OSS 117: Rio ne répond plus (Lost in Rio) Reviews

Top Critic
Peter Rainer
Christian Science Monitor
January 3, 2011
All this is mighty silly, but there's something to be said for watching a French movie that, for a change, isn't about l'amour, existential angst, or madness.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Ted Fry
Seattle Times
July 1, 2010
The tenor, tone and immaculately lampooned art direction often make up for shtick that gradually grows thin in the belly-laugh department.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
June 24, 2010
It's generally friendly and enjoyable, but it sags a bit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
June 17, 2010
Strutting around like a rooster in a thin-lapeled suit, 117 isn't much different from other comic Bond figures, but the movies find a fresh and exceedingly rich vein of comedy in his airy sexism, racism, and colonialism.
Top Critic
Joe Williams
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
June 10, 2010
The story is lame and the action is flaccid, but as Hubert would be the first to tell you, the French have a word for those who can't take a joke: c'est la vie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
June 10, 2010
I sort of liked the 2006 film, and I sort of like this one, too. I may like it a little more, because Dujardin grows on you.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Mark Feeney
Boston Globe
May 20, 2010
A reasonably pleasant surprise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
May 20, 2010
It's larky, snarky fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
May 13, 2010
The part is tricky, but Jean Dujardin does it well, greeting every woman with a cocky Jean-Paul Belmondo smile, and every foreign disaster with calm. Thank heavens France is here to help!
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Mike Hale
New York Times
May 7, 2010
Mr. Dujardin, a skilled comedian, deftly embodies the spy's combination of cluelessness and condescension, but it's an act that eventually wears thin.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
V.A. Musetto
New York Post
May 7, 2010
I don't know about you, but I look to French films for stylish love stories and potent social dramas. I definitely don't look to Gallic movies for slapstick comedy, a genre at which the French are especially bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
May 7, 2010
A very funny French comedy of a variety that usually doesn't make its way here.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Betsy Sharkey
Los Angeles Times
May 6, 2010
I don't know that we actually need Agent OSS 117, but the world is a slightly better place with him around. And the film itself is a harmless trifle -- make that truffle, chocolate of course.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Tasha Robinson
AV Club
May 6, 2010
In fitful bursts, Lost In Rio reaches further than its predecessor, delving into a loopy absurdism.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Keith Uhlich
Time Out
May 5, 2010
This is like a subpar Naked Gun feature cooked up by Eisenstein and Godard during a drug-addled lost weekend. Where's Leslie Nielsen when you need him?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Wally Hammond
Time Out
January 15, 2010
It's the grooving to composer Ludovic Bource's fab xylophone beats and Dujardin's hyena laugh and heroic self-regard you'll remember.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5