My Life to Live (It's My Life) (Vivre sa vie: Film en douze tableaux) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Life to Live (It's My Life) (Vivre sa vie: Film en douze tableaux) Reviews

Top Critic
Ben Kenigsberg
Time Out
November 18, 2011
Top Critic
David Fear
Time Out
November 17, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
November 13, 2008
Godard frames and edits his shots, moves the camera, uses music, and deploys his actors in ways that still seem radical -- even as several generations of directors since have cribbed and stolen from him.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Variety Staff
August 11, 2008
Godard mixes titles, unusual use of sound, and long scenes of dialog. He is brilliantly served by his wife, Anna Karina, in this film. Karina gives the girl a ring of truth and depth.
Top Critic
Nick Pinkerton
Village Voice
May 27, 2008
Star Anna Karina was in the brutal early rounds of marriage to her director, who was never more doting and egghead-condescending than in this showpiece.
Top Critic
Dave Kehr
Chicago Reader
October 24, 2007
This 1962 film isn't the most stimulating of Godard's early work, but it does show him beginning to pull away from traditional cutting patterns and sequence arrangement.
Top Critic
Tom Milne
Time Out
January 26, 2006
Twelve Brechtian tableaux chronicle the life and death of a whore, starting out as a documentary on prostitution, ending as a Monogram B movie.
Top Critic
Bosley Crowther
New York Times
May 9, 2005
Mr. Godard is a bold experimenter, but it's time he picked himself a stronger theme.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
April 11, 2001
This is a great movie, and I am not surprised to find Susan Sontag describing it as 'one of the most extraordinary, beautiful, and original works of art that I know of.'
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4