Opening

97% Ghostbusters Aug 29
25% As Above/So Below Aug 29
35% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
74% The Congress Aug 29

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.2M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $16.7M
38% If I Stay $15.7M
20% Let's Be Cops $10.8M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $8.4M
34% The Expendables 3 $6.5M
32% The Giver $6.4M
46% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For $6.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $5.3M
20% Into The Storm $3.8M

Coming Soon

—— Innocence Sep 05
—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% The House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05

Premieres Tonight

88% The Cosmopolitans: Season One

New Episodes Tonight

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
58% Legends: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

My Fellow Americans Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Stephen Hunter
Baltimore Sun

If My Fellow Americans had ever decided which movie it wanted to be, it might have been pretty good. As it is, the good half and the bad half all but cancel each other out.

Full Review Source: Baltimore Sun | Original Score: 2.5/4

October 22, 2013
Desmond Ryan
Philadelphia Inquirer
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Using talent of this order on a script this weak, along with merely decorative appearances by the likes of Lauren Bacall and Wilford Brimley, amounts to the Hollywood equivalent of government waste.

Full Review Source: Philadelphia Inquirer | Original Score: 2/4

October 22, 2013
Gary Thompson
Philadelphia Daily News

If only movies could be impeached.

Full Review Source: Philadelphia Daily News | Original Score: 1/4

October 22, 2013
Roger Hurlburt
South Florida Sun-Sentinel

Mostly, My Fellow Americans is solidly written, offbeat entertainment well-served by the fine leads, clever casting of supporting roles and a script that holds together, even through a less-than-stellar finale.

Full Review Source: South Florida Sun-Sentinel

October 22, 2013
Jay Boyar
Orlando Sentinel
Top Critic IconTop Critic

As political satire, My Fellow Americans makes a poor candidate.

Full Review Source: Orlando Sentinel | Original Score: 2/5

October 22, 2013

TV Guide's Movie Guide

The surprise of this comedy... is how sharply written it is -- almost sharply enough to overcome the crude direction that grotesquely overemphasizes the picture's inevitable sentimental interludes.

Full Review Source: TV Guide's Movie Guide | Original Score: 2/4

October 22, 2013
Dave Kehr
New York Daily News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Yes, it's Grumpy Old Presidents, in which most of the comedy comes from the supposed shock of hearing two senior citizens cursing at each other in terms Beavis and Butt-head would find inelegant.

Full Review Source: New York Daily News | Original Score: 2/4

October 22, 2013
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I'd cheerfully vote the writers, director and producers of My Fellow Americans out of office.

Full Review Source: Wall Street Journal

October 22, 2013
Jake Hamilton
Empire Magazine

Okay, so it's Midnight Run meets All The President's Men, but the Lemmon-Garner rapport is dynamite and the glittering support cast of Lauren Bacall, Dan Aykroyd and John Heard are given sparkling dialogue.

Full Review Source: Empire Magazine | Original Score: 4/5

October 22, 2013
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The movie suggests we get the government we deserve, but do we really deserve this movie?

Full Review Source: Chicago Tribune | Original Score: 2/4

October 22, 2013
John Hartl
Seattle Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

It takes a special actor's grace to survive a script as lame as My Fellow Americans, and James Garner has it. Without appearing to break a sweat, Garner makes each grotesquely desperate attempt at humor look smooth and assured.

Full Review Source: Seattle Times | Original Score: 2/4

October 22, 2013
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
Top Critic IconTop Critic

An appalling piece of junk.

Full Review Source: Chicago Reader

October 22, 2013
David Sterritt
Christian Science Monitor

Peter Segal's comedy has a few witty moments surrounded by a lot of silliness.

Full Review Source: Christian Science Monitor

October 22, 2013
Stephen Thompson
AV Club
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Garner and Jack Lemmon have enough charisma, and there are enough solid laughs, to mostly overcome My Fellow Americans' embarrassing moments and improbable ending.

Full Review Source: AV Club

October 22, 2013
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Enthusiastic as one might be that Jack Lemmon has found a new lease on movie life with his Grumpy Old Men series, the funny-crankpots genre wears mighty thin on this road trip.

Full Review Source: Entertainment Weekly | Original Score: C-

September 7, 2011
Scott Weinberg
eFilmCritic.com

Strained and obvious political comedy that wastes some really great actors.

| Original Score: 2/5

April 3, 2005
Alex Sandell
Juicy Cerebellum

Garner and Lemmon's chemistry save the film.

| Original Score: 3/5

July 16, 2003
Stephen Holden
New York Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Mr. Lemmon and Mr. Garner are such pros that they carry the movie smoothly over its dull patches.

Full Review Source: New York Times | Original Score: 3/5

May 20, 2003
Jim Shelby
Palo Alto Weekly

It's a buddy film. It's a conspiracy thriller. It's a political parody. What it isn't is a particularly funny movie.

Full Review Source: Palo Alto Weekly | Original Score: 2/4

May 20, 2003
Widgett Walls
Needcoffee.com

Watch two grandmasters of comic timing snipe at each other for the length of a feature? Sure, where do I sign up?

| Original Score: 4/5

January 11, 2003
Page 1 of 3
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile