My Son, My Son, What Have Ye Done Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
January 3, 2011
What they deliver is the sort of fake mysticism that usually ensues when secular intellectuals try to plumb the depths of religious faith.
Jeffrey Chen
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
September 25, 2010
The version of madness displayed by [Michael Shannon's] Brad is not typically dramatic; it's mostly just strange, and dances the line bordering on goofiness.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10

Daily Express
September 13, 2010
More like a bad dream than a good film.
Anton Bitel
September 10, 2010
It is a film that addresses itself directly to the audience of Lynch and Herzog, and sets out, in its own special way, to "razzle them, dazzle them, razzle dazzle them."
Andy Lowe
Total Film
September 10, 2010
It's like Psycho remade by Ed Wood.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Marc Lee
Daily Telegraph
September 10, 2010
Oddly understated, it's nevertheless as unnerving a vision of disintegration in suburbia as you'd expect from director Werner Herzog and producer David Lynch.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Xan Brooks
September 9, 2010
My Son, My Son, What Have Ye Done finds God in a cereal box and Satan on an ostrich farm.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Laurence Boyce
Little White Lies
September 9, 2010
Unsettling but in a good way.
| Original Score: 4/5
David Parkinson
Radio Times
September 9, 2010
The nods to Aguirre, Wrath of God and Fitzcarraldo won't go unnoticed, but the more obtuse touches that bear the stamp of executive producer David Lynch may prove too eclectically eccentric.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Tom Huddleston
Time Out
September 8, 2010
My Son, My Son... may be a minor work in the Herzog canon but it's still one of the more fascinating, frustrating, disturbing and beautiful experiences available to cinemagoers this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Alexander Pashby
Electric Sheep
September 8, 2010
This is a must for Herzog and Lynch fans.
Becky Bartlett
The Skinny
September 8, 2010
Like many of the characters, the plot is under-developed yet My Son, My Son lingers in the brain and is essential viewing for Herzog and Lynch fans alike.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Matthew Turner
September 8, 2010
Enjoyably weird thriller that's a treat for fans of both Herzog and Lynch, with a superb script and great performances from a terrific ensemble cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Prairie Miller
Purple Revolver
September 6, 2010
Both baffling and mystifying, the film details a descent into madness with God in a boombox, worshipped oatmeal boxes, and the designated lunatic's proclaimed mantra, minus reference to any white whale though flamingos may be implicated, as Call Me Farouk
Alison Gang
San Diego Union-Tribune
August 11, 2010
Directed and co-written by Herzog (with Herbert Golder) and executive produced by Lynch,[the film] offers a whiff of originality in a sea of cinema schlock. But compared to both filmmakers' prior works, it's nowhere near as memorable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
July 14, 2010
A film that gets increasingly under our skin as it goes along, tying up loose ends along the way while leaving other things maddeningly out of reach
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
April 14, 2010
This is Herzog pursuing ideas that fascinate him almost without recourse to whether or not they "work"... wildly interesting, almost too interesting to handle.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Brian Tallerico
Movie Retriever
April 9, 2010
It's more of a curiosity than an actual film and barely even works as that. For hardcore Lynch or Herzog fans only and even they should be prepared for something of a disappointment.
Peter Sobczynski
April 8, 2010
Easily the most fascinatingly freaky film to come along since "The Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans," Herzog's previous bizarro take on the cop movie genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
Jeff Shannon
Seattle Times
April 8, 2010
One of Herzog's quirky misfires.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 2