Opening

—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $16.3M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.8M
39% If I Stay $9.3M
33% As Above/So Below $8.3M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.2M
37% The November Man $7.7M
17% When The Game Stands Tall $5.6M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.6M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.5M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

Premieres Tonight

42% Houdini: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
25% Partners: Season 1
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Breathless: Season One
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 2

Monsters vs. Aliens Reviews

Page 1 of 1383
Spencer S

Super Reviewer

July 29, 2010
In the past Dreamworks hasn't made many winners, but with their more inventive and entertaining children's films as of late, they are starting to give Pixar and Disney Studios a run for their money. In this latest film the studio takes a stab at fifties monster movies, featuring several different kinds of monsters as well. "Ginormica" or Susan (Witherspoon) is indicative of "Attack of the 50 Foot Woman," Insectosaurus (Kimmel) is reminiscent of the nuclear ants from "Them," Dr. Cockroach (Laurie) is comparable to "The Fly," and B.O.B. (Rogen) is obviously "The Blob." These fantastic and so-called monsters are detained in Area 51 and enlisted to help in an alien takeover by an imperialist named Galaxhar (Wilson). The characters in this film are really enjoyable to watch, and they are developed and animated perfectly. Most of the humor doesn't even fall between adult or childlike, and there aren't any references to make this feel dated. Susan is the everywoman, because she is a new monster compared to the others, who have been locked up for fifty some years. Her perspective is very enjoyable because she's either giving insight into a world she knows nothing about, or she's still trying to figure out how to keep from destroying things with her newly enormous body. The others, including the cockroach, missing link, and giant bug, are also interesting and entertaining as each has their own identity, which they stick to throughout the film. Of course, the main reason I enjoyed this film was because of Seth Rogen as B.O.B. He has some of the funniest lines ever, in any of his films, and they land every single time. Rogen obviously had a lot of fun making this film, and gives better than anyone else. Though I still like "Megamind" better than this, it is a great indication of where this studio is going with their films.
Phil H

Super Reviewer

April 5, 2009
After a long line of very average animated films (unless you like 'Shrek') this was the main film that started the comeback for Dreamworks, in my opinion. This was the turn around point...well this and 'Kung Fu Panda'.

The aim of the game here was to emulate the classic horror/sci-fi B-movies of the 50's and have fun with it. The plot is about a regular woman who is struck by a meteorite which makes her grow to enormous proportions ('Attack of the 50 Foot Woman'). She is then carted off by the military to a secret base ('Area 51-ish') where she is imprisoned with some other quirky creatures/monsters. At the same time far away in space an alien detects a precious specialized metal on Earth and begins his plans to invade.

No beating around the bush here, the best thing about this film is the small ragtag team of monsters. This small group of diverse characters is the films saviour and shows some great homaging for all you sci-fi buffs. There is ' B.O.B.', a gelatinous blue blob that is obviously a take on 'The Blob' (1958) and brilliantly voiced by Seth Rogen, probably one of the best/funniest characters. 'Dr. Cockroach, PhD' a half man half cockroach character with insect abilities and a roguish dashing persona, this is mainly down to him being voiced by Huge Laurie. This little fella is a homage to classic horror 'The Fly' (1958).

'The Missing Link', ('Link'), a 20,000 year old fish/ape creature that is presumably a slight play on 'The Creature From the Black Lagoon' (1954). This guy is easily the best looking of the bunch visually, his slippery scaly skin glistens perfectly in ever scene. 'Insectosaurus' which is pretty obviously a homage to Godzilla (1954) and the various gigantic monsters of that specific universe. A massive grub that simply roars a lot and can shoot out silk.

And of course as said already the main female heroine character who has grown to humongous proportions is presumably a homage to 'Attack of the 50 Foot Woman' (1958). The villain in this adventure is a multi-eyed alien called 'Gallaxhar' (sounds like a retro space shooter videogame). He has a big oblong shaped head and lots of tentacles for legs, looks a bit like a squid. This guy I believe is merely a generic combination of ideas gathered from various 50's sci-fi aliens, a classic retro design but unusually his ship isn't the cheesy shape you'd expect.

I must also mention some of the human characters too, this film relies heavily on its characters and it really doesn't disappoint. 'General Warren R. Monger' voiced by Sutherland (see his name, you get it?) is you're stereotypical gruff, buzz cut, war obsessed military leader who trusts no one (especially aliens) and is perfectly happy to let rip with an onslaught of hellfire...ask questions later. I love how Dreamworks are happy to make fun of their own nations well known bad stereotypes...the typical US cigar chomping war happy General for one.

I also loved how they again mocked themselves with the 'President Hathaway' character. A dimwitted leader who is incapable of making decisions, dishes out vague nonsensical commands and easily brainwashed by his aides. Yet at the same time is always trying to come across as a good man, a man of the people, keeping his ratings up and more importantly being an all round cool guy. The sequence where he plays the electronic keyboard to greet the alien visitors is by far the stupidest but funniest things I've seen for some time. I also think his look is most amusing, kinda like 'Clarke kent' but with a definite John F. Kennedy influence, he looks so American, its spot on.

