• PG-13, 1 hr. 26 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    David Zucker
    In Theaters:
    Aug 22, 2003 Wide
    On DVD:
    Feb 3, 2004
  • Miramax Films

Opening

43% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For Aug 22
34% If I Stay Aug 22
30% When The Game Stands Tall Aug 22
4% Are You Here Aug 22
97% Love Is Strange Aug 22

Top Box Office

21% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $28.5M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $25.1M
14% Let's Be Cops $17.8M
35% The Expendables 3 $15.9M
31% The Giver $12.3M
20% Into The Storm $7.9M
66% The Hundred-Foot Journey $7.2M
64% Lucy $5.5M
41% Step Up: All In $2.7M
62% Hercules $2.1M

Coming Soon

0% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
—— As Above/So Below Aug 29
85% The Congress Aug 29
—— The Calling Aug 29

New Episodes Tonight

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
88% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
95% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
57% Legends: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
100% Suits: Season 4
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
88% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
86% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

My Boss's Daughter Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Scott Tobias
AV Club
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The only real physical comedy in My Boss's Daughter comes from Zucker, Dorfman, and Kutcher stumbling over each other, but it's unlikely anyone will laugh.

Full Review Source: AV Club

July 22, 2014
M. K. Terrell
Christian Science Monitor

The real disaster is the slapstick-ridden script, which a great supporting cast is powerless to salvage.

Full Review Source: Christian Science Monitor | Original Score: 1/4

July 22, 2014
John Wooley
Tulsa World

A pretty good cast and a pretty good director are pretty much wasted in My Boss's Daughter.

Full Review Source: Tulsa World | Original Score: 1.5/4

July 22, 2014
Erin Podolsky
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)

My Boss's Daughter is a stinker from start to endless finish.

Full Review Source: Metro Times (Detroit, MI) | Original Score: 0.5/5

July 22, 2014
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media

Kutcher comedy is crude, offensive, and all-around bad.

Full Review Source: Common Sense Media | Original Score: 1/5

December 26, 2010
Robert Koehler
Variety
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Comedy's cardinal rule is never make it look hard, but that wisdom is ignored in My Boss's Daughter.

Full Review Source: Variety

March 26, 2009
Mark Halverson
Sacramento News & Review

The direction of David Zucker is as uninspired and numbing as the script.

Full Review Source: Sacramento News & Review | Original Score: 1/5

August 7, 2008
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I believe in a movie's right to die.

Full Review Source: Chicago Reader

March 7, 2007
Ben Nuckols
Associated Press
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The spectacularly unfunny supporting cast -- including Dave Foley, Jeffrey Tambor and David Koechner -- doesn't help either. But luckily Kutcher is there to try to clean up the mess.

Full Review Source: Associated Press

March 7, 2007
Nick Schager
Lessons of Darkness

Few films are as consistently pathetic.

Full Review Source: Lessons of Darkness | Original Score: D-

May 4, 2005
Tony Medley
tonymedley.com

I don't rate this at the bottom of the barrel because the film does have a few funny moments. But I wouldn't recommend it to anyone with the slightest inclination to good taste.

Full Review Source: tonymedley.com | Original Score: 2/10

October 7, 2004
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews

...not as bad as you might think...

Full Review Source: Reel Film Reviews | Original Score: 2.5/4

August 21, 2004
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile

This cute and often surprising comedy is a brazen bid to clone Meet The Parents and it succeeds beyond this reviewer's worst fears.

Full Review Source: Urban Cinefile

July 24, 2004
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis

Kutcher and Reid not only don't light up the screen, they put out the candles.

Full Review Source: Movie Metropolis | Original Score: 3/10

February 15, 2004
April Greene
Boston Herald

Ashton Kutcher and Tara Reid belong on magazine covers. In John Zucker's My Boss's Daughter, however, the fetching pair are plucked from their natural habitat and forced to attempt acting.

Full Review Source: Boston Herald | Original Score: 0.5/4

February 4, 2004
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star

Some of the worst acting in a movie in 2003.

| Original Score: 1/4

January 30, 2004
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons

The simple premise pushes credibility beyond breaking point as ridiculous situations increase in number and size.

Full Review Source: Dark Horizons | Original Score: 1/5

November 16, 2003
Dan Marcucci and Nancy Serougi
Broomfield Enterprise

It should have been called "My Boss's House" because there was very little focus on the boss's hot daughter.

Full Review

November 2, 2003
Kamal 'The Diva' Larsuel
3BlackChicks Review

Avoid it like the plague.

Full Review Source: 3BlackChicks Review | Original Score: 1/5

September 23, 2003
Brooke Holgerson
Boston Phoenix

It could have been worse, but not much. Long-delayed and much feared, My Boss's Daughter is at times painfully unfunny.

Full Review Source: Boston Phoenix

September 13, 2003
Page 1 of 4
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile