My Son, My Son, What Have Ye Done Reviews

Top Critic
Ben Kenigsberg
Time Out
November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
January 3, 2011
What they deliver is the sort of fake mysticism that usually ensues when secular intellectuals try to plumb the depths of religious faith.
Top Critic
Tom Huddleston
Time Out
September 8, 2010
My Son, My Son... may be a minor work in the Herzog canon but it's still one of the more fascinating, frustrating, disturbing and beautiful experiences available to cinemagoers this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Jeff Shannon
Seattle Times
April 8, 2010
One of Herzog's quirky misfires.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
April 8, 2010
Confounds all convention and denies all expected pleasures, providing instead the delight of watching Herzog feed the police hostage formula into the Mixmaster of his imagination.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
February 26, 2010
Lynch and Herzog have tickled us for years with their dwarves and iguanas and impenetrable stories. This collaboration represents the vanishing point of willful obscurity.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Gary Goldstein
Los Angeles Times
December 18, 2009
As a writer-director with five decades' worth of notable screen work to his credit, [Herzog] certainly can't be faulted for taking risks, even if it means now and then, well, falling on his sword.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
December 11, 2009
Herzog fans will love it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
December 11, 2009
While watching Werner Herzog's My Son, My Son, What Have Ye Done you might be tempted to murmur, "My Werner, My Werner, What Have Ye Done."
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
V.A. Musetto
New York Post
December 11, 2009
A surreal descent into a twilight zone created by the twisted sensibilities of two cinematic geniuses.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Noel Murray
AV Club
December 10, 2009
Viewers will have to decide for themselves whether My Son is a terrible, terrible movie or an uncompromising Herzog experiment in reality-bending. Here's a suggestion: consider the track record.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Keith Uhlich
Time Out
December 9, 2009
It's likely that only Herzog would dare to, and succeed at, resolving this singular cinematic object by contemplating the fate of an abandoned basketball.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
J. Hoberman
Village Voice
December 8, 2009
Herzog has gone beyond Good and Evil to reinvent himself as a candidate for the wiggiest director of comedy in America today.