• R, 1 hr. 40 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Jesse Peretz
    In Theaters:
    Aug 26, 2011 Wide
    On DVD:
    Nov 29, 2011
  • The Weinstein Company

Opening

67% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
85% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
92% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Top Box Office

63% The Maze Runner $32.5M
66% A Walk Among the Tombstones $12.8M
43% This Is Where I Leave You $11.6M
11% No Good Deed $9.8M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $8.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $5.2M
20% Let's Be Cops $2.7M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $2.7M
88% The Drop $2.1M
37% If I Stay $1.8M

Coming Soon

56% Men, Women & Children Oct 01
85% Gone Girl Oct 03
—— Annabelle Oct 03
67% The Good Lie Oct 03
—— 7500 Oct 03

Premieres Tonight

—— Chicago Fire: Season 3
—— Faking It: Season 2
—— Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 2
—— NCIS: Season 12
73% NCIS: New Orleans: Season 1
—— Person Of Interest: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

—— Awkward: Season 4
—— Brickleberry: Season 3
50% Forever: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
75% The Mindy Project: Season 3
100% New Girl: Season 4
85% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— The Big Bang Theory: Season 8
—— The Blacklist: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
50% Forever: Season 1
95% Gotham: Season 1
34% Scorpion: Season 1
—— Sleepy Hollow: Season 2
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Our Idiot Brother Reviews

Page 1 of 7

... a film that largely earns its laughs honestly.

Full Review Source: DCist | Original Score: 6.5/10

July 8, 2014
John Hanlon
Big Hollywood

This inane comedy lives down to its title.

Full Review Source: Big Hollywood | Original Score: 1.5/5

June 30, 2013
Will Leitch
Deadspin

Makes you want to go home and turn on your television.

Full Review Source: Deadspin | Original Score: C+

June 22, 2013
Benjo Colautti
We Got This Covered

Our Idiot Brother is an enjoyable comedy thanks to its strong supporting cast and a terrific central performance from Paul Rudd.

Full Review Source: We Got This Covered | Original Score: 7/10

February 28, 2013
Roger Moore
McClatchy-Tribune News Service

Rudd can play the innocent as well as the snarky cynic, and that serves him wonderfully here.

Full Review Source: McClatchy-Tribune News Service | Original Score: 2.5/4

January 10, 2013
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com

'Cute' is probably not the word one would expect to attach to a film with this title, but there is no more apropos term for its gentle comic charm.

Full Review Source: TheMovieReport.com | Original Score: 3/4

February 10, 2012
Greg Maki
Star-Democrat (Easton, MD)

"Our Idiot Brother" goes down in a good way, with an infectious positivity.

Full Review Source: Star-Democrat (Easton, MD) | Original Score: B

December 28, 2011
Linda Cook
KWQC-TV (Iowa)

Another fish-out-of-water story, 'Our Idiot Brother' never really makes a huge impact. It contains a few laughs certainly, but it's not one of the outstanding entries in this year's adult comedy genre.

Full Review Source: KWQC-TV (Iowa) | Original Score: 2/4

December 22, 2011
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures

The sometimes mediocre and rote script never falls too far in quality because of the charm of the cast.

Full Review Source: 7M Pictures | Original Score: 2.5/5

December 13, 2011
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews

A sweet and at times raunchy comedy, Our Idiot Brother features Paul Rudd at his likeable best in his portrayal of a liberal Jesus figure stuck in a rut.

Full Review Source: Matt's Movie Reviews | Original Score: 3/5

November 8, 2011
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane

It has its moments but, for the most part, I found it to be flat and disappointing.

Full Review Source: ABC Radio Brisbane | Original Score: B-

November 4, 2011
Peter Galvin
sbs.com.au

Lugubrious, bumbling and sit-com predictable, Our Idiot Brother has a couple of good ideas, no style, an episodic structure and some charming incidental pleasures, not the least of which are the performances, which are good.

Full Review Source: sbs.com.au | Original Score: 2.5/5

November 3, 2011
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)

What I liked about the film is that there is a very good cast. I think all the women in the film are terrific actors.

Full Review Source: At the Movies (Australia) | Original Score: 3.5/5

November 3, 2011
Margaret Pomeranz
At the Movies (Australia)

Charming and at times very funny.

Full Review Source: At the Movies (Australia) | Original Score: 4/5

November 3, 2011
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)

While no one would hail Our Idiot Brother as the most accessible movie comedy of 2011, it is definitely the one most comfortable in its skin.

Full Review Source: Herald Sun (Australia) | Original Score: 3.5/5

November 3, 2011
Cara Nash
FILMINK (Australia)

Surrounded by caricatures and a bit of schmaltz, this comedy is bolstered by a charismatic lead performance from Paul Rudd.

Full Review Source: FILMINK (Australia)

November 3, 2011
Dannielle Elms
MovieFIX

Light and funny, Our Idiot Brother is an easy watch thanks to well-shaped, realistic characters and an entertaining story with moral fibre.

Full Review Source: MovieFIX | Original Score: 3/5

November 3, 2011
Thomas Caldwell
Cinema Autopsy

There is nothing mean about the humour nor does it rely on creating embarrassment to elicit the uncomfortable laughs.

Full Review Source: Cinema Autopsy | Original Score: 3.5/5

November 2, 2011
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile

The film has a two-tone sensibility, mixing rumpus fun with attempts at meaningful observational drama, and it's a bit simplistic, but has enough entertainment value to pass muster. Just.

Full Review Source: Urban Cinefile

October 29, 2011
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid

Our Idiot Brother is not a gross-out comedy. Rather, it's a sensitive, soulful movie more focused on moments of human fallibility than on farting.

Full Review Source: Combustible Celluloid

September 16, 2011
Page 1 of 7
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile