My Life Without Me Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 29, 2009
Polley gives an outstanding performance...

Empire Magazine
December 30, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
David Grove
Film Threat
December 6, 2005
Fascinating.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Sarah Kaufman
Washington Post
September 26, 2005
My Life Without Me is not a gentle film. Insistent and unforgettable, it wounds on the inside, and the scars feel fresh for some time.
Enrique Buchichio
Uruguay Total
September 16, 2004
(...) Una de las películas más hermosas que se hayan filmado sobre eso tan extraño y tan temido que es el tiempo que queda antes de morir.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Pablo Villaca
Cinema em Cena
May 14, 2004
A grande força (do filme) reside na poderosa performance da jovem Sarah Polley.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Greg Muskewitz
eFilmCritic.com
May 10, 2004
Watching My Life Without Me is enervating. Coixet is so determined not to indulge the story's potential for sentiment that she overcompensates on the dreariness.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Matt Kelemen
Las Vegas CityLife
March 30, 2004
This is a film for people who like to cry, and there's a contrived element that's inherent to the beautiful-death genre. Still, Polley is the film's saving grace...
Prairie Miller
Long Island Press
December 31, 2003
Gets that messy emotional juncture between bruised torment and naked despair just right
Duane Dudek
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
December 11, 2003
It takes considerable sleight of hand, and a certain temerity, to fashion an uplifting tale about death. Yet My Life Without Me pulls it off.
| Original Score: 3/4
Cynthia Fuchs
PopMatters
December 5, 2003
My Life Without Me thematizes the perennial problem of identifying with characters.
Tom Grealis
RTE Interactive (Dublin, Ireland)
December 2, 2003
a warm, melting analysis of life through the cold eye of death.
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
November 21, 2003
My Life Without Me only has one way to go, and it makes some dippy turns getting there. But Polley makes the trip worth it.
| Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Terry Lawson
Detroit Free Press
November 21, 2003
A good example of how Polley elevates nearly everything in which she appears.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
November 20, 2003
Polley's performance is pitch-perfect, and that the world described herein -- glazed with humor as well as melancholy -- is devoid of phony sentiment.
| Original Score: 3/4
Anton Bitel
Movie Gazette
November 7, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Jamie Russell
BBC.com
November 5, 2003
Coixet's dignified, heartfelt little indie drama proves that dying young doesn't always come with the schmaltz of a Julia Roberts movie. Outstanding.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
November 2, 2003
...pulls out all the stops to elicit the requisite emotions from the audience, but that's not necessarily a bad thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Marc Savlov
Austin Chronicle
November 2, 2003
It could have easily toppled over into the maudlin. That it doesn't is due in tremendous part to Polley's effortless performance as Ann.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
October 31, 2003
Against all odds, My Life Without Me succeeds in spite of itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
October 18, 2008
Top Critic
Derek Adams
Time Out
February 9, 2006
Top Critic

Houston Chronicle
July 21, 2005

Guardian
January 15, 2004
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
November 7, 2003

Boston Phoenix
October 11, 2003
Page 1 of 6