Oliver & Company Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
August 17, 2013
Suffers from a rote storyline and flat animation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 26, 2010
Can't compete with Disney classics, but still fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
November 24, 2009
Quite insipid and wretchedly unengaging.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10

TV Guide's Movie Guide
November 13, 2009
The computer-assisted animation is relatively stiff and inexpressive.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4

Empire Magazine
November 13, 2009
Lacks the classic Disney charm that works for adults as well as kids
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
November 13, 2009
The animation is fairly unexciting though serviceable, and the overall mystification of class difference would probably have made Dickens shudder, but kids should find this tolerable enough.

Film4
November 13, 2009
The general quality of the animation and script would disappoint more sophisticated viewers.
Top Critic
Rita Kempley
Washington Post
November 13, 2009
Even as a cartoon poodle, Bette Midler stops the show.
Steven D. Greydanus
Decent Films Guide
March 17, 2009
The last gasp of Disney Animation's post-Walt malaise before the 1990s Disney renaissance … retains Dickens's seamy milieu, but not his morality-play tableau.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Ryan Cracknell
Movie Views
February 17, 2009
Far from classic but it is interesting to watch for its take on the pre-Disnified New York landscape following the company's real estate foray into the iconic downtown core.
David Cornelius
DVDTalk.com
February 10, 2009
The animation is clumsy, the songs are forgettable, the attempts at late-80s relevance now come across as dated and slightly embarrassing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Eric Henderson
Slant Magazine
February 2, 2009
I guess I can cut the Mouse House a little slack when it comes to paint-by-numbers mediocrities like Oliver & Company.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Brian Webster
Apollo Guide
January 30, 2009
More notable for what it isn't than what it is, it's one of the gangly middle children of the Disney animation family, not quite sure how to fit in, or even if it's valued.
Full Review | Original Score: 66/100
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
January 29, 2009
Surely one of Disney's weakest full-length animated features, Oliver and Company features terrible, badly dated songs and some shoddy, patchwork animation with precious few dazzling moments.
Top Critic

Time Out
January 26, 2006
Much cornball adventure ensues, punctuated by healthy helpings of singing, dancing and general merriment.
Gregory Weinkauf
▄berCinÚ
June 13, 2005
Animated Dickens makes for a surprisingly successful translation, and in my book Billy Joel can do very little wrong.
| Original Score: 4/5
Scott Weinberg
eFilmCritic.com
April 6, 2005
Cute but forgettable cartoon musical; a solid voice cast does a decent job.
| Original Score: 3/5
James O'Ehley
Movie Gurus
June 10, 2004
Pure '80s drivel.
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
August 1, 2003
...the virtual nadir of the Disney oeuvre.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Margaret Moser
Austin Chronicle
March 11, 2003
Simply put, Oliver & Company didn't work for me not because I'm many years past my sixth birthday but because it never scared me into forgetting that fact.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Page 1 of 2