Outrageous Fortune - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Outrageous Fortune Reviews

Page 2 of 9
October 13, 2015
A stellar cast delivers on material that easily could have fallen flat in less capable hands. The plot is mostly absurd but with talent like Bette Midler, Shelley Long and Peter Coyote involved it is able to rise up and make one hell of a funny buddy comedy. George Carlin gives a memorable performance as well.
½ October 9, 2015
Not gonna lie, I thought this was quite awful. Don't think I managed to laugh even once.
April 9, 2015
These two work pretty well together even if the laughs are intermittent but really funny.
March 28, 2015
One of my favorite comedies ever! Bette and Shelley make an extremely funny duo in this well scripted comedy
½ March 5, 2015
This is going to be an extremely subjective review... This film brought me to another time and place... Another universe. I felt like I was watching this film with Courtney. I got the sense she would've been as amused as I was watching it... And for those 100 or so minutes there I was again laying on the couch, her lying against me. I truly ended up laughing much more than I ever expected to. Sure, the film is dated and nonsensical... complete with a style of acting that has fallen far out of vogue... Racial sensitivities galore (that we rightfully evolved from)... But no one else is telling stories like this anymore. Writing classes teach against many scenes in this film, but somehow it works as a nice throwback. But again, for me personally, it reminded me of better days and better lives. What could've been? Maybe what should have been...
October 14, 2010
(First and only viewing - 10/14/2010)
½ December 17, 2012
Bette Midler's funniest movie. She and Shelley Long are two actresses who somehow get involved in spies and goverment conspiracies. It's an unbelivable situation but funny as hell. Bette and Shelley make a great team and I was suprised they didn't make anymore films together. A really good comedy that lets the Divine Miss M do her thing.

Lauren: "Because everything that comes out of your mouth is pornographic."
Sandy: "That is a fucking lie."
December 7, 2012
Would like to get round to seeing!
VUK
½ August 23, 2012
I can't imagine that Bette Midler and Shelley Long did not get along at all during this film. They fake chemistry well, I must saw one of my favorite movies of the 80's.
A good laugh... .. I can't imagine what there is not to like about this movie. Solid 9 out of 10.
April 13, 2012
Bette Milder is funny!
March 31, 2012
Hadn't seen this since I was a kid, barely remembered it. Pretty funny, if unlikely movie. In the 80s, you really to suspend your disbelief in order to watch something like this. lol
November 28, 2011
great movie, i watched it because i love shelley long, ever since Troop Beverly Hills, what a great 80's comedy.
September 11, 2011
i laughed all the way thru i love this movie and have since i was a kid :)
Super Reviewer
September 6, 2010
Extremely funny! Middler and Long are a great duo in this movie, and I just loved the story, it's fantastic. I love this movie, and I highly recommend it.
December 9, 2010
One of my guilty pleasures.
May 23, 2006
does needle dick the bug f***ker mean anything to you?
Super Reviewer
February 1, 2010
A fairly good comedy has a few laughs.
FilmFanatik
Super Reviewer
January 7, 2010
Hadn't seen this since I was a kid, barely remembered it. Pretty funny, if unlikely movie. In the 80s, you really to suspend your disbelief in order to watch something like this. lol
November 20, 2009
well umn just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch.....its got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie....i think that george carlin, shelley long, bette midler, peter coyote play good roles/parts throughout this movie.....i think that the director of this comedy movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie.....i think that this maybe a cheesy 1980's comedy movie but this is a really enjoyable movie 2 watch with a good cast throughout this movie
September 15, 2009
Predictable 80s comedy to pass the time without requiring you to pay close attention.
Page 2 of 9