Our Family Wedding - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Our Family Wedding Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com
October 1, 2012
It may be clichéd and unoriginal, but it accomplished something that most other movies in the genre failed to do: It made me, and a theater full of people, laugh quite a bit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Sara Maria Vizcarrondo
Boxoffice Magazine
March 13, 2010
It's not toppling Father of the Bride for status in the canon of wedding movies but for a film that gently negotiates the tensions of family and race, it's not too bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Phil Villarreal
OK! Magazine
March 12, 2010
Although I had a giddy good time watching the movie, I'm pretty sure I hated it; but I so enjoyed hating it that I pretty much loved it. The bottom line is laughter doesn't lie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
March 12, 2010
[A] slick, slapsticky, forgettable comedy, a cool-jazz riff on upper-middle-class American families sorting through misconceptions.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
March 12, 2010
A modest culture-clash ensemble comedy that distinguishes itself from the formula pack by treating its characters with respect.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
March 12, 2010
Ferrera and Gross are the most appealing pair I've seen in awhile; their calm confidence is a welcome antidote to the unrealistic couples who've been cluttering our screens way too long.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
March 12, 2010
Ferrara, as the would-be bride, and King, as her sensible in-law, brighten the movie every time they appear. Whitaker and Mencia are also appealing, as is Diana Maria-Riva as Ferrara's mom.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Mack Bates
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
March 12, 2010
It's a testament to the cast that the entire enterprise is more entertaining than it has a right to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
March 12, 2010
The likable cast keep things watchable, particularly handsome Gross, who is surely destined for bigger things, and Ferrera, who's still as sweetly unaffected on-screen as she was back in Real Women Have Curves.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Wesley Morris
Boston Globe
March 12, 2010
Our Family Wedding is another Hollywood fast-food sandwich. But instead of two squirts of ketchup someone actually took the time to lay some fresh tomato on that greasy bun.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
March 11, 2010
At the heart of the story, of course, is the always delightful Ferrera as the bride-to-be caught upsetting either the man she loves or the family she also loves.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
July 31, 2012
Too many scenes are forced and seem out of place.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
April 8, 2012
Good intentions and a good cast do not necessarily a good film make.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: D
Top Critic
Nick Schager
Time Out
November 17, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net
April 25, 2011
Except for Mencia, who should never be allowed near a camera again, Our Family Wedding isn't particularly awful, but that's about the best that can be said about it.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Dave White
Movies.com
April 4, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
Jason Solomons
Guardian
June 25, 2010
This inexplicable Hollywood movie contains a shocking collection of racial stereotypes...
Tim Robey
Daily Telegraph
June 24, 2010
Lacks a single legitimate laugh, despite engineering the humping of Forest Whitaker's leg by a priapic goat. Don't ask.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4

Film4
June 24, 2010
My Big Fat Rubbish Wedding.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Page 1 of 5