Opening

41% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For Aug 22
40% If I Stay Aug 22
26% When The Game Stands Tall Aug 22
6% Are You Here Aug 22
96% Love Is Strange Aug 22

Top Box Office

20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $28.5M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $25.1M
13% Let's Be Cops $17.8M
34% The Expendables 3 $15.9M
31% The Giver $12.3M
21% Into The Storm $7.9M
66% The Hundred-Foot Journey $7.2M
65% Lucy $5.5M
39% Step Up: All In $2.7M
61% Hercules $2.1M

Coming Soon

0% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
—— As Above/So Below Aug 29
85% The Congress Aug 29
—— The Calling Aug 29

Premieres Tonight

20% BoJack Horseman: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Jonah From Tonga: Season 1
86% The Knick: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
95% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Paradise Road Reviews

Page 2 of 7
December 1, 2013
Good, but not great. Interesting story of survival, but it's not that original. There had been numerous WW2 POW / survival-through-unbearable-hardship movies before this, and this isn't that different from those. Plus, writer-director Bruce Beresford pulls his punches with regard to Japanese atrocities in WW2 - the reality was a lot worse than the movie makes out.

Still, emotional and interesting nevertheless.

Good performances all round.
August 18, 2013
It had it's moments but overall flawed and uneven I think.
Buggy43
June 25, 2013
"WW ll drama centering on women of varied backgrounds who are imprisoned in a concentration camp after the Japanese attack a Singapore hotel. Facing torture, starvation and abuse, the courageous women overcome their differences." --
January 2, 2013
A large cast of gifted actress, including Glenn Close and Frances McDormand, is largely wasted in Beresford's honroable but failed effort to pay tribute to a group of disparate women held captive by the Japanese in WWII.
August 24, 2012
I just love a film with a great cast
May 18, 2012
One of the most real and poignant WWII Interment camp pictures i have seen. Right up there with "Empire of the Sun". Excellent performances by a diverse cast.
March 1, 2012
Paradise Road is a fictional film based loosely on fact, not a documentary. Still it is avery good movie with a wonderful cast, realistic and sympathetic acting.
SantIngela
October 22, 2011
Paradise Road is a fictional film based loosely on fact, not a documentary. Still it is avery good movie with a wonderful cast, realistic and sympathetic acting.
July 2, 2011
All Star Cast, Very Touching Story of British, Australian, American, and Chinese Women in a WWII Japanese POW Camp. Haunting.
claireveltro
December 2, 2010
i found this movie depressing because it gave you a good insight to what life was like at a ww2 concentration camp but it also told me as an viewer that even though times look shit and you might fell as though there's no way out you can always find a light in a dark situation.
kiss331965
May 22, 2010
A group of women from different countries are kept in a prison camp by the Japanese during W W I I and face much abuse. But unity grows as they battle to keep the will to live and survive the camp. True story and good drama.
brent126
May 21, 2010
A group of women get captured during WWII and sent to a harsh japanese camp. They learn to cope with the hardships and even form a singing group. Pretty good story from the women's point of view, good acting all around.
Reprieved Soul
March 17, 2010
Authentic and haunting, all the usual cliches which are not really cliched - they're how it was and that was how one nation behaved. Man's inhumanity, in this case to Woman, must be continually depicted .... "Lest We Forget". Entertaining too - who in the movie audience is not turned round by the beauty of the unaccompanied singing, just as were the guards.

So enjoy the3 performances and be glad you were spared the experiences.
Robert F

Super Reviewer

February 8, 2008
At times, the grueling pageant of torture and abuse became a bit much for me. Still, Paradise Road is a triumphant celebration of the human spirit in the face of suffering.
bbcfloridabound
bbcfloridabound

Super Reviewer

April 3, 2009
How can you give this film anything but 5 Stars. If there is one thing I enjoy about any movie, is the fact that I learned something from it. It is ashamed that it takes 50 years to learn the secrets of a War. There seems to be more and more movies coming out that tell us of these hidden secrets. This is based on a true story. I had no idea that women were held prisoner of war during World War II. All the actors were outstanding. The Human Vocal band was out of this world. And as many captives will tell you, you must band together and work on something to keep your mind from whets really happening. This is a must see and a must add to the collection. 5 stars.
xxxcli213xxx
December 8, 2008
no thanks not my thing
June 1, 2008
Lackluster. Some genuine moments don't make up for the rest of the unfocused, underdeveloped story...
thomasscott2
March 23, 2008
With this movie there isn't any real plot to it, other than that which we already know from history class. It has a ridiculously sad movie... but also uplifting knowing its based on a true story.
jazza923
February 26, 2008
Good story but a familiar one, namely So Proudly We Hail. It is disappointing there isn't more original material here. The cast is a terrific group though and it is well acted. Professionally done and it's an interesting film.
Page 2 of 7
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile