My Darling Clementine Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
June 4, 2003
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
My Darling Clementine must be one of the sweetest and most good-hearted of all Westerns.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Matthew Connolly
Slant Magazine
January 21, 2014
The film subtly complicates viewer expectations early on, eschewing clear-cut character rivalries in favor of more complex emotional and social configurations.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
October 27, 2008
Launched the series of masterpieces in the late '40s and 1950s that forever after defined [Ford] as the greatest director of Westerns in history,
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
November 30, 2007
John Ford's last film as a contract director for Fox is a perfect western.
| Original Score: 5/5
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
March 7, 2005
May be John Ford's most achingly beautiful Western.
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
December 24, 2003
...a relatively laid-back, almost poetic vision of the Old West, its characters and characterizations outshining its well-worn plot.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
June 12, 2004
Gorgeous!
| Original Score: 5/5
Dan Lybarger
Nitrate Online
October 16, 2005
Vintage John Ford.
| Original Score: 5/5
Susan Granger
www.susangranger.com
July 27, 2007
| Original Score: 4/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
September 13, 2007
The quintessential Wyatt Earp movie and one of the greatest westerns ever filmed.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Carol Cling
Las Vegas Review-Journal
July 2, 2004
| Original Score: 5/5
Douglas Pratt
DVDLaser
June 14, 2007
The first couple of times we saw My Darling Clementine on the late show we watched the beginning, fell asleep in the middle, woke up at the end, and thought we had sat through one of the best films we had ever seen. Then we finally forced ourselves to sta
| Original Score: 3/5
Doug Hennessy
Filmcritic.com
January 9, 2004
The reason My Darling Clementine never seems to stray or lose focus is Henry Fonda
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Steve Crum
Kansas City Kansan
October 19, 2004
Wonderful, moving John Ford true classic western
| Original Score: 5/5
Matt Bailey
Not Coming to a Theater Near You
January 17, 2004
There is no clearer distillation of Ford's visual style, thematic concerns, manner of storytelling, and development of character than My Darling Clementine.
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
January 19, 2004
One of the great American films: a romance about the tug between savagery and civilization that continues to define this country.
Top Critic
Joshua Rothkopf
Time Out
January 21, 2014
If ever there was a gateway drug to the happy addiction of Hollywood oaters, this is it.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
January 21, 2004
The best Western John Ford ever made without John Wayne on board.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Steven D. Greydanus
Decent Films Guide
April 4, 2005
That the title mentions neither Earp nor the O.K. Corral is an indication of the lightness with which Clementine carries the legendary baggage of its subject matter.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
Derek Adams
Time Out
June 24, 2006
Top Critic
Bosley Crowther
New York Times
May 20, 2003
Top Critic
David Ansen
Newsweek
May 12, 2008
Top Critic

Variety
August 26, 2008
Page 1 of 2