Only the Strong - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Only the Strong Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Top Critic
Brian Case
Time Out
January 26, 2006
A paean to the Brazilian martial art of capoeira harks back to those break-dancing quickies.
Roger Hurlburt
South Florida Sun-Sentinel
June 17, 2014
Dacascos and Prieto are fine athletes, to be sure. But that is not enough to make Only the Strong more than a passing fancy destined for cable TV.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
I have a sinking feeling that the makers of this film feel it is in some way exemplary and even useful.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
I expected it to be an obligatory late-summer, mindless, plotless action film. I was wrong. It's a late-summer, mindless, plotless action film with a message. I think I prefer this sorts of film when it doesn't try to preach.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
May 20, 2003
A movie that exists solely for its fight sequences and to show off its star's muscles and gymnastic grace.
Top Critic
Brian Lowry
Variety
March 26, 2009
Only the simple-minded will find much to cheer in this martial arts actioner, which has the queasy feel of a movie slapped together by the marketing department.
Top Critic
Steve Rhodes
Chicago Tribune
June 17, 2014
The cinematography is jarring and dizzying at times; the acting mediocre.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Joe Brown
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
The film is clumsily assembled and edited, heavy on the slow-mo, and its simplistic story plays like The Kids From Fame armed with very sharp knives.
Top Critic
Richard Harrington
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
If only the plot were a little less obvious, the confrontations a little less cliched.
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
January 1, 2000
There's not terribly much more going on in this movie than the physical movement itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Emanuel Levy
EmanuelLevy.Com
August 5, 2005
| Original Score: 2/5
Gary Thompson
Philadelphia Daily News
June 17, 2014
Solved: the problem of impoverished, understaffed, crime-ridden, drug- infested inner city schools. The solution: bongo music and a new Brazilian brand of martial arts that transforms incorrigible students into zealous anti-crime mercenaries.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 1