My Super Ex-Girlfriend Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Jeffrey Lyles
Lyles' Movie Files
January 23, 2014
A pleasant, harmless distraction that's plenty of fun if you want a lighter take on the world of caped crusaders
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
Luke Goodsell
Empire Magazine Australasia
November 7, 2012
Though not without its amusements, My Super Ex-Girlfriend is a high-concept studio pitch trying to pass itself off as an actual movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
April 22, 2009
What probably should have been an R-rated movie, ala "The 40 Year-Old Virgin," comes off as a half-hearted attempt at poking laughs with unlikable characters.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
August 26, 2007
A breezy timepass entertainment with a little hint of bite.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Anton Bitel
Eye for Film
August 2, 2007
at heart a deeply misogynistic view of female empowerment.
Daniel Eagan
Film Journal International
March 1, 2007
The funniest parts of the script, like its characters' casual acceptance of a comic-book reality, are so subdued that they can be missed entirely.
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
January 25, 2007
It teetered on the edge of totally sucking, but in the end, it actually pulled everything off.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Josh Hurst
Christianity Today
September 27, 2006
Even if it falls slightly short of super, Ex-Girlfriend is a film that's well worth having around.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jim Chastain
Norman Transcript
August 30, 2006
A one joke film that runs its comedic course in about thirty minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Christopher Smith
Bangor Daily News (Maine)
August 30, 2006
Smoothly sends up romantic comedies and the superhero genre with such panache, it leaps into mid-summer as one of its best diversions.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Michael Szymanski
Hollywood.com
August 24, 2006
How can a movie with such talented performers and such an original concept seem so entirely like a re-tread? Help them Superman!
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Kamal 'The Diva' Larsuel
3BlackChicks Review
August 21, 2006
Hop on the crazy train and enjoy the ride!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
August 14, 2006
The likable cast and generally inspired mayhem make for a pleasant diversion.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Joe Utichi
FilmFocus
August 6, 2006
The good news is that My Super Ex-Girlfriend does actually end.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
August 5, 2006
Over the years, I remember thinking "What the heck was that?" after seeing several movies with, uh, quirky concepts.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
Toddy Burton
Austin Chronicle
August 5, 2006
Ultimately, the star-power smoke screen withers, and you're left with a silly film, a couple of decent jokes, and an entirely too-predictable plot.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Chris Hewitt (UK)
Empire Magazine
August 4, 2006
For Ivan Reitman, Ghostbusters continues to cast one hell of a shadow. Shame - if he'd managed to resist the lure of big, shiny FX, this could have worked as a very black comedy...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Matthew Turner
ViewLondon
August 3, 2006
Director Ivan Reitman is a good choice for this sort of thing - like Evolution, it's undeniably silly but extremely entertaining with it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Edward Lawrenson
Time Out
August 3, 2006
At one point, jealous Thurman tosses a live shark into Matt and Hannah's love nest. Unwittingly plunged into this farrago, the shark earns my sympathy.
Angela Baldassarre
Sympatico.ca
August 2, 2006
Days after I saw Ivan Reitman's latest fusion of action fantasy and comedy, I'm still trying to wrap my mind around the fashion sense surrounding our female superheroes.
Page 1 of 7