Only the Strong Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Gary Thompson
Philadelphia Daily News
June 17, 2014

Solved: the problem of impoverished, understaffed, crime-ridden, drug- infested inner city schools. The solution: bongo music and a new Brazilian brand of martial arts that transforms incorrigible students into zealous anti-crime mercenaries.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Steve Rhodes
Chicago Tribune
Top Critic
June 17, 2014

The cinematography is jarring and dizzying at times; the acting mediocre.

Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Roger Hurlburt
South Florida Sun-Sentinel
June 17, 2014

Dacascos and Prieto are fine athletes, to be sure. But that is not enough to make Only the Strong more than a passing fancy destined for cable TV.

Brian Lowry
Variety
Top Critic
March 26, 2009

Only the simple-minded will find much to cheer in this martial arts actioner, which has the queasy feel of a movie slapped together by the marketing department.

Brian Case
Time Out
Top Critic
January 26, 2006

A paean to the Brazilian martial art of capoeira harks back to those break-dancing quickies.

Emanuel Levy
EmanuelLevy.Com
August 5, 2005

| Original Score: 2/5
Stephen Holden
New York Times
Top Critic
May 20, 2003

A movie that exists solely for its fight sequences and to show off its star's muscles and gymnastic grace.

James Berardinelli
ReelViews
Top Critic
January 1, 2000

I expected it to be an obligatory late-summer, mindless, plotless action film. I was wrong. It's a late-summer, mindless, plotless action film with a message. I think I prefer this sorts of film when it doesn't try to preach.

Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
Top Critic
January 1, 2000

I have a sinking feeling that the makers of this film feel it is in some way exemplary and even useful.

Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Joe Brown
Washington Post
Top Critic
January 1, 2000

The film is clumsily assembled and edited, heavy on the slow-mo, and its simplistic story plays like The Kids From Fame armed with very sharp knives.

Richard Harrington
Washington Post
Top Critic
January 1, 2000

If only the plot were a little less obvious, the confrontations a little less cliched.

Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
January 1, 2000

There's not terribly much more going on in this movie than the physical movement itself.

Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Page 1 of 1