Our Idiot Brother Reviews

Page 1 of 7
July 8, 2014
... a film that largely earns its laughs honestly.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
John Hanlon
Big Hollywood
June 30, 2013
This inane comedy lives down to its title.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Will Leitch
Deadspin
June 22, 2013
Makes you want to go home and turn on your television.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Benjo Colautti
We Got This Covered
February 28, 2013
Our Idiot Brother is an enjoyable comedy thanks to its strong supporting cast and a terrific central performance from Paul Rudd.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
January 10, 2013
Rudd can play the innocent as well as the snarky cynic, and that serves him wonderfully here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
February 10, 2012
'Cute' is probably not the word one would expect to attach to a film with this title, but there is no more apropos term for its gentle comic charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Greg Maki
Star-Democrat (Easton, MD)
December 28, 2011
"Our Idiot Brother" goes down in a good way, with an infectious positivity.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Linda Cook
KWQC-TV (Iowa)
December 22, 2011
Another fish-out-of-water story, 'Our Idiot Brother' never really makes a huge impact. It contains a few laughs certainly, but it's not one of the outstanding entries in this year's adult comedy genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
December 13, 2011
The sometimes mediocre and rote script never falls too far in quality because of the charm of the cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews
November 8, 2011
A sweet and at times raunchy comedy, Our Idiot Brother features Paul Rudd at his likeable best in his portrayal of a liberal Jesus figure stuck in a rut.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane
November 4, 2011
It has its moments but, for the most part, I found it to be flat and disappointing.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Peter Galvin
sbs.com.au
November 3, 2011
Lugubrious, bumbling and sit-com predictable, Our Idiot Brother has a couple of good ideas, no style, an episodic structure and some charming incidental pleasures, not the least of which are the performances, which are good.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)
November 3, 2011
What I liked about the film is that there is a very good cast. I think all the women in the film are terrific actors.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Margaret Pomeranz
At the Movies (Australia)
November 3, 2011
Charming and at times very funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)
November 3, 2011
While no one would hail Our Idiot Brother as the most accessible movie comedy of 2011, it is definitely the one most comfortable in its skin.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Cara Nash
FILMINK (Australia)
November 3, 2011
Surrounded by caricatures and a bit of schmaltz, this comedy is bolstered by a charismatic lead performance from Paul Rudd.
Dannielle Elms
MovieFIX
November 3, 2011
Light and funny, Our Idiot Brother is an easy watch thanks to well-shaped, realistic characters and an entertaining story with moral fibre.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Thomas Caldwell
Cinema Autopsy
November 2, 2011
There is nothing mean about the humour nor does it rely on creating embarrassment to elicit the uncomfortable laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
October 29, 2011
The film has a two-tone sensibility, mixing rumpus fun with attempts at meaningful observational drama, and it's a bit simplistic, but has enough entertainment value to pass muster. Just.
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
September 16, 2011
Our Idiot Brother is not a gross-out comedy. Rather, it's a sensitive, soulful movie more focused on moments of human fallibility than on farting.
Page 1 of 7