Olympus Has Fallen - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Olympus Has Fallen Reviews

Page 3 of 356
March 14, 2016
If u like a lot of gunfire action...this is a movie for you. I enjoyed it!!! While i only gave it a 3...more because we've seen these types of movies a thousand times...but one i liked a lil more than the others
March 1, 2013
The beginning was a little over done. Loved it in the end.
March 13, 2016
Rating: 84%
Though the story and execution need some work, the very talented cast, fun-to-watch action, and overall interesting premise of Olympus Has Fallen is good enough to please action fans and some casual viewers.
March 11, 2016
Felt the urge to watch the other "die hard at the white house" movie of 2013. White House Down was Shakespeare compared to this one.
March 9, 2016
This movie required a greater suspension of disbelief than any movie I've seen since Armageddon. At least Star Wars and Lord of the Rings don't expect me to believe they are events based on my reality, whereas this movie expects me to believe my world can produce magical armies that appear from nowhere and CIA agents with lemming-like instincts to run straight into a hail of bullets. I enjoy action movies, but I don't like being treated like an idiot.

At least White House Down didn't take itself so annoyingly seriously, which is what really kills this movie for me.
½ March 9, 2016
Interesting action movie which has its occasional thrill. But overall quite predictable and loses its punch mid way.
½ February 21, 2013
awesome action movie. very intriguing premise. decent story. good violent hard hitting action. realistic action in the sense that people were actually getting the business. as opposed to white house down which was cheesy and childish (2 viewings)
½ March 6, 2016
A mindless action movie that doesn't take itself to seriously. Mindless entertainment from start to finish.
March 6, 2016
Olympus Has Fallen is an entertaining movie, and thats all folks!! I liked the movie.. some nice action scenes (althought some of them extremely exagerated), and the wow factor was Gerald Butler: never thought he could be a great action dude! The plot is very very very predictable, obviously. I dont want to seem exagerated.. 5mns in the film and I allready knew who were the bad guys, what will it happen to the star (like he was in exile and he needs a sparkle in he's life to get back in action). Although I liked the movie, really liked it, I have a big criticism: it's very similar to Die Hard (1988), very similar indeed, at least in my opinion. From a purely action movie perspective, the movie is great and enjoyable. Looking forward for the sequel in London.
½ April 27, 2013
Just missing some throat rips.
March 5, 2016
"Olympis Has Fallen" is a fun action movie that may not be the most realistic or smart film ever made, but it has some fun and tense, well directed action sequences and a good cast. It reminded my, and probably most who have seen this movie, of the 90s B-rated action flicks and the ridiculous fun they can be. This is a fun film and a must-see for action fans.
½ March 3, 2016
Though very similar to White House Down, both films are undeniably great action films. However it will probably go down as a easily forgettable movie.
September 13, 2014
45%
Saw this on 13/9/14
Olympus has Fallen is the weakest film from Antone Fuqua. This may have been a success compared to White House Down, but the latter is more entertaining because of it's wits, well matched stars and campy senseless feeling. This film has a good performance from Gerard Butler, but all the other actors are simply wasted. I don't believe that Fuqua's direction is as tense as it used to be. It lacks emotional resonance and is overly self serious, trying too hard to convince that such sort of a thing could happen. But that is where White house down succeeds, because it tells those crazy incidents which convinces the audience at every second that such sort of things can never happen, but this could be done if so.
½ February 26, 2014
Some spectacular action footage, but poor dialogue, and an unremarkable bad guy makes this only a passable film. Recommended for action junkies.
½ August 13, 2013
Typical generic dumb action movie that's entertaining. C+
March 1, 2016
Sort of an ultraviolet version of Independence Day, Gerald Butler stars as a secret service agent trying to get the president out of the White House alive when a foreign militant group attacks. Was sort of certainly surprised at the all-out carnage of this one. Blood and bullets everywhere! Its sort of fun and suspensful though.
February 27, 2016
Far from original but still a good watch. A lot of moments reminded me of die hard.
½ February 24, 2016
Olympus Has Fallen: A faux-Patriotic, mindlessly entertaining but utterly ridiculous display of terrorism porn that has a higher body count in the first half hour than all three seasons of The Walking Dead combined. The acting (Gerard Butler, Morgan Freeman, Melissa Leo) is way better than this super-lame script deserves. As I said earlier, seeing this movie made me want to stage an attack on its producers. D
½ February 12, 2016
watch a better movie. Ripping off elements of Die Hard, Air Force One, and Transformers but never approaching their level of craft, and I don't even like Transformers.
Page 3 of 356