My Darling Clementine - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Darling Clementine Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Donald J. Levit
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
April 29, 2016
If less than its outsized reputation, this Western is still a fun view, particularly in Joe MacDonald's austere camerawork in Monument Valley.
Ian Mantagni
The Skinny
September 1, 2015
Simple in its storytelling while transcendent as a poem of rhythms, bonds and values.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
October 30, 2014
generally considered the Wyatt Earp film against which all others are judged
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Scott Tobias
The Dissolve
October 13, 2014
Ford the mythmaker was at the height of his powers in 1946's My Darling Clementine, but it's a remarkably relaxed and assured piece of work.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Top Critic
Joshua Rothkopf
Time Out
January 21, 2014
If ever there was a gateway drug to the happy addiction of Hollywood oaters, this is it.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Matthew Connolly
Slant Magazine
January 21, 2014
The film subtly complicates viewer expectations early on, eschewing clear-cut character rivalries in favor of more complex emotional and social configurations.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
October 27, 2008
Launched the series of masterpieces in the late '40s and 1950s that forever after defined [Ford] as the greatest director of Westerns in history,
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
November 30, 2007
John Ford's last film as a contract director for Fox is a perfect western.
| Original Score: 5/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
September 13, 2007
The quintessential Wyatt Earp movie and one of the greatest westerns ever filmed.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Douglas Pratt
DVDLaser
June 14, 2007
The first couple of times we saw My Darling Clementine on the late show we watched the beginning, fell asleep in the middle, woke up at the end, and thought we had sat through one of the best films we had ever seen. Then we finally forced ourselves to sta
| Original Score: 3/5
Dan Lybarger
Nitrate Online
October 16, 2005
Vintage John Ford.
| Original Score: 5/5
Steven D. Greydanus
Decent Films Guide
April 4, 2005
That the title mentions neither Earp nor the O.K. Corral is an indication of the lightness with which Clementine carries the legendary baggage of its subject matter.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
March 7, 2005
May be John Ford's most achingly beautiful Western.
Steve Crum
Kansas City Kansan
October 19, 2004
Wonderful, moving John Ford true classic western
| Original Score: 5/5
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
June 12, 2004
Gorgeous!
| Original Score: 5/5
Bill Chambers
Film Freak Central
May 2, 2004
I haven't seen a better docudrama about Wyatt Earp, but on the other hand, the venerated lawman has yet to be the subject of a masterpiece
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
January 21, 2004
The best Western John Ford ever made without John Wayne on board.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
January 19, 2004
One of the great American films: a romance about the tug between savagery and civilization that continues to define this country.
Matt Bailey
Not Coming to a Theater Near You
January 17, 2004
There is no clearer distillation of Ford's visual style, thematic concerns, manner of storytelling, and development of character than My Darling Clementine.
Doug Hennessy
Filmcritic.com
January 9, 2004
The reason My Darling Clementine never seems to stray or lose focus is Henry Fonda
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 2