The film and story on the whole is reasonable, its all based around hokey sci-fi/UFO stuff so of course its gonna be daft as hell, what do you expect. Its all suppose to be very retro, very dated and downright hammy. Its easy to see what they were going for, right down to the Godzilla-like sequence at the Golden Gate Bridge, there had to be some classic giant monster stomping destruction porn come on!. I also loved that giant cycloptic robot probe that lands, loved the design of it, so simple yet so memorable.

It does start off pretty slow I can't deny, the story of 'Susan Murphy' ('Ginormica') is at first rather dull. Plus I gotta say the visuals are kinda bland at first too, its only when she's taken to the secret military base that things get going. From there on it just gets better and better, but admittedly the film is held together by the fantastic characters, without them it could of been nasty.

The only weak link in the film for me was actually the main character voiced by the annoying Reese Witherspoon, couldn't care a less about that character. Take her out and you'd still have a cool working film, but I guess you need a proper human element in that creature squad. Everything else was awesome!.

The idea behind this isn't exactly original of course, we've been getting lots of hokey sci-fi homage flicks recently, ditto fantasy and comic book, realistic and parodies. I guess this is kinda like 'Hotel Transylvania' but with classic sci-fi characters teamed up instead of classic horror characters. I thought it would be crappy but it turned out to be a brilliantly fun animated adventure.
ScoopOnline
ScoopOnline

Super Reviewer

March 23, 2009
Absolutely Awesome Movie. I can only recommend it.

I dont know many have some troubles with this Movie, but I think it was friggin Funny specially the Bit when the "President of United States" playing that Beverly Hill Sound. Some scenes were spoofed from great Alien Classics, what was actually much funnier, there is what I dont understand why many Folks have troubles with it. It was another kind of "Alien" Animation.
Jens S

Super Reviewer

March 31, 2009
Enjoyable, though not very inventive computer animated adventure for all ages. Adults should have the most fun with the many movie references from the Sci-ci genre, kids will enjoy the lovable characters. While the movie is entertaining and fun at all times, it's not exactly packed with gags. The action sequences are great, though. The Golden Gate Bridge didn't see that much havoc since the X-Men dropped by. As 3D film it doesn't make use of the whole range of opportunities of that feature but is still worth a visit. I may have expected a little more, but especially kids should have a lot of fun with this.
thmtsang
thmtsang

Super Reviewer

March 28, 2009
Susan is supposed to get married to Derek but gets hit by a meteor at the church. She becomes enormous and strong. The government take her to area 52 where she meets other monsters. The monsters are set free to save San Francisco from alien invasion, hence the name monsters v aliens. Good original animation. Cute characters. My favourite scenes are of the president when he nearly launches missiles when he just wanted a coffee. Also the scene where he plays the keyboard to the communicate with the aliens. My fave character is Bob, voiced by Seth Rogan.
Dean !

Super Reviewer

December 27, 2011
A fun enough animation comedy from Pixar. It's not quite up there with some of their greats, but still entertaining for younger kids.
Thomas J

Super Reviewer

April 11, 2009
This one just did not register with me! Entertaining, but just not much more for me.
Directors Cat
Directors Cat

Super Reviewer

August 16, 2011
The films storyline doesn't go deep but it is full of action and it's visually stunning. The voice acting is ok but to be honest I never found the film hilarious but it had enough moments to entertain me.
Shawn E

Super Reviewer

May 22, 2011
The characters are likable and the dialog is sometimes funny, but this film is severely lacking especially in original content.
DreamExtractor
DreamExtractor

Super Reviewer

March 2, 2011
Hilarious and smart, but couldve had a better and more interesting story. The characters were well thought out and cool. The plot was kind of worthless and disappointing. The animation was good, but ive seen better. The comedy was very funny, I laughed a lot.
TomBowler
TomBowler

Super Reviewer

July 31, 2009
A promising concept which doesn't deliver as fully as hoped. Full review later.
michael e.
michael e.

Super Reviewer

January 2, 2011
while its not the best movie that dreamworks has put out it still is enjoyable
Zach B

Super Reviewer

December 17, 2010
Monster Vs Aliens is a film that not only parodies the classic monster films of the B-movie era, but does a rather poor job at it. The plot is beyond unoriginal, borrowing from numerous other films, the monsters it tries to make safe and cute end up being embarrassments while they just bring shame to the viewer while insulting their intelligence. This is a film I would only recommend if you want to show kids how bad their movies are, because this is a clear example. Overall: Not Recommend.
MANUGINO
MANUGINO

Super Reviewer

March 26, 2009
Well this one was a waste of time, not funny or even interesting, plot was horrendous and the animation quite unimpressive. With voices like those this movie should have been way better. I'm very dissapointed..

