A Mighty Wind Reviews

Page 1 of 93
JonathanHutchings
Super Reviewer
½ April 21, 2012
Full confession alert: I'm not the biggest Christopher Guest fan; however, A Mighty Wind is maturely directed, heartfelt, and keenly observed. I never thought I would be genuinely touched by a Guest film, but that's why we watch movies, right?
Super Reviewer
August 12, 2010
Whenever I want to watch something light and comedic I either watch a Woody Allen or one of Christopher Guests' mockumentaries. This film is lacking compared to the over the top ensemble Waiting for Guffman and the polarizing Best in Show, but what it doesn't hold in a secure and structured plot it makes up for in heart and gumption. I agree that when it tries to be subtle it's not well understood and when it tries to be obvious it's a bit in your face, but overall I found this to still to have a quiet charm about it. Guest always satirizes the easy targets: dog shows, local theater, and retired rock bands. Anywhere where eccentric characters thrive he mines for the laughs, usually easy with his usual cast of characters. Guest always uses his old stand-bys of Eugene Levy (who co-writes the scripts with Guest), Catherine O'Hara, Harry Shearer, and Michael McKean. He also utilizes youthful character actors John Michael Higgins, Parker Posey, Jane Lynch (an unknown in both this and Best in Show), and Bob Balaban. Every one of these films works exactly the same: a group of characters with misshaped values work to find fame and love from the crowd, either don't succeed or thoroughly embarrass themselves, and we flash to a short amount of time later to see the depths to which they have fallen. Most of this film is solely the folk music, the characters playing their instruments, and the oncoming concert. Through the interviews we learn strange details about these people including the involvement in a cult, a past in pornography, homelessness, and transgendered choices. The sub-plot over Mitch and Mickey was probably one of the sweeter things I've seen in film in a long time. Really, a delightful ensemble.
TomBowler
Super Reviewer
½ August 2, 2009
What it lacks in plot it makes up for in an abundance of laughs. Full review later.
flixsterman
Super Reviewer
½ January 9, 2009
Kooky but lovable mockumentary. In the same vein as Best in Show and Waiting for Guffman. Definitely the lesser of the three.
Chiefilms
Super Reviewer
January 16, 2010
What is going on? I reviewed this already. Folk the world brilliance.
366weirdmovies
Super Reviewer
January 27, 2008
A mockumentary in which three retired folk groups, each with their own backstories, get together for a reunion concert to honor their dead producer. None of the satirical bite or outright hilarity of SPINAL TAP, but it succeeds with involving characterizations (especially by a crazy-eyed Eugene Levy, who has been spending his post-stardom days in mental hospitals), and by being remarkably sweet towards its subjects without ever becoming cloying.
Super Reviewer
½ April 15, 2007
I HATE folk music and I can't stand this movie as a result
FilmFanatik
Super Reviewer
November 9, 2008
Lovely music and a funny mockumentary. I enjoyed it.
Super Reviewer
½ March 21, 2008
Christopher Guest and his fellows are brilliant.
Super Reviewer
November 3, 2007
Not as good as the others.
Super Reviewer
November 2, 2007
Excellent! This is a very smart and funny movie. The cast is great and they really make all the characters thier own.
Super Reviewer
½ September 24, 2007
Christopher Guest is brilliant! Plain and simple.
Super Reviewer
½ July 14, 2007
I love this movie!
Great music, characters and situations. It's very funny and enjoyable Folk Reunion. Many of our Waiting for Guffman, Spinal Tap and Best in Show friends return for a triumph! The songs are styled after real folk acts, but the themes and lyrics are cranked up a few notches for some hilarious weirdness.
Super Reviewer
February 13, 2007
Perhaps not as good as its forebearers, and maybe it begins to show Guest starting to chafe under the mocumentary format... but it is still hilarious down to it's core.... although their is a caveat. To really understand the humor, you need to understand the American Folk scene, or to have seen another Christopher Guest film.
Super Reviewer
November 9, 2006
Whenever these guys get together they never disappoint.
Super Reviewer
½ November 7, 2006
Thsi si great...
Super Reviewer
½ January 27, 2012
My favourite of the Chris Guest films that is absolutely hilarious. What makes Guest films work is that the oddballs within them are entirely believable. The actors involved breathe life into them without taking them over the top.
Super Reviewer
August 20, 2010
I'll take "Waiting for Guffman" or "Best in Show" instead please.
Super Reviewer
July 20, 2009
I got a weal wed wagon!
Super Reviewer
July 16, 2006
Sometimes it goes too far, and sometimes it doesn't go far enough, but it's intelligent and that's more than a lot of comedy movies can say. Several hilarious scenes and keen performances from everybody. Worth a look.
Page 1 of 93