Opening

97% Ghostbusters Aug 29
25% As Above/So Below Aug 29
36% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
74% The Congress Aug 29

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.2M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $16.7M
38% If I Stay $15.7M
20% Let's Be Cops $10.8M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $8.4M
34% The Expendables 3 $6.5M
32% The Giver $6.4M
46% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For $6.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $5.3M
20% Into The Storm $3.8M

Coming Soon

—— Innocence Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
—— The Identical Sep 05
67% The House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05

Premieres Tonight

88% The Cosmopolitans: Season One

New Episodes Tonight

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
58% Legends: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

My Country, My Country Reviews

Bill Stamets
Chicago Sun-Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A compelling report.

Full Review Source: Chicago Sun-Times | Original Score: 3/4

October 13, 2006
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A memorable portrait of a nation's growing pains.

Full Review Source: Chicago Tribune | Original Score: 2.5/4

October 12, 2006

Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Top Critic IconTop Critic
September 30, 2006
Jeff Shannon
Seattle Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

In 90 captivating minutes, Laura Poitras' extraordinary documentary My Country, My Country gives you a greater understanding of the situation in Iraq than you'd get from 100 hours of Fox News or CNN.

Full Review Source: Seattle Times | Original Score: 3.5/4

September 29, 2006
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

What My Country, My Country does best is show us that while both the Americans and the Iraqis care about the country's future, their cultural backgrounds and world views inevitably make them seem alien to each other.

Full Review Source: Los Angeles Times | Original Score: 3.5/5

September 15, 2006
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Remarkable.

Full Review Source: L.A. Weekly

September 14, 2006
Walter V. Addiego
San Francisco Chronicle
Top Critic IconTop Critic

... sobering documentary ...

Full Review Source: San Francisco Chronicle | Original Score: 3/4

September 8, 2006
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The movie attempts to paint too large a canvas.

Full Review Source: Washington Post

September 1, 2006
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Though the events have a rambling overfamiliarity, there's a real story between the lines: the resentment over the U.S. occupation on the part of non-insurgent Iraqis.

Full Review Source: Entertainment Weekly | Original Score: B-

August 9, 2006
Scott Tobias
AV Club
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Quietly damning.

Full Review Source: AV Club | Original Score: B

August 5, 2006
Jeannette Catsoulis
New York Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

From its plaintive title to its melancholy soundtrack, My Country, My Country is an appropriately mournful look at the chaos of Iraq under American occupation.

| Original Score: 3.5/5

August 4, 2006
Kyle Smith
New York Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Often, the film is muddled -- it isn't until the second half that the doctor who is the main subject is revealed to be a Sunni who considers the people who blow up schools and police stations to be 'the resistance.'

| Original Score: 2/4

August 4, 2006
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Hard to watch but important to see, this compassionate documentary tracks the considerable travails of Iraqis living under U.S. occupation.

Full Review Source: New York Daily News | Original Score: 3/4

August 4, 2006
Derek Elley
Variety
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A still-timely, quietly hard-hitting look at the Iraqi situation.

Full Review Source: Variety

August 3, 2006
Gene Seymour
Newsday
Top Critic IconTop Critic

My Country, My Country chronicles events leading to the January 2005 Iraq elections with such breadth and detail that it almost feels as if they're being revealed for the first time.

Full Review Source: Newsday | Original Score: 3.5/4

August 3, 2006
Michael Atkinson
Village Voice
Top Critic IconTop Critic

... easily the most valuable piece of film to emerge about the war in all of its three-plus years.

Full Review Source: Village Voice

August 2, 2006
Frank Scheck
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Laura Poitras' illuminating documentary provides a vivid picture of the events surrounding the January 2005 Iraqi election.

April 11, 2006
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile