5, 2010
Nigel Andrews
Financial Times

A film that has belaboured our funnybones for 100 minutes makes a charge for our tear ducts. Neither we nor the landmine victims deserved this facile flipping of agenda.

Full Review Source: Financial Times | Original Score: 3/5

February 26, 2010
Matt Pais
Metromix.com

The movie would be sweeter if it developed its characters instead of trying to be so cute all the time.

Full Review Source: Metromix.com | Original Score: 3/5

June 3, 2010
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews

Dripping with gooey crowd-pleasing sentimentality.

Full Review Source: Ozus' World Movie Reviews | Original Score: C

August 21, 2010
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I found this film unbearable, almost unwatchable. Fifteen minutes in, I felt as though I'd been drugged, and I stayed awake only by shifting constantly ...

Full Review Source: San Francisco Chronicle | Original Score: 1/4

June 3, 2010
Tom Long
Detroit News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

While the parts are quite good, the sum is pretty pedestrian.

Full Review Source: Detroit News | Original Score: C+

July 16, 2010
Jules Brenner
Filmcritic.com

free-style caricatures turn the movie into a bucket of comic slop

Full Review Source: Filmcritic.com | Original Score: 2/5

May 27, 2010
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly

For anybody worried Amelie wasn't overstylized and cutesy-poo enough, director Jean-Pierre Jeunet finally disappears completely up his own twee-hole...

Full Review Source: Philadelphia Weekly

July 13, 2010

Dark Horizons
April 5, 2011
Page 1 of 7
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile