National Lampoon's Gold Diggers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

National Lampoon's Gold Diggers Reviews

Page 1 of 7
ajaymuthecooldevils
Super Reviewer
½ June 2, 2006
What is the point of this story?
Super Reviewer
October 27, 2010
Gold Diggers was like watching 1 of those way over the top wacky 80's comedys.I can't believe I'm saying this but I actually enjoyed it
July 8, 2010
When I heard this movie received a number of negative reviews, I knew I had to see it for myself. Just a couple weeks ago I watched it and immediately voted it, personally, my LEAST favorite movie of all time. One reason why I was upset about how bad this movie was is that National Lampoon is the maker of "Animal House", which is the MASTERPIECE of comedies! A few reasons why I hated it are because it wasn't funny in the least bit; the gross-out scenes, I thought, were a little bit TOO gross; I thought it was too short for a full-length film; finally, I don't know why, but I felt really depressed watching it. And it's a COMEDY! Comedies should make you laugh and make you feel good, but this movie was just a sad, sad attempt at a comedy film. The worst part of it is the title of the film has the two words "National Lampoon", the words that can be found in films such as "Animal House" and "Vacation". It's a disgrace.
½ August 24, 2009
As much as I love Lawrence of Arabia & Chariots of Fire & Annie Hall the much and unfairly maligned genre of the raunchy comedy needs tb addressed. A perfect example of it is this flick - while a great many people have heaped nothing but abuse on it I thought it was one of the biggest surprises enjoyment-wise that I've seen in a long time. Parts of it are downright hysterical and the comedic rapport between the four leads is great. Chris Owens & Louise Lasser take what could have been a number of throwaway lines and make them absolutely hysterical. And I'm sorry but that pool scene with Renee Taylor had me laughing so hard I was crying - not to mention her crack about Aristotle (another laugh out loud gem). Will Friedle has enormous goofy charm and a way w/facial expressions that's spot on. I love Fellini and Fincher just as much as the next guy but this flick is incredibly entertaining - just give it a chance & you'll be extremely surprised!!
March 13, 2009
0/4

National Lampoon's Gold Diggers is the worst movie/comedy ever made because this movie is just stupid, pointless, and clearly not funny at all. This was a waste of 90 minutes and money.
November 16, 2008
Possibly the best surrealist geriatric pornography musical of all time. Besides, Out of Africa, of course.
½ October 11, 2008
This movie had some funny moments, but some bad moments as well. I am a Chris Owen fan so he saved this movie a bit for me. The cover o this is decieving.
October 21, 2007
This is one of the worst of all the National Lampoon movies, it is an offensive and rarely funny comedy. The cast does try, and they are much better than what the script offers them. Idiotic.
½ May 7, 2007
I shouldn't elaborate too much on this movie because in all fairness, I didn't see the whole thing. Because I walked out halfway through. One of the unfunniest "comedies" I've ever seen.
December 17, 2005
This movie is sooo funny, but when that old lady eats food off of the guy who plays "the Sherminator" , My stomack did a couple tricks. Sick and twisted just the way I like it.
½ July 8, 2005
[b]National Lampoon's Gold Diggers (2004)[/b]

PROLOGUE:
N/A

SYNOPSIS:
Two broke best friends resort to petty crime to make some money. When they fail repeatedly, they think of giving up, until one buddy, Cal, finds two rich elderly women he thinks they can con into marriage, then kill, and collect off of. But when thier attempt fails, they become the ones who are getting played when the women bail them out, so that they can kill the boys! The two sisters marry the two friends and thus both sides set off to kill the others, while making it look like an accident.

THE MOVIE:
The crude humor of the film comes as no surprise. All you have to do is look at the sub-title, National Lampoon. But what this film has going for it is its originality. Granted, it plays on a typical storyline, but it has it's own fresh ideas to add as well. Boy Meets World alum Will Friedle is absolutely hilarious. Chris Owen is decent, although he doesn't seem like a perfect fit for his role. The elderly women are well casted as well and all the characters bring something different to the table. While it isn't quite as funny as one would assume, it does have it's funny moments and the originality and somewhat fresh feel kept me hooked throughout.

