My Life Without Me Reviews

Top Critic
Derek Adams
Time Out
February 9, 2006
Top Critic
Sarah Kaufman
Washington Post
September 26, 2005
My Life Without Me is not a gentle film. Insistent and unforgettable, it wounds on the inside, and the scars feel fresh for some time.
Top Critic

Houston Chronicle
July 21, 2005
Top Critic
Randy Cordova
Arizona Republic
November 28, 2003
Coixet doesn't make her lead character compelling, or likable.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
November 21, 2003
My Life Without Me only has one way to go, and it makes some dippy turns getting there. But Polley makes the trip worth it.
| Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Terry Lawson
Detroit Free Press
November 21, 2003
A good example of how Polley elevates nearly everything in which she appears.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
November 20, 2003
Polley's performance is pitch-perfect, and that the world described herein -- glazed with humor as well as melancholy -- is devoid of phony sentiment.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
November 7, 2003
Depressingly unmoving, thanks to unaffecting performances and a story that holds no surprises.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
November 7, 2003
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
October 31, 2003
Against all odds, My Life Without Me succeeds in spite of itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Liam Lacey
Globe and Mail
October 31, 2003
Less a tearjerker than a thought-provoker.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Jeff Strickler
Minneapolis Star Tribune
October 24, 2003
Takes place in late fall and early winter, when everything is cold, gray and dying. It's a tough context for a tender story.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
October 24, 2003
What's miraculous about My Life Without Me is that the movie avoids bathos almost entirely, its considerable potential for cloying sentimentality undercut by a streak of wry, gentle humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Erik Lundegaard
Seattle Times
October 17, 2003
Too flat and confined and false.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
October 17, 2003
This one-dimensional ennoblement doesn't sit quite right.
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
October 17, 2003
The beauty of this tender gift of a movie is that it treats the daily life of tiny obligations and pleasures as something to pay exquisite heed to.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Robert Denerstein
Denver Rocky Mountain News
October 17, 2003
Despite some initial misgivings, My Life Without Me wound up breaking down my resistance.
| Original Score: B
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
October 17, 2003
Ann ... would be a cruel egocentric if she weren't so obviously just a fictional pawn.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Rex Reed
New York Observer
October 16, 2003
What saves My Life Without Me from the status of a five-Kleenex weepie is the maturity of vision that permeates the writing and direction and shines through each performance.
Top Critic
Philip Wuntch
Dallas Morning News
October 16, 2003
Ms. Coixet's actor-friendly direction and character-friendly screenplay evoke strong performances from most parties.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Edward Guthmann
San Francisco Chronicle
October 10, 2003
One of the year's sweetest surprises.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
October 10, 2003
My Life Without Me is a young person's movie about death, the sort of adolescent daydream in which you imagine your own demise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Glenn Lovell
San Jose Mercury News
October 9, 2003
A tear-jerker where the tears are cut by more than a dash of cynicism.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
October 8, 2003
[A] truly inspiring cinematic achievement.
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
September 29, 2003
... one of the most unusual and thought-provoking stories of the fall season.
Top Critic
Charles Taylor
Salon.com
September 28, 2003
My Life Without Me is essentially the same old Hollywood eyewash about the noble mother suffering silently for the sake of her children, it's about as phony and manipulative as a movie could be.
Top Critic
Jan Stuart
Newsday
September 26, 2003
Intelligent and affecting as the film is, it buckles under the weight of overexplicitness, a tendency to say more than it needs to.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
September 26, 2003
The movie is affecting, in its own quiet way, and beautifully acted.
Top Critic
Megan Lehmann
New York Post
September 26, 2003
This contemplative drama manages to dodge mawkish potholes to emerge as a strangely life-affirming work.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Jami Bernard
New York Daily News
September 26, 2003
It's hard to take this movie seriously. It's the cinematic equivalent of dotting your i's with a big heart, a very youngish view of life and death in which everything is too neatly wrapped up with a bow.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
A.O. Scott
New York Times
September 26, 2003
The performances are determinedly low-key, and Ms. Coixet directs even the most charged scenes in a cool, almost affectless style. But the implicit narcissism of the film's title is embraced without really being examined.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Kevin Thomas
Los Angeles Times
September 26, 2003
A splendid cast, coupled with Isabel Coixet's deeply committed writing and direction, goes a long way to make this movie affecting to watch even it if doesn't hold up well to reflection once the lights go up.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
September 24, 2003
Polley's performance is characteristically honest.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
September 24, 2003
Transforming [Ann] into a woman who wants what she wants and reaches for it now, Polley not only subverts cliché but humanizes one of the most hard-heartedly malicious phrases in the American language -- trailer trash.
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
September 24, 2003
A movie about terminal illness that even the Lifetime Television Network might reject.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Michael Miller
Village Voice
September 23, 2003
A tearjerker that falters in its attempts at deep thoughts.
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
May 8, 2003
Affirms life in surprising and gratifying ways that shed light on who its characters are and how they come to value life through a death.