No Country for Old Men - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

No Country for Old Men Reviews

Page 1 of 14
Matthew Alexander
Film School Rejects
February 22, 2015
I have never been so frustrated with a movie as I was with No Country for Old Men. I hope I never am again.
Jesse Knight
Movie Mezzanine
March 23, 2014
The Coen brothers' No Country for Old Men is a rare example of a too-faithful adaptation of a novel, one that stubbornly refuses to explore and expound upon what the text readily provides.
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 25, 2009
The decade's most overrated movie
Top Critic
Stephen Hunter
Washington Post
November 8, 2007
I just don't like it very much.
Sukhdev Sandhu
Daily Telegraph
January 18, 2008
Is it a masterpiece? Not even close.
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
March 3, 2008
...the Coens sabotage their wonderfully understated style in No Country with the trivial substance of their narrative.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Richard von Busack
MetroActive
February 22, 2015
Morose vagueness will get No Country for Old Men called a classic, instead of what it is: an often effective but pompous grindhouser. Its pretensions are so big, you couldn't fit them in Texas.
Marcy Dermansky
About.com
November 6, 2007
While No Country For Old Men is compelling from beginning to end, the film lacks soul.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Ray Bennett
Hollywood Reporter
May 19, 2007
The Coens' typically superior filmmaking sustains the electrifying mood for most of the picture, but they are undone by being too faithful to the source novel by Cormac McCarthy.
Donald J. Levit
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
August 23, 2008
Although 'No Country for Old Men' is an exciting film, wise screen violence needs more emotional depth below surface technique.
Jean Lowerison
San Diego Metropolitan
November 17, 2007
Murder for its own sake wears quickly on me and I found myself wanting to flee the theater, and the sooner the better.
Ryan Gilbey
New Statesman
February 22, 2015
An exasperating and self-defeating experience, rather like listening to a nymphomaniac extol the virtues of celibacy.
Top Critic
Anthony Lane
New Yorker
November 5, 2007
If I want wry lawmen and smart, calculating fugitives, I'll get them from Elmore Leonard; and, if I want Leonard, I'll take him neat, rather than slow-filtered, drop by drop, through a layer of Faulkner, then laced with the Book of Jeremiah.
Top Critic
Stephanie Zacharek
Salon.com
October 5, 2007
Feels less like a breathing, thinking movie than an exercise. That may be partly because it's an adaptation of a book by a contemporary author who's usually spoken of in hushed, respectful, hat-in-hand tones.
Top Critic
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
October 24, 2007
I may be clearly in the minority on this movie. It will almost certainly be number one on my list of movies that other people liked and I didn't.
Louis Proyect
rec.arts.movies.reviews
November 19, 2007
Don't believe the hype. The most unsatisfying conclusion to a film since the final episode of "The Sopranos". And that which led up to it wasn't so great either.
Ross Anthony
Hollywood Report Card
January 30, 2008
I'm a big fan of the Coens. But, I've got to say, I'm not much appreciating this picture.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Jonathan Romney
Independent on Sunday
February 22, 2015
I can't help feeling the film is ultimately hollow.
John Harkness
NOW Toronto
February 22, 2015
Seventy minutes into the film, there's a rude burst of mariachi music as the hero awakes... That wouldn't be worth noting, except that we suddenly realize that for the first tense, suspense-filled hour of the film there has been no music at all.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Deborah Ross
The Spectator
February 22, 2015
It's not a film that asks to be either liked or disliked. It just is, branding itself on to you like a heated iron.
Page 1 of 14