Microcosmos - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Microcosmos Reviews

Page 1 of 13
Super Reviewer
May 3, 2012
A very straight forward, beautiful piece about the world of the insect, and how big their world is, though we view it as so very small. Directors Claude Nuridsany and Marie Perennou got up close and personal with the world of the ant colony, ladybug, dung beetle, and dragonfly. Only briefly narrated and accompanied by a great soundtrack of smooth classical music, this film only tries to show how insects view the world and the processes of said world. It drags at times, but it is truly engrossing if you see the world with a philosophical view or just want to know more about the world around you. It's short, sweet, and educational if you don't know much about insects or anything nature related.
flixsterman
Super Reviewer
January 13, 2009
As exhilarating as anything ever seen on Mutual of Omaha's Wild Kingdom and it's all taking place right in your own back yard.
Super Reviewer
January 19, 2012
Very entertaining look at the insect world. Call it March of the Praying Mantises. Little conversation. Just observation. It works nonetheless.
Super Reviewer
½ October 2, 2008
11/29/06: Weird bug movie. Ms Roberts showed it randomly in class one day. What can I say?
Super Reviewer
½ October 2, 2008
Really cool considering I can't stay interested with National Geographic.
Super Reviewer
½ December 23, 2008
No plot, no script, no humans but lots of character. In essence this film is nothing more than short films of insects doing what they do. The photography is absolutely incredible too - with highlights being a water-spider collecting air, and a dung beetle that never gives up. The incidental music is intrusive in places and tries to make the images more movie-like instead of letting them speak for themselves - saying that, it could also do with a bit more narration...if that makes sense. Worth seeing.
Super Reviewer
½ October 2, 2008
Fascinating doc on bugs that has just as fascinating photography.
½ March 18, 2014
Stunningly gorgeous. Looking for something great to through on the wide screen while you are entertaining?
½ October 4, 2013
A gorgeous doc that opens up a world we, of course, knew existed yet, in a way, *didn't* know existed. As we watch these insects go about their daily routines, the mundane becomes operatic and the creepy crawly becomes a true work of art. This is a film that reminds us of how small we are by going small itself--like peering into a tiny mirror.
July 17, 2013
An astonishingly intimate peek into the art of insects, and one of my favorite pre-'Planet Earth' nature documentaries. I would love to see another filmmaker take another look at the mundane acts of insect life armed with the superior technologies we possess today - even though this film is already a technologically advanced marvel in its own right. 5/5 Hardly any narration, just enough to guide the viewer through the vast and supremely weird insect world we live amongst.
½ January 23, 2013
interesting to see bugs so close up, amazing quality for something filmed in 1996. love the soundtrack, was a little slow at parts, would of liked a little more dialogue to know what was going on.
½ December 26, 2012
Fascinating to the point that its microscopically overwhelming, "Microcosmos" is perfectly named. Somehow we are given the chance to relate to insects that are actual insects instead of the usual talking Disney bug. Overall a hauntingly pretty look at the smaller things in life.
½ June 23, 2011
two words: snail porn. seriously though, i love shit like this. i watch "planet earth" all the time. though unlike "planet earth," which is educational, this movie is pretty much devoid of narration and the soundtrack is totally creepy. i'm slightly phobic of bugs so i watched this with a mixture of revulsion and awe.
½ June 14, 2011
fascinating footage showing the day to day life of the world of insects. The closeups are phenomenal and really beautiful and utterly mesmerizing. The lack of narration is actually good since it doesn't sidetrack you with facts and just shows the lives of bugs we usually could care less of. Highly recommended.
October 31, 2010
Microscosmos is a super cool documentary to watch on your own or share with your children of all ages. It provides ample opportunities for discussions about reproduction, the web of life, and just in teaching your kids bug names (provided you already know them; there is almost no narration). I really cannot recommend this visually stunning film highly enough.
½ September 16, 2009
Wonderful nature documentary with little intervention. Aided by nothing more but some music and bookended by a narrator, Microcosmos is as pure as movies of its kind can get. The footage they capture are simply breathtaking, and they still stand out as some of the most astounding ever seen in the animal kingdom. It doesn't overstay its welcome, either.
August 14, 2009
Pretty amzing footage throughout this doc. The snail footage alone is worth the watch. Clever usage of music and editing with no voice-over used at all. The bugs tell their own story.
June 9, 2009
Shows insects, critters, you name it, as though they were people or stars in a movie. Completely fascinating if you dig bugs. Expertly photographed and most sequences are breathtaking. A Bug's Life, but fer reals.
July 26, 2009
If you don't like this movie you have proven yourself to be a dumb-ass and given up all criteria to reproduce.

A fascinating study on the insect life through the perspective of an insect. A totally engrossing film on the insect life to the point where you become involved in the everyday aspect of a certain insects life as played out in the segments of this film. I find the travails of the dung beetle and his cache to be particularly interesting and oddly very funny.

A great movie to share with the kids.
June 13, 2009
funny in parts, creepy in parts, and definitely fun to watch with kids. the part with snails passionately making out makes the whole thing worthwhile for sure ;)
Page 1 of 13