Not Another Teen Movie - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Not Another Teen Movie Reviews

Page 1 of 540
Super Reviewer
½ July 19, 2008
Fantastic lampoon with all teen tropes represented. Profane and obvious, but oh-so-delicious. I think I've finally seen most of the movies this movie parodies, so the jokes are even better, especially for those 80s movies that I didn't love like "Pretty In Pink" and "The Breakfast Club."

I watched this most recently with the trivia track, and I'd like to point out an error. Joanna Garcia's Tourettes-afflicted cheerleader, Sandy Sue, is not merely a send-up of "Grease"'s virginal Sandy Olsen, but more likely a combo of her and "Pleasantville"'s All-American Slut, Jennifer-cum-Mary Sue Parker - whose sweater set, poodle skirt, and 50s curls are a spitting image of Garcia's. Heh heh, cum.
blkbomb
Super Reviewer
½ June 24, 2012
Priscilla: You put the "suck" in "liposuction" You put the "ooo" in "jiu-jitsu" You put the "ism" in "This is all just a defense mechanism".

"They served you Breakfast. They gave you Pie. Now we're gonna stuff your face."

Not Another Teen Movie is a painfully unfunny recreation of a variety of high school based films like Varsity Blues, American Pie, and The Breakfast Club. Every joke is so obvious that it takes away any possibility of laughter. You obviously know what you're getting into with this kind of comedy. We've seen countless spoofs for decades now. There's the good classics like Blazing Saddles and Airplane. Then there's the terrible trash we've been plagued with for the last decade like The Comebacks and Vampire's Suck. Occasionally a decent one will come along like Scary Movie, but for the most part, this genre is garbage. Not Another Teen Movie is exactly that, garbage.

So the "plot" for Not Another Teen Movie is this, a popular boy takes a bet to turn a plain Jane into a prom queen. In between there's a party, a football game, and a lot of references to films everyone and their grandmother has seen. Just making dumb references to films and playing out episodic skits to recreate scenes doesn't make a spoof funny. Just because you can recreate every cliche in the book and throw it into an hour and twenty minute movie doesn't mean anything. I can't believe there are actually people out there that think anything in this movie is "clever" or in any way funny.

So bad that I am going to have trouble giving any spoofs in the future a chance. It's sad to see that a genre that Mel Brooks perfected has dove down into the depths of movies like Not Another Teen Movie. 
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
April 12, 2012
This is a pretty good parody of many teen comedies and dramas. The film is crude, vulgar and obscene. However the film is pretty funny for what it is, just keep your humor expectations to be downright low brow, and you won't be disappointed. The film parodies some of the most memorable teen comedy films and it does in a unique way. The film sure as hell is stupid, but it definitely has good laughs. If you're in the mood for a mindless comedy, then this is a perfect film to watch. Don't expect a great comedy out of this one, you won't find it here. Expect something average with few good laughs here and there, and that's what you'll likely get. I very much the film for what it was, and it's the perfect film to watch with friends. The film has its flaws, but it succeeds at being entertaining and fun. As a comedy, I think that this film is a tad underrated and it doesn't deserve all the flack it has received. The film is downright silly, but that's the whole point of it. The film is supposed to be fun, it's supposed to be a good film to watch with friends, and it's most certainly that. The jokes are good, and laughs come and go. The cast do a good job, and the director does a great job at parodying key teen comedies that we're all familiar with. Of all the spoof films out there, this is among the most recent ones that doesn't suck, unlike date movie, epic movie and meet the Spartans. If you want an effective comedy that provides you with an hour and a half of decent laughs, this is your film.
murphmann93
Super Reviewer
June 23, 2011
This film actually surprisingly really made me laugh.
CloudStrife84
Super Reviewer
April 12, 2007
Great spoofs, hot girls, awesome soundtrack and a cameo by Mr.T. Yes, this movie has it all! Parodying teen flick classics such as The Breakfast Club, American Pie and 10 Things I hate About You, it's a pure joy to watch for a movie-buff like myself. If you get all the references, then you're in for a 80 minute laugh riot. If not, well, then you might not find it as funny. In my book though, this counts as one of the most underrated comedies ever made. And the musical number by the end gets more priceless for every time. In fact, I still find myself quoting this film on a regular basis. Not for everyone, but personally, I love every second.
3niR
Super Reviewer
½ July 17, 2010
Why the hot girls always walk in slow motion

Some part of this movie made this brilliant! Like wearing glasses and a ponytail makes a girl unpopular and ugly. A black guy who has limited dialogues to say in the whole video. There are always unnecessary nudity in most of the teen movies. The famous girl in the high school always turns out to be a bitch and the unpopular one is completely opposite. Always kind and nice. I would say this was better than the Scary Movie. It wasn't all about porn jokes. Though it had some disgusting scenes (and I'll always suggest you not to eat anything while watching a spoof movie). This wasn't a waste of time and the ratings should have been higher. It's a stupid (saying this in a good way) movie. Just enjoy it instead of finding flaws in it. And lastly, you wouldn't find this that much entertaining if you haven't watch the real movies. So watch those first. Then this will make a lot sense to you.
Super Reviewer
July 28, 2006
Quite typical in the style of other spoof movies, this one based on teen film such as your Amercan Pie.

It raised the odd chuckle, but it's a complete no brainer which is mildly amusing.
Super Reviewer
July 29, 2010
C
TheGame90
Super Reviewer
½ June 26, 2010
This...(unlike Peardad) is funny...
YodaMasterJedi
Super Reviewer
May 15, 2010
Everything The Scary Movie Trilogy Lacked

These kids attend John Hughes High. Brilliant! This movie hit what is wrong with most teen-angst films from the 80s on. Almost every single one has a Pygmalion-esquire plot line where the geeky girl (sometimes boy) is made over so they can fit in with the elite group of rich and popular kids. They've addressed all the clichés, and how unlike high school these movies really are. Think about it, to be popular means to be liked by a lot of people. And who likes the snotty brat who thinks she is prettier than everyone else? I attended several different high schools around the U.S., and these girls exist, but they don't get named prom queen.

The completely nude foreign exchange student is the only part that is a little uncomfortable to stomach (oh, the old lady lesbian kiss *shudders*) But the idea behind the character is hilarious. I wish they kept the line in the movie where Janey Briggs asks why her accent kept changing.

The guy who kept slow clapping at the wrong time, and Molly Ringwald saying fucking teenagers" made the entire movie. If you love or hate teen movies, this is one you HAVE to watch.
Chiefilms
Super Reviewer
March 28, 2010
The art of making a clever spoof movie is definitely of the past. Not Another Teen Movie was right on the edge of being clever and fresh without getting there completely. It's still pretty funny and the mediocre cast does well, looking convincing in their spoof roles. The script is above average for a spoof.
Super Reviewer
½ May 28, 2007
I just really, really don't like satire movies. Some things were actually done quite well in satireland, but I don't know...it's honestly all the same to me.
Super Reviewer
½ June 24, 2007
A frequently hilarious onslaught on the stereotypes and poorly drawn out characters that many teen movies featured during the 80's and 90's. It's mostly hit, sometimes miss, but when it's a hit, it's usually very funny. This was back in the day when making fun of certain genres was funny and fresh, nowadays it's recycled and pathetic. The token black guy and the scene where he is supposed to be "the only black guy at the party" is the highlight.
Super Reviewer
½ December 30, 2006
A lewd, crude, rude and a lot of nudity rather funny film. Not heard much about it, so I expected the worse.....but actually found myself laughing an awful lot! It's a great spoof mainly of She's all that, American Pie, Cruel Intentions and Pretty in Pink. Featuring a great cameo from Molly Ringwald, Lindsay Lohan from Mean girls and even Mr T! Along the way there are scenes aimed at Porky's, Grease, Risky Business, the list is endless. Every type of humour is here and if you know the mentioned films well you could like it. Not a bad DVD with a quiz on teen movies, Music videos, Making of as well. Overall a fun package and even a lot of females on my friend list liked it to my surprise!
Super Reviewer
June 15, 2009
ok as i type this, there is a film called "Not another not another movie" in the works.( no i didnt accidentally type that twice) that means theyre gonna run this franchise for every "idea" they have. So i predict that when im 50 they will have one called "help me im stuck in something so ironic that you can literally read the title and know the world is coming to an end and this satirises something that is much better that this, so contrary to our "funnier-than-thou" attitude"
Super Reviewer
March 11, 2008
Lampoons various teen movies, to varying effect.
deano
Super Reviewer
½ October 30, 2006
This crude, lewd, and lame comedy attempts to lampoon recent high-school flicks the way that Scary Movie skewered the slasher genre, as a popular jock makes a bet that he can turn a female social outcase into a prom queen - very familiar to She's All That.
Super Reviewer
July 30, 2007
Chris Evans isn't acting...he's living.
jagfire
Super Reviewer
½ August 26, 2007
More like "Not a movie at all"
Super Reviewer
½ June 23, 2007
Made by those who love and understand 80's Teen Movies. I really enjoyed this comedic farce of all those great John Hughes teen movies. All the high school character types are there to entertain us. There's a lot of modern sex jokes, which elevates it to something even better. The kids are great. Molly Ringwald and Mr. T appear in cameo roles! The opening scene with the girl watching porn when her family come home was hilarious. It has great renditions of 80's songs as well.
Page 1 of 540