Now You See Me Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Jeremy Lebens
We Got This Covered
September 10, 2013
Now You See Me is a slick crime caper that works because of its witty dialogue & large cast, but falls flat due to a finale that fails to leave any sort of magical impression
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 20, 2013
Clever, original, wildly improbable, wildly enjoyable and directed with all the necessary flash and dazzle, the film combines the pleasure of a well-engineered heist movie with a twisty-turny plot full of wit, double-takes and sleight-of-camera.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 15, 2013
This surprisingly witty, deliciously well-played and sneakily subversive outing from director Louis Letterier freaks out a little into its final act but, nevertheless, ranks as one of the year's most entertaining pics.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Matt Neal
The Standard
August 12, 2013
Like a real magic show, Now You See Me is thoroughly entertaining for the most part, but is ultimately silly and substanceless.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Simon Foster
Screen-Space
August 10, 2013
If you are going to avail yourself to two of hours slight of hand and slippery conjuring, you are going to have to be willing to believe the unbelievable to fully enjoy the show.
Tim Martain
The Mercury
August 10, 2013
Abracadabra! The character development has vanished! But the flowers are still standing!
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane
August 7, 2013
The opening credits roll, the stage is set and then SHAZAM... all sense of logic magically disappears.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Tom Glasson
Concrete Playground
August 4, 2013
Ocean's Eleven for Gen-Y; it's a 'pop heist movie' that's more concerned with looking cool than being it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
August 3, 2013
Seductive with its opening magic show delivering fabulous illusion, Now You See Me has a bit of Ocean's 11 at its heart. It's somewhat darker, and it's that darkness that gives it texture
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
August 3, 2013
A hugely enjoyable thriller, whose sleight of hand is both audacious and ambitious, Louis Leterrier's film is considerable in scale and daring
Tony Stamp
Flicks.co.nz
August 1, 2013
Hollywood bombast masquerading as something trickier.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Blake Howard
2UE That Movie Show
July 28, 2013
Now You See Me puts the fun back in being fooled.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Widgett Walls
Needcoffee.com
July 27, 2013
If you look at the film as escapist fare where you just go: 'My brain's off, you got a good cast, you got a good concept, roll with it' -- I think you'll be fine.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Keith Phipps
The Dissolve
July 11, 2013
Audiences go to magic shows to get fooled, but that doesn't mean they want to leave feeling cheated.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Eric D. Snider
TwitchFilm
July 10, 2013
The story moves jauntily toward its destination; the destination, unfortunately, is a disappointing wreck.
David Keyes
Cinemaphile.org
July 9, 2013
Surprisingly delightful audience entertainment, unburdened by overzealous special effects and loud soundtrack cues and driven by a story that, well, just likes the idea of being smart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Stefan Pape
HeyUGuys
July 8, 2013
Now You See Me is a picture that lays all of its cards on the table, only to uncover one or two jokers in the pack.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Catherine Shoard
Observer [UK]
July 7, 2013
A fairly unmagical couple of hours at the cinema.
Rich Cline
Contactmusic.com
July 5, 2013
The idea of magicians conducting a series of heists is a great one, but this under-developed film never quite seizes the opportunity. Even its terrific A-list cast can't make much of the lame plot.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Graham Young
Birmingham Post
July 5, 2013
Ignore the gaping plot holes and Now You See Me all comes together in gloriously silly fashion.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 8