A few minutes before her wedding to Derek Dietl (Paul Rudd), a TV weatherman, Susan Murphy (Reese Witherspoon) is hit by a meteorite. The meteorite is infused with quantonium, a rare and powerful element that causes her to grow -- just as she begins to recite her vows -- to an enormous size. Targeted by the government as a monster, Susan is captured and imprisoned at a secret facility where other such oddities are being held, including Dr. Cockroach (Hugh Laurie), a mad scientist who accidentally transformed himself into a roach-human hybrid; B.O.B. (Seth Rogen), a gelatinous, brainless, but talkative mass brought to life in an experiment gone wrong; the Missing Link (Will Arnett), a Creature-from-the-Black-Lagoon-like lizard man; and the skyscraper-sized mutant larva Insectosaurus. Their jailer is General W.R. Monger (Kiefer Sutherland). When deranged alien overlord Gallaxhar (Rainn Wilson) comes to Earth to obtain the precious quantonium and conquer the world, U.S. President Hathaway (Stephen Colbert) offers the monsters their freedom in exchange for defeating the evil mastermind. They're turned loose in San Francisco and Gallaxhar's giant robot quickly fixates on Susan. It corners her on the Golden Gate Bridge. Thanks largely to Susan's amazing strength and determination to keep anyone from being hurt, the monsters are able to destroy the robot. Susan takes her monster friends to visit her parents, but they frighten all the neighbors at the backyard barbecue. Derek doesn't attend. When Susan seeks him out, he breaks up with her; it's apparent that all he cares about is his career, and he doesn't think a 50-foot wife will help him move into larger markets. Susan quickly realizes that she's better off without Derek, and that she likes her new self, her new abilities, and her new friends. She rejoins the other monsters only to be snatched up into Gallaxhar's spaceship. Insectosaurus is felled when it tries to help her. Despite Susan's brief escape and determined resistance, Gallaxhar extracts the quantonium from Susan's body and she returns to her original dimensions. The quantonium is key to Gallaxhar's evil plan to take over the world: it enables him to create legions of clones, who march around in formation saying "Hail Gallaxhar!" Meanwhile, the surviving monsters have snuck aboard to help Susan. They send the ship into self-destruct mode. Only Susan makes it out of the engine room before the doors close; Dr. Cockroach, B.O.B., and the Missing Link, stuck inside, insist that she escape without them. But Susan is made of tougher stuff than that; she goes back to Gallaxhar and tries to make him abort the self-destruct and release her friends. When Gallaxhar tries to escape, Susan regains possession of the quantonium and becomes a giant again. After she frees her friends, they're all rescued from the self-destructing ship by General Monger and Insectosaurus, who wasn't dead after all -- just busy metamorphosing into a moth the size of a 747. Before Susan and the monster squad are called away to save another day, there's a big celebration during which Derek tries to interview Susan. She spurns him and allows B.O.B. to swallow him and spit him out, a career-killing moment that Susan makes sure will be caught on camera.
Lady D

Super Reviewer

March 7, 2009
Ironically I'm not a huge fan of Mars Attacks, and yet this film is very similar, but animated it's much more entertaining.

I love how kids movies do these 'not so subtle morals' in their storylines.

This one is definitely one to watch a few times.
Richard C

Super Reviewer

July 23, 2010
B
Alexis N

Super Reviewer

July 8, 2010
i love movies that show bay area landmarks. it was cute, funny and all the characters are just so darn lovable.
Movie Monster
Movie Monster

Super Reviewer

June 15, 2010
MVA was the first movie I saw in digital 3D. I was wowed by the new 3D technology but what about the story? It was an OK story. It could've been better but it was fine the way it was. When I first heard of it, I thought it was going to be Dreamwork's rip-off on Monsters Inc mixed with aliens. Good thing it wasn't and I was proved wrong. The humor and gags are good. Mostly the ones from B.O.B., a brainless blob of goo played by Seth Rogen. Fun movie to watch! See it!
ajaymuthecooldevils
ajaymuthecooldevils

Super Reviewer

April 19, 2009
Well, to be honest Dreamworks once again left me disappointed after watching this movie... All the good reviews that people wrote and good laughs they had, it just not working for me... The idea was kinda ridiculous, but I'm through with that because I thought this movie would be hilarious... But after about 90 minutes, I was totally disappointed for wasting my time by watching a movie like this... It wasn't funny, maybe some scenes made me laugh, but the most times I didn't enjoy it... Yet the great cast they have here wasn't totally helpful at all because people wouldn't know Susie was voiced by Reese Witherspoon if they hadn't write Witherspoon name on it... Overall, It's basically not my type, even for an animation movie... Yet this movie couldn't be rated PG because of some material inside it just made kids get more daydreaming about monsters or aliens... But I'm glad hearing the news that Dreamworks wouldn't go for this movie sequel, because this movie is not totally worth for it...
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

May 24, 2010
Good fun, not quite as good as Bee Movie or Kung Fu Panda due to there being less laughs but I thought they spoofed the classic 1950's Alien-attack type B-Movie rather well. Give me this over Shrek any day of the week!
Page 1 of 1383
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile