• R, 1 hr. 46 min.
  • Drama, Romance
  • Directed By:
    Isabel Coixet
    In Theaters:
    Sep 26, 2003 Limited
    On DVD:
    Feb 24, 2004
  • Sony Pictures Classics

Movies Like My Life Without Me

Opening

96% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes Jul 11
100% Boyhood Jul 11
9% Rage Jul 11
25% A Long Way Down Jul 11
—— The Class Of '92 Jul 08

Top Box Office

17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $37.1M
24% Tammy $21.6M
85% 22 Jump Street $9.8M
31% Deliver Us from Evil $9.7M
92% How to Train Your Dragon 2 $9.0M
48% Earth to Echo $8.4M
49% Maleficent $6.2M
53% Jersey Boys $5.2M
24% Think Like a Man Too $4.9M
90% Edge of Tomorrow $3.7M

Coming Soon

—— The Purge: Anarchy Jul 18
—— Sex Tape Jul 18
—— Hercules Jul 25
—— Lucy Jul 25
—— Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01

Premieres Tonight

85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
44% Working the Engels: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

25% Black Box: Season 1
100% Defiance: Season 2
40% Dominion: Season 1
41% Gang Related: Season 1
86% Maron: Season 2
94% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
50% Jennifer Falls: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
—— Rogue: Season 2
100% Suits: Season 4
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
—— Wilfred: Season 4
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

My Life Without Me Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed

Polley gives an outstanding performance...

Full Review Source: Cinema Crazed

April 29, 2009
Boyd van Hoeij
european-films.net

A gigantically amoral cliche of a film.

Full Review Source: european-films.net

April 1, 2007
David Grove
Film Threat

Fascinating.

Full Review Source: Film Threat | Original Score: 3.5/5

December 6, 2005
Sarah Kaufman
Washington Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic

My Life Without Me is not a gentle film. Insistent and unforgettable, it wounds on the inside, and the scars feel fresh for some time.

Full Review Source: Washington Post

September 26, 2005
Enrique Buchichio
Uruguay Total

(...) Una de las películas más hermosas que se hayan filmado sobre eso tan extraño y tan temido que es el tiempo que queda antes de morir.

Full Review Source: Uruguay Total | Original Score: 4/5

September 16, 2004
Pablo Villaca
Cinema em Cena

A grande força (do filme) reside na poderosa performance da jovem Sarah Polley.

Full Review Source: Cinema em Cena | Original Score: 4/5

May 14, 2004
Greg Muskewitz
eFilmCritic.com

Watching My Life Without Me is enervating. Coixet is so determined not to indulge the story's potential for sentiment that she overcompensates on the dreariness.

Full Review Source: eFilmCritic.com | Original Score: 4/5

May 10, 2004
Matt Kelemen
Las Vegas CityLife

This is a film for people who like to cry, and there's a contrived element that's inherent to the beautiful-death genre. Still, Polley is the film's saving grace...

Full Review Source: Las Vegas CityLife

March 30, 2004
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)

Plagued by phony poetic moments and self-conscious quirkiness (Maria de Medeiros appears as a braid-wearing hair stylist obsessed with Milli Vanilli...)

| Original Score: 2/4

January 19, 2004
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review

A shameless, rather dull disease-of- the-week weeper.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5

January 5, 2004
Prairie Miller
Long Island Press

Gets that messy emotional juncture between bruised torment and naked despair just right

December 31, 2003
Duane Dudek
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

It takes considerable sleight of hand, and a certain temerity, to fashion an uplifting tale about death. Yet My Life Without Me pulls it off.

| Original Score: 3/4

December 11, 2003
Cynthia Fuchs
PopMatters

My Life Without Me thematizes the perennial problem of identifying with characters.

Full Review Source: PopMatters

December 5, 2003
Tom Grealis
RTE Interactive (Dublin, Ireland)

a warm, melting analysis of life through the cold eye of death.

Full Review Source: RTE Interactive (Dublin, Ireland)

December 2, 2003
Randy Cordova
Arizona Republic
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Coixet doesn't make her lead character compelling, or likable.

| Original Score: 2/5

November 28, 2003
Gary Thompson
Philadelphia Daily News

It's not likely the viewer will get much from these experiences, either, altough the movie does have an ear for the mordantly funny line.

November 21, 2003
Tom Long
Detroit News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

My Life Without Me only has one way to go, and it makes some dippy turns getting there. But Polley makes the trip worth it.

| Original Score: B-

November 21, 2003
Terry Lawson
Detroit Free Press
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A good example of how Polley elevates nearly everything in which she appears.

Full Review Source: Detroit Free Press | Original Score: 3/4

November 21, 2003
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Polley's performance is pitch-perfect, and that the world described herein -- glazed with humor as well as melancholy -- is devoid of phony sentiment.

| Original Score: 3/4

November 20, 2003
Sean Means
Salt Lake Tribune

Ann's melodramatic take on death is, in the end, selfish and cruel to those she loves.

Full Review Source: Salt Lake Tribune | Original Score: 2.5/4

November 14, 2003
Page 1 of 6
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile