My Son, My Son, What Have Ye Done - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Son, My Son, What Have Ye Done Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Alison Gang
San Diego Union-Tribune
August 11, 2010
Directed and co-written by Herzog (with Herbert Golder) and executive produced by Lynch,[the film] offers a whiff of originality in a sea of cinema schlock. But compared to both filmmakers' prior works, it's nowhere near as memorable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Fernando F. Croce
Slant Magazine
December 7, 2009
My Son, My Son, What Have Ye Done is more controlled in its absurdism than Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans, but it is easily the lesser work.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Avi Offer
NYC Movie Guru
December 12, 2009
A visually stylish, mildly engaging crime drama that's often tedious, sophomoric, increasingly dull and lacking in suspense.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.75/10
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
February 26, 2010
Clearly, Herzog isn't interested Advertisement in making a conventional melodrama, but unconventionality isn't enough to hang a movie on.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
December 11, 2009
While watching Werner Herzog's My Son, My Son, What Have Ye Done you might be tempted to murmur, "My Werner, My Werner, What Have Ye Done."
| Original Score: 2/5
Prairie Miller
NewsBlaze
November 26, 2009
Both baffling and mystifying, the film details a descent into madness with God in a boombox, worshipped oatmeal boxes, and the designated lunatic's proclaimed mantra, minus reference to any white whale though flamingos may be implicated, as Call Me Farouk
Prairie Miller
Purple Revolver
September 6, 2010
Both baffling and mystifying, the film details a descent into madness with God in a boombox, worshipped oatmeal boxes, and the designated lunatic's proclaimed mantra, minus reference to any white whale though flamingos may be implicated, as Call Me Farouk
Brian Tallerico
Movie Retriever
April 9, 2010
It's more of a curiosity than an actual film and barely even works as that. For hardcore Lynch or Herzog fans only and even they should be prepared for something of a disappointment.
Chris Cabin
Filmcritic.com
December 14, 2009
Herzog's latest film is at once his most indifferently crazy work to date and quite possibly the biggest failure of his career.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Gary Goldstein
Los Angeles Times
December 18, 2009
As a writer-director with five decades' worth of notable screen work to his credit, [Herzog] certainly can't be faulted for taking risks, even if it means now and then, well, falling on his sword.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
September 18, 2009
An unusually unwatchable effort from filmmaker Werner Herzog...
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Andy Lowe
Total Film
September 10, 2010
It's like Psycho remade by Ed Wood.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
January 3, 2011
What they deliver is the sort of fake mysticism that usually ensues when secular intellectuals try to plumb the depths of religious faith.
Top Critic
Ben Kenigsberg
Time Out
November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Jason Bailey
DVDTalk.com
January 1, 2010
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Barbara Goslawski
Boxoffice Magazine
December 11, 2009
Herzog's second film of the year -- the supposed antidote to Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans -- is such a confused jumble of influences that it is completely ineffectual both as an experience and as an instrument of dialogue.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Marc Savlov
Austin Chronicle
January 29, 2010
The viewer is left to ponder what it's all about, and what its purpose may have been, which, knowing Lynch and Herzog, might well be what it was about, and what its purpose was.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
February 26, 2010
Lynch and Herzog have tickled us for years with their dwarves and iguanas and impenetrable stories. This collaboration represents the vanishing point of willful obscurity.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Peter Keough
Boston Phoenix
March 10, 2010
The film can be funny and even epiphanic, but when Brad Dourif and an ostrich doesn't get a laugh, you're trying too hard.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Jeff Shannon
Seattle Times
April 8, 2010
One of Herzog's quirky misfires.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 3