My Neighbor, My KIller - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Neighbor, My KIller Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Lee Marshall
Screen International
January 20, 2010
The Rwandan genocide of 1994 has spawned a number of feature films, but Anne Aghion's remarkable documentary about the 'Gacaca' community tribunals is the most calmly moving guide yet to the emotional landscape of those who were left behind.
Top Critic
Jeannette Catsoulis
New York Times
January 20, 2010
[A] restrained and ethically nuanced documentary.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Donald J. Levit
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
January 15, 2010
While 'My Neighbor, My Killer' should be applauded for avoiding the call to sensationalism, its beaten-down, nearly toneless low key grows repetitious.
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
December 3, 2009
There are no talking heads to explain away the genocide in dispassionate, academic terms. This film shows us the victims and the perpetrators straight on.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
November 17, 2009
Aghion's educational film best serves as an important historical document.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
October 23, 2009
One of the most humane things I have seen all year.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Nick Davis
Nick's Flick Picks
October 10, 2009
Few documentaries are quite as rigorous and artful in exposing the complex stakes behind pointing a camera and a microphone at scenes of profound social injury.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Nora Lee Mandel
June 19, 2009
An intimate, nuanced and engrossing look at the implementation of an indigenous, grassroots approach to judging man's inhumanity to man.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Jennifer Merin
May 11, 2009
Brilliant documentary that brings us to a new level of understanding about the human capacity for creating mutuality.
Top Critic
Dennis Harvey
May 7, 2009
Valuable historical document.
Andrew Schenker
House Next Door
April 22, 2011
Page 1 of 1