7/10
June 30, 2005
[color=yellow]So here are 5 more.[/color]
[color=#ffff00][/color]
[color=#ffff00][b][u]ALFIE-[/u][/b] I give this one a 4. Maybe a 5. I thought it was alright, but I just didn't think it was all that great. Not something I would really care to watch again. Now, moving on.[/color]
[color=#ffff00][/color]
[color=#ffff00][b][u]NATIONAL LAMPOON'S GOLD DIGGERS-[/u][/b] This one also gets a 4 on my list. One of the stupider National Lampoon's Movies. Not really much to say about it. It was somewhat funny. But again, not something I would care to watch again.[/color]
[color=#ffff00][/color]
[color=#ffff00][b][u]LADDER 49-[/u][/b] Now this was a wonderful movie. I saw this one on an airplane ride back home coming from Mexico. It had me to tears. I thought it was a wonderful film. The acting is great, and the Drama is awe aspiring. I saw on my list I made here at my desk that I rated this movie a 7. Then I was like, what the HELL am I thinking. I meant to make it a 9. So I changed it. Anyway, I keep meaning to watch the movie at home because as I said, that I saw it on the airplane. I want to get more of the affect of the film. Well, moving on again.[/color]
[color=#ffff00][/color]
[color=#ffff00][b][u]SPANGLISH-[/u][/b] Spanglish. I thought this one was really neat. So I gave it a 7. It has a lot of different factors, like seriousness, drama, comedy and laughter. All in all it is a good movie. Again, I saw on my list here at work that I rated it a 6, I just had to change that to a 7. I think that when I rate them on my list here at work that I go too fast and I see the numbers of the ones that I rated before and it kind of influences the rating scheme. Anyway, I had to change it from a 6 to a 7. Now, again, moving on.[/color]
[color=#ffff00][/color]
[color=#ffff00][b][u]THE VILLAGE-[/u][/b] Here we go. You might be wondering why I gave this one a 3. I thought it was, well, almost stupid. It is not what I expected at all, and in a bad way. Sometimes you like the unexpected, you know, like The Forgotten. But The Village. It just wasn't doing it for me. There's really not much more that I can say about it. It was actually rather boring.[/color]
[color=#ffff00][/color]
[color=#ffff00]Well, as you can tell, I got the movies rated that I didn't get rated yesterday. I saw how they were spelled in the movie store yesterday. I spelled Alfie "Alfi" and I spelled Gold Diggers "Golddiggers". Stupid me huh. Well, thats it for now. I actually might get another entry in before I leave to go home. [/color]
[color=#ffff00][/color]
[color=#ffff00]Bye,[/color]
[color=#ffff00]Dacaso[/color]
April 1, 2005
Hostage with Bruce Willis was bombed by most critics, but I honestly believe that it's shittyness was overexaggerated. It had very few other big name actors besides Bruce Willis, the only other big name was Kevin Pollack, and Ben Foster played one of the psycho kids, he was actually pretty good in this. The story itself is basically recycled from a few other Hostage movies, but it wasn't as bad as everyone said it was going to be.

National Lampoon's Gold Diggers was also supposed to be a box office flop. Surprisingly, I found it to be very funny. Kinda stupid at times, but it picks itself up when it slumps, just give it time. Will Friedle from Boy Meets World was the funniest part of this movie, he played an idiot as usual. I give it a 6.
November 3, 2013
I am not sure why I even spent the time to watch this movie, but I knew what I was getting into.
August 14, 2013
I found it boring not funny.
June 9, 2011
An amateur toddler can make a better movie than this. Awfully written and badly acted by its cast.
½ June 18, 2012
a good comedy from national lampoon. good fun
August 3, 2011
This film is garbage. It's garbage with no redeeming value. It's low, terrible, unfunny, un-entertaining, un-rectifiable, loathsome, rotten, heart attack-inducing, nauseating, calamitous, lousy, abject garbage. Anyone who has recently seen it should go see a doctor and make sure all of their brain cells are intact. I'm sorry I couldn't elaborate as to why this movie is all the adjectives I've just listed, but this film simply can't easily be analyzed and reviewed. Just don't see it. Do something else. Such as banging your head against a wall for 90 minutes. At least that's more entertaining than this insipid waste of electricity on your TV or DVD player.
October 21, 2011
I did enjoy it while I was watching it a really stupid comedy that had all these dmb moments but after I watched it and thought back i thought this actually was a pretty bad movie, the idea was good and the two leads werent that bad but the movie just managed to fail. Is worth to the sherminator play a character who isnt a dork.
July 14, 2007
NATIONAL LAMPOON'S GOLD DIGGERS (2004)
Page 1 of 7