• Unrated, 1 hr. 34 min.
  • Drama
  • Directed By:
    Bavo Defurne
    In Theaters:
    Nov 2, 2012 Limited
    On DVD:
    Feb 18, 2013
  • Strand Releasing

Opening

62% The Maze Runner Sep 19
66% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
45% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
93% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
70% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
35% The November Man $2.8M
35% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

New Episodes Tonight

82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
53% Z Nation: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
—— Haven: Season 5
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
90% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

North Sea Texas Reviews

Page 2 of 3
June 22, 2014
A heartwarming movie with a flair of optimism about the romantic relationship of two teenage guys from the coast of Belgium with a (thankfully) happy ending :)
February 15, 2014
I must be missing something because this movie got great reviews. However, I found it boring, slow, and pointless
January 26, 2014
A surly teenager comes of age in a Belgian coastal village.
A soulful tale of first love performed by a decent ensemble. Shot with a sombre palette, which matches the mood of the piece. A worthy film for a debut feature director.
pugcharlie
January 11, 2014
Poignant and touching, impressive performances. What a nice find on Netflix.
September 15, 2013
Simple, straightforward, and just plain enjoyable.
Daniel P

Super Reviewer

August 3, 2013
Beautifully shot, nostalgic piece that effortlessly, albeit not originally, explores sexuality and adolescence, with deft performances from the three young leads.
Nicholas Mooneyhan
July 19, 2013
A film that is more real than you might think. It really hits home if you're one who has experienced what Pim goes through. I don't think the lack of emotions hurt the film at all, it serves its purpose here and has meaning. Recommended.
July 14, 2013
the story feels a bit underdeveloped, nevertheless, the atmosphere is well created. Could have, and should have been more...
December 7, 2012
A quietly touching Belgian film about a young boy's coming of age and yearning for love.
May 14, 2013
Very touching coming of age story. I thought the cast and script worked well together.
April 4, 2013
Beautiful Dutch drama
Marvin James Cho
April 2, 2013
It's worth noting that the film is based on a different setting. So people must remember that cultural backgrounds may be a bit unsettling and confusing. Nonetheless, the film exerts genuine acting and simple scenes that may be all to familiar. Making this film engaging and touching in a sense. With its nostalgic cinematography and convincing cast. The film is very recommended.
March 29, 2013
WHAT THE FUCK DID I WATCH?!
March 27, 2013
A sweet coming of age film, that serves as the younger Brokeback Mountain
Luke S.
March 3, 2013
A very heartwarming story and a concept that's very personal to me. Its length and pacing gives it a morose tone despite what could have been a happier story and it feels a little impersonal when it's not in your own tongue, both being understandable. "North Sea Texas" is a bit vague with it's storytelling, but the sweet and realistic nature of it made it enjoyable nevertheless. A very good movie overall.
March 1, 2013
I have very mixed feelings about this movie. On the one hand I don't feel like this movie gives me much to think about. The subject matter -- coming of age and young love -- is played out, and the movie dwells too much on its aesthetics. Having said that, there is some beautiful cinematography, and the relationship between the two main characters is convincing. The very last scene in particular was done so well it still lingers in my mind.
February 24, 2013
Very well crafted look and tone, but a little too lite on the development.
February 23, 2013
gay, not interested.
Ross California
February 15, 2013
Movie about gay kids ? Awesome. That's what America needs.
Page 2 of 3
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile