Naked Ambition: An R Rated Look at an X Rated Industry Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Super Reviewer
½ June 22, 2011
I'm sure the photography book would be interesting to look at (and you get to see much of it in the film), but I wouldn't really call this "behind-the-scenes". It doesn't get in-depth at all.
½ June 10, 2011
Biggest highlight was the Asian inventor, with a funny sense of pride, who was showing off his wares.
November 23, 2014
I've always been fascinated by this industry. Especially living in LA. I've met and known a number of women who are very comfortable living this lifestyle and doing it quite successfully, though I'm not sure that's the norm. I found the film very interesting and it certainly gave me more insight into a subject that many aren't willing to admit that they are interested in.
November 16, 2014
Great film. Funny about the porn industry
½ March 31, 2014
The title and plot summary may give the audience an idea that this is a full on film that goes in depth of the entire porn industry, but that is misleading. Instead it succeeds at showing a photo shoot for a coffee table book on porn and the background to the models who are shot for it.
½ February 3, 2014
At first this documentary may seem sleazy or over the top, but I was pleasantly surprised to find this compassionate look at the subculture of the American porn industry. The story follows Michael Grecco photo journalist and artist's passionate journey of photography the AVN awards (the Oscar's of the porn industry) and his discovery of the people behind the porn and documenting them in interesting and artistic way. Overall this film is really fascinating and full of colourful and exuberant characters.
October 12, 2013
kinda interesting, very self serving.
September 28, 2013
I got caught in this weird netflix loop that led me to this "I'm a serious photographer, and I'm going to expose the normalcy of porn" pretentious piece of subversive art bullshit
½ May 24, 2013
This movie is fantastically important to the first world in regards to accepting our biological desires and ambitions and regarding it as a serious profession. This industry exists whether or not we find it acceptable, and treating these performers with the same respect as any other profession is key. All these people are beautiful human beings and have the right to be proud of themselves as much as the next person.
½ February 9, 2013
Having worked as a photographer, I respect Grecco's ability to take excellent pictures with such depth and quality, however, I think as a documentary there is so much else the viewer needs to see!
January 21, 2013
Until this morning I had no idea who Michael Grecco. Now I now I've seen his work before but I didn't know anything about him.

I was recently in a terrible snowmobiling accident and have been pretty debilitated for the last 3 to 4 weeks. What that translated to was me sitting in my theater recliner watching copious amounts of Netflix documentaries.

I came across Naked Ambition this morning and figured what the hell, I'll give it a shot.

What an impressive film. I've literally watched hundreds in the last few weeks and this one is by far my absolute favorite. The documentary was so well done and he really showed a different side of that industry.

Michael really knows how to capture the essence of his subjects. What makes them tick. This film gave me a great education about the AVN show and the adult industry in general. Very fascinating. And while you watch you also get to see Michael's incredible photography in vivid HD.

Bottom line, it was an enjoyable and inspiring hour and a half. Watch it. It's fantastic. I'm now a huge Michael Grecco fan. I truly hope he produces more just like this on some of his future shoots.
November 14, 2011
While missing a sense of depth that I would have enjoyed, it does seek to display his experiences of these stars and the world he finds himself surrounded by. And this is done in a tasteful and thought provoking manner that I found refreshing.
October 17, 2011
Captivating and creative! I was first a fan of the book, the story and the photography; the documentary itself put it all in perspective and also gave an interesting look into the mind of Michael Grecco as he walked the path needed to get access and the trust of the people and still maintain the creativity of the photographer. Very worthwhile for anyone with an interest in the documenting of the edgier parts of our world as well as for the novice or professional photographer or film maker. Good stuff!
September 29, 2011
Muy buen documental, recomendada al 100% Muestra un gran trabajo de este GRAN FOTOGRAFO!!!
½ June 30, 2011
Having never seen anything from Michael Grecco prior to this movie, I am ashamed. The photography was absolutely stunning. As a documentary, it barely scratches the surface. We are able to see the good, the bad and the ugly; even raunchy world of Pornography from a different perspective. They are real people too! An interesting watch. Recommended to those that enjoy documentaries.
½ June 11, 2011
Director/photographer Michael Grecco plays carnival barker to the side-show, freaky world of the AVN awards.
½ June 8, 2011
This felt like a near 90 minute infomercial from hell, it was all over the place and had flaccid attempts to glorify an industry that has been marked with trouble many times. I was expecting a view that was of the industry not that of Grecco constantly talking about himself and trying to sell his book. There was once a show on Dateline that gave me more information about the industry than this so called documentary did. Though I must say one part of the movie was worth seeing, it sadly happens at about the hour point and almost defames one of the porn stars.
May 26, 2011
Not a bad documentary. Very adult themed.
Page 1 of 3