Monty Python's Life of Brian Reviews

Page 3 of 553
½ November 28, 2014
92%
Watched this on 28/11/14
What a film, oh what a film!!! It's so good to see Religion mocked and not just that, I haven't laughed like this in ages. This reminds me of the American Pie days. This film is so satirical that it mocks literally every one, from Jesus to Romans, from the common folk of Rome to the Judas of Jerusalem, who are so blinded by stupidity that they believe anyone's god. It's a great great movie, never laughed like this anywhere before. Also it's got porn, oh yeah it has. The visual effects( Terry Gilliam), sets and direction(Terry Jones) are all marvelous.
½ November 23, 2014
This is one of those movies you can always watch & again just for the laughs. "Romani Ite domum" --classic!
November 11, 2014
Review In A Nutshell:

Comedy is a tricky thing to achieve, as each individual develops their own brand and sensitivities of humour. From the age of 9, I was mainly introduced by the slapstick and childish humour of Adam Sandler and friends, which is why I cannot completely dismiss those films as complete garbage due to the nostalgia factor. As I grew, my comedic tastes have becomes more fine-tuned and become more appreciative of the intelligent and artistic intentions of the writers and actors behind their craft; but in saying that, I am still anchored by the sensibilities of my foundations.

Many consider Life of Brian to be a risky and offensive film, but in all honesty, the film does not even take any jabs at Christianity or other religion in its chosen time period. The film instead pokes fun at the life, values and culture of humanity during that period in time; this allowed the film to become more intelligent in its humour, as it would have been too easy to just simply create a satire on Jesus and his life. This approach also allows the film to raise and tackle more original and thought provoking ideas and themes, standing out shining from its peers. What drew me in and kept me entertained, was the film's ability to make fun of the Romans and keeping its perspective completely grounded on the citizens of Judea; the writers could have followed members of the Roman Empire and showed the stupidity of their values through poor and idiotic decision making.

Though the film takes bold and unique steps in its satire, it lacks the comedic punch needed in a couple of its key scenes. Some moments felt overly long and characters sometimes show desperation in their comedic execution, allowing the material to suffer rather than flourish. I know it sounds pretentious of me, but Life of Brian could have used some character development throughout his journey. The film concludes with a song that actually packs a philosophical punch in its lyrics and wraps the film's larger ideas; but in regards to the character Brian, I never got a conclusion that justifies the importance of his story.

Boldness and intelligent satire define Life of Brian but issues found in the film's screenplay, prevented the film from being an amazing comedy. Though I was let down with this film, I still possess hope in Monty Python's other films.
August 10, 2014
A pointless retelling of the story of Christ, with Python's usual zaniness exchanged for weak recurring jokes.
½ October 5, 2014
Has some off moments, but the on moments are just the best.
"Crucifixion? Good."
September 23, 2014
When people discuss the greatest movies ever made, it is my view that they must either state that they are excluding comedies, or mention this film somewhere within the discussion. That's how important to the history of film I think this controversial, irreverent laugh-a-minute film truly.

The Monty Python comedy troupe tell the story of a young lad in Nazereth named Brian. Born under a bright star in a manger, Brian is visited at birth by Three Wise Men, bearing gifts of gold, frankenscence and myrhh, which are happily accepted by Brian's mother (although no-one quite knew what the myrhh was). Then, the Wise Men realize the Messiah was born next door. Hence begins the life of Brian. We follow his life as he joins the People's Front of Judea - a left-wing anarchist movement opposed to Roman occupation, and gets into hijinks that make people believe he is the Son of God. Despite Brian's complaints.

The film stars the entire Monty Python troupe - Graham Chapman, John Cleese, Michael Palin, Eric Idle, Terry Jones and Terry Gilliam - alongside guest stars Susan Jones, Neil Innes, Carol Cleveland, Spike Milligan and producer George Harrison in a cameo (George Harrison reportedly financed this entire movie by mortgaging his house. When questioned by his wife, George responded "I want to see the film".) The cast is a funny, nonsensical and silly as you'd expect from a Monty Python film.

It touted controversy as "the film that mocked Jesus", but this film makes it very clear that Jesus is a different person (who is even seen performing his Sermon on the Mount in the "Blessed are the Cheesemakers" skit). What's left in a mirror into the role of religion in life, and a hilarious one at that. Nothing is sacred with the Pythons, and this is the group's magnum opus - with all due respect to the Holy Grail of course.

A glowing 5 star rating for this masterpiece.
January 5, 2011
First time when I watched Monty Python & the holy grail, I wasn't really convinced. But this kind of humour slowly grows on you. I love it now! And I loved Life of Brain! It's timelessly funny, as wacky & cheeky as it can get and doesn't end abruptly.
½ June 30, 2014
freakishly smart and funny, this satire got me at those grammar Romans
Super Reviewer
June 8, 2010
Yeah, it really is the best Python film . . . and one of the greatest comedies of all time. There's obviously the usual ridiculousness, but the film is also insightful in the way it mocks dogma and ideology.
August 16, 2014
One of the Most Irreverent, Sacrilegious & Significant Movies of Religion & Theology of All Time ! ! !
August 3, 2014
Hilarious some scenes are so memorable
August 1, 2014
Wonderful nonsense. I particularly love the bit with the spaceship.
½ July 30, 2014
Always look on the bright side of life...
April 4, 2013
I was incredibly surprised at how clever and funny this ancient comedy is. The quality is frightening.
½ July 16, 2014
Woah. This is not for the easily offended. That's about all I can say for this one!
June 8, 2007
Pretty funny. Great Monty Python
½ July 14, 2014
I get the sense that this movie is what it is, but i couldnt watch it to the end. Nothing against old movies, but after the modern day standards that i get used to its just horrible to watch
July 13, 2014
Monty Python is The King of Smart Comedy.
March 31, 2012
Hellarious! Raunchiness makes a better Monty Python movie!
June 30, 2014
There is some brilliantly clever writing and acting going on here, but Life of Brian spends more time pushing the envelope than it does ensuring a cohesive narrative.
Page 3 of 553