• PG-13, 1 hr. 35 min.
  • Drama, Romance
  • Directed By:
    George C Wolfe
    In Theaters:
    Sep 26, 2008 Wide
    On DVD:
    Feb 10, 2009
  • Warner Bros. Pictures/Village Roadshow

Opening

64% The Maze Runner Sep 19
—— A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
53% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
90% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

13% No Good Deed $24.3M
73% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
33% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
69% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

—— Brickleberry: Season 3
—— The Mindy Project: Season 3
—— New Girl: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
83% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

71% Dallas: Season 3
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Nights in Rodanthe Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies

Full Review Source: Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies | Original Score: B

February 14, 2012
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews

...the film ultimately earns a place for itself within the pantheon of effectively stirring romantic tearjerkers.

Full Review Source: Reel Film Reviews | Original Score: 3.5/4

November 23, 2009
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals

While it may be discerned as more a vehicle for the actors' reunion than a creative gem, the contributive factor to its attractiveness is the chemistry of the match.

Full Review Source: Cinema Signals | Original Score: 3/5

February 15, 2009
Jim Schembri
The Age (Australia)

Bring tissues.

Full Review Source: The Age (Australia) | Original Score: 3/5

November 14, 2008
Erin Free
FILMINK (Australia)

While not for the cynical or hard-of-heart, Nights in Rodanthe is something of a rarity: a film that puts its characters first.

Full Review Source: FILMINK (Australia)

November 7, 2008
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Something about Diane Lane's performance, especially in that third act, really got me involved in the film emotionally.

Full Review Source: At the Movies

November 5, 2008
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile

You will get exactly what you are expecting. More or less, in any event. More in the case of the film's heart; less in the case of the last reel, when the storyline and execution dissolves into buckets of schmaltz.

Full Review Source: Urban Cinefile

November 5, 2008
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)

You know,s ometimes a movie is worth it just because of its texture.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/4

October 23, 2008
David Edwards
Daily Mirror [UK]

The word formulaic doesn't quite cover it, but our two leads just about hold their heads above a tidal surge of sappy plotting, contrived dialogue and choppy editing.

Full Review Source: Daily Mirror [UK] | Original Score: 3/5

October 10, 2008

Heart 106.2

There is nothing new here - but taking the film on face value, everything that needs to be done right is spot on.

Full Review Source: Heart 106.2 | Original Score: 6/10

October 10, 2008
Rich Phippen
Sky Movies

It ticks the right boxes to be a hit - the tear jerking aspect being key to the word of mouth - but it's a movie that rarely breaks out of it's average confines.

Full Review Source: Sky Movies | Original Score: 3/5

October 10, 2008
Sukhdev Sandhu
Daily Telegraph

I'd hoped the lathered-up romanticism of Nights in Rodanthe would stop me from thinking about the awfulness of what's going on in the world. It didn't; it compounded it.

Full Review Source: Daily Telegraph

October 10, 2008
Angie Errigo
Empire Magazine

It's like The Bridges Of Madison County with more shouting, only not nearly as good. No surprises whatsoever, but nice scenery, attractive stars and another credible, affecting performance from Lane that hoiks it up an extra star.

Full Review Source: Empire Magazine | Original Score: 3/5

October 10, 2008
Victor Olliver
Teletext

Richard Gere's latest is the sort of weepy that gets shown on daytime TV in between the over-50s life insurance ads.

Full Review Source: Teletext | Original Score: 7/10

October 9, 2008
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall

This involving movie ultimately succumbs to a severe case of the weepies, as we know it must

Full Review Source: Shadows on the Wall | Original Score: 2.5/5

October 5, 2008
Ross Anthony
Hollywood Report Card

A tad clunky and sappy and yes, even hokey. But, the picture still works. I was always engaged, I was always interested in what happened next, and I was always entertained.

Full Review Source: Hollywood Report Card | Original Score: 2.5/4

October 3, 2008
Kit Bowen
Hollywood.com

A modern-day romance between two mature people.

Full Review Source: Hollywood.com | Original Score: 3/5

October 1, 2008
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review

...Lifetime Television with a Steven Spielberg budget.

Full Review Source: Sacramento News & Review | Original Score: 3/5

September 29, 2008
Kam Williams
NewsBlaze

Another sappy soap opera for Nicholas Sparks fans satisfied by panoramic seascapes offset intermittently by lingering interludes of dysfunctional strangers locking lips and loins.

Full Review Source: NewsBlaze | Original Score: 2/4

September 28, 2008
Gary Brown
Houston Community Newspapers

Despite stretches of credulity in the plot, the on-screen chemistry between Gere and Lane carries the movie.

Full Review Source: Houston Community Newspapers | Original Score: 3/4

September 27, 2008

Digital Spy
July 14, 2011
Tom Meek
Boston Phoenix
April 23, 2009

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Top Critic IconTop Critic
October 18, 2008

Irish Times

October 18, 2008
Page 1 of 7